Mid Season Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

He was asked about him and said he likes the idea of bringing in someone from our VFL, (knows the system etc).
Maybe just not Teakle is the way I interpreted his response.
Could be a number of players
Though the recruiters might look elsewhere

Agree.
He's had chances at afl level. Reckon vfl is his level. We had two chances to list him, we didn't.

He Depth at Best and we not Super Desperate for a Ruckman

I don’t see it. He’s playing at his level. Still reckon we grab someone we have nfi about
Agreed with only the one spot available. If we had two I could see it, but think there’s bigger upside out there. Given we aren’t going to be any better than a wildcard team this season, I say we shoot for the moon

Create a second pick if possible and retire someone.
Time to get ruthless

I’ve suggested this in previous years. I think it would work if an elder, out of contract player was out for months with injury

But no one fits that profile this year

All in all… I think there could be more list spots each year. Enough talent across the state leagues and undrafted to allow for 2 more rookie spots per club imo

Would improve the state leagues too as more overlooked draftees stay on at state level to try and earn a spot

Pies also wouldn’t lose as many quality VFL listed players who leave to comp to focus on their day job or earn better money in local footy

forgive the quality, here is a little footage from tonight, when Noah trained with us
Orange boots

Hearing very good things about this kid from my mate that has coached him for several years. But says he’s bean pole skinner for now.

Won’t post the good stuff in case other recruiters are looking.

😊

Hope the Club was not Trying to Hide Him;)

Guess he might play with the VFL Side on Friday?
Not sure.
He has come from nowhere lol But like Rod Ali last year (who was -- and still isn't, never ready) they clearly want to get a look at him at vfl level.

Fly indicated we have interest in teakle with MSD
I didn't read it that way. Direct question about Teakle, assumedly due to us having zero ruck depth. He's not going to say not interested in Teakle, but he then diverted to liking the concept of adding from the VFL list. I doubt this is the year we choose to use MSD for depth.

Short term depth is never something we have gone with before, I don’t think we will start how.

It’ll be a kid with potential or a Steele type. Mature but still young enough

You'd think we'll watch with interest as to how Steene performs one out tomorrow night. If he struggles, we'd do well to sign some back up if Cameron goes down again.
If we are well beaten by the swans the years in a bit of trouble anyway. Don’t think a VFL level ruck will move the needle much for the remaining half of the season. I’d prefer we just grab most likely to become a player. Potentially revisit it at end of the season

Quite like the look of that. Obviously the marking is his standout feature, but with the exception of one poor kick, he also seemed neat and confident in possession.
Seems clean at ground level for his size too.

Quite like the look of that. Obviously the marking is his standout feature, but with the exception of one poor kick, he also seemed neat and confident in possession.
Seems like an intriguing buy low option for a high marking back to learn from Howe. We’re not doing a good job hiding him though!