Midfield for round 1

Our midfield in previous years has not been good enough to compete against the blues and has been part of the reason we have been smashed. How do people think it will go in round 1 this year. This is probably our strongest midfield for a few years and it will only get stronger now as the current crop get older. The question is though how they will fare against the blues midfield and what the matchups will be like.

Richmond Midfield
Cotchin, Martin, Foley, Houli, Grigg, Morton, Edwards, Deledio, Tuck, Jackson, Conca

Carlton Midfield
Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, McLean, Carazzo, Ellard, Lucas, Joseph

I have listed the players who I think will at some point rotate through the middle. Would think the potential matchups are:

Jackson v Judd
Edwards v Murphy (tagging role)
Cotchin v Joseph
Martin v Gibbs
Foley v McLean

It is true, our mids match up much more favourably against Carlton than in the last few games... our bunch has that extra bit of experience as well this time round.

We could still lose out across the 4 quarters though due to Carlton having a sharper ruck combo and also if Judd is able to break free and have a blinder.

Still, I'm more than happy with our group moving forward.

It is a hard one.

I can see why carlton think they have a big advantage here, but I think on their day our guys can match them. The problem is, our guys very rarely all fire together.

As already mentioned, it really comes down to the Judd factor.

I think Tuck is very important against side like the blues. Clearances are so important to keep Judds mits off the ball. Jackson needs to play judd like a glove whilst Tuck and co. dive into the packs giving us first use of the ball.

Carlton are very good at getting the ball out of a pack to a player who is free. Every player needs to apply pressure around the packs.

The two players that worry me are Betts and Yarran, these are the type of player that seem to burn us all the time.

Go all out attack with our starting centre square. No need to tag when you have 3 dangerous mids in the centre square together:
Starting 3-cotchin, martin, foley
1st rotation-deledio, morton, grigg(tagger)
Occasional stints conca, houli, contin during game :cool:

Go all out attack with our starting centre square. No need to tag when you have 3 dangerous mids in the centre square together:
Starting 3-cotchin, martin, foley
1st rotation-deledio, morton, grigg(tagger)
Occasional stints conca, houli, contin during game :cool:

No room for Tuck??

we need to stop the blues spread from the contest, thats where they have flogged us inrecent years

I think the OP got it spot on.

Richmond Midfield
Cotchin, Martin, Foley, Houli, Grigg, Morton, Edwards, Deledio, Tuck, Jackson, Conca

Carlton Midfield
Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, McLean, Carazzo, Ellard, Lucas, Joseph, Curnow

... Although I have doubts that some of the above listed players will actually play in the middle (ie. Lucas, Joseph, Houli and Conca ).

Jackson v Judd (tagging role)
Edwards v Murphy (tagging role)
Cotchin v Joseph(?) (tagging role)
Martin v Gibbs (head to head)
Foley v McLean (head to head)

The only real addition(s) to your midfield rotations are: Foley, Grigg and Conca.

Foley is rusty (hasn't played since Round 9, 2010) and Grigg is hit and miss at this stage.

Conca is interesting, however it is being naieve to think that a kid playing his first game will have that much of an impact to change the result.

Should be a good midfield battle this year - although I still think we pip you with experience.

That is my (biased) view.

While it's true that, yes, we have only added perhaps 3 players to the rotation, I think where we see ourselves improving is from the natural improvement that will come from the likes of Cotchin and Martin, while the likes of Houli, Grigg and Foley will be upgrades on our previous midfield rotation which would have included guys like White, Edwards and so on.

I understand that - but at the same time 'natural improvement' happens at all clubs (bar a few) each season.

I accept that Grigg, Foley and Houli (even though he's not a midfielder) are an upgrade on White and Edwards - so that perhaps bridges the gap a little.

I would not be underestimating Edwards guys... (though I know even on here some do).
Is a very creative player who has worked through the middle successfully in the past.

Will improve at a greater rate than both Grigg & Houli IMO.

I understand that - but at the same time 'natural improvement' happens at all clubs (bar a few) each season.

I accept that Grigg, Foley and Houli (even though he's not a midfielder) are an upgrade on White and Edwards - so that perhaps bridges the gap a little.

Don't ride Houli off as a mid... Looked like a jet on Friday night, must have had 25 touches. With Morton offers another good outside option who can spread, which as nut mentioned is where we get killed

I agree with your comments. Every club definitley have improvement I guess the one thing I would say is Richmonds is probably going to be steeper than the blues due to age. However the Blues are really now at the level we should be aiming for in 2 years (I am talking about midfields btw not the 22).

I'd say our midfield would have improved a fair bit from rnd 1 last year because of the following:

1. Trent Cotchin I am expecting big things from this year. First pre seaosn means he should become our number 1 mid.
2. Dustin Martin will imrpove every year for the next 3-4 (same goes with Gibbs...Murphy probably already there).
3. Foley playing is a huge plus for us. Don't think it will take him long to get into it. When he came back last year against Hawks after a long lay off he was sensational.
4. Grigg replaces hacks like White. Although Grigg is not a superstar he is so much better than White running through the middle.
5. Houli is similar to Grigg but also adds the kicking polish we have lacked. lLooked really good against Port albeit in a praccy.
5. Conca again you can't expect much out of but even if he gets it 15 times a game it will be alot more useful than 15 touches from White.
6. Mitch Morton imo is going to be our most improved this year. Turned it on in the last few games as a mid and has trimmed down. Played as a mid in 18's and was a gun. Will add another string to our bow.

This is why our midfield will be alot stronger...our quality plays fit and ready to fire and also improving our depth. However it is important to note Carlton haven't been standing still. Improvement will coem from:

1. Kane Lucas, Ellard (similar to Martin)
2. Gibbs (predicting a big year)
3. Adding to midfield with players like Curnow.
4. Murphy having a full preseason again and back to his best.
5. McLean full pre season.
6. Warnock

I think Carltons midfield will win the battle because experience will generally prevail and Judd and Murphy will get away from there taggers. However I think each year the recruiting we are doing is going to make us more competitive.

Cotchin, Martin, Foley, Deledio, Morton however can do a lot of damage and are an extremely talented bunch.

Carlton's midfield is still a fair way ahead. We talk about Judd, Murphy and Gibbs as their core midfielders but fail to address the impact a guy like Simpson can have. He is their 4th or 5th midfielder and kills us nearly every time we meet.

I'd love for Bachelor or Connors to play good footy in defence this year so Lids can be released back into the midfield. The matchup looks a lot better with Deledio in there.

Cotchin, Deledio, Martin, Foley, Tuck, Grigg, Jackson, Houli, Morton.

Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, Mclean, Carrazzo, Ellard, Lucas, Curnow.

The experience of Carlton will more than likely prevail but the platform is there for our boys.

Carlton's midfield is still a fair way ahead. We talk about Judd, Murphy and Gibbs as their core midfielders but fail to address the impact a guy like Simpson can have. He is their 4th or 5th midfielder and kills us nearly every time we meet.

I'd love for Bachelor or Connors to play good footy in defence this year so Lids can be released back into the midfield. The matchup looks a lot better with Deledio in there.

Cotchin, Deledio, Martin, Foley, Tuck, Grigg, Jackson, Houli, Morton.

Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, Mclean, Carrazzo, Ellard, Lucas, Curnow.

The experience of Carlton will more than likely prevail but the platform is there for our boys.

I agree...:thumbsu:...deledio is the evener in the mid field...last time we played kreuzer was unstoppable the big ruckman played the ruck rover role to perfection and killed us...feeding their mid field players and contesting the ball on the ground...this time he'll not be as influential because of his knee reco...

These are the 4 matchups I'd most like to see happen:

Jackson vs Judd (tagging)
Cotchin vs Murphy (head to head)
Houli vs Gibbs (tagging)
Tuck vs McLean (head to head)

IMO Judd and Gibbs are the 2 Carlton players that need to be sat on the most. They are simply too damaging with the ball in hand, for that I'd look at Jackson and Houli for the job. Now some may raise an eyebrow at Houli tagging, but I think he would be more than capable of running with Gibbs and if given the chance I think he could hurt Gibbs going the other way as I don't think Gibbs would pay him that much attention.

With the other 2, I'd back our guys to, at minimum, break even in head to head matchups. Cotchin and Murphy is a matchup I reckon most people would love to see as 2 skilled players just went about finding the footy and given Cotchin is coming off pretty much a full pre season I have no doubt he'd be able to go with Murphy for the match. I'd also back Tuck against McLean in a battle of 2 hard at it inside mids whose main jobs are winning clearances and first possession.

If we can breakeven in all, or even win a couple, of these battles I believe we'll find ourselves well and truly in the contest. If we can't then the Blues should do to us what they have done the last few times we've played and that is win rather comfortably.

I'd like to see Jackson take on Judd and try to play off a little. The rest I'd like to see us back them to win. No point being too negative, we need to learn out play the opposition.

These are the 4 matchups I'd most like to see happen:

Jackson vs Judd (tagging)
Cotchin vs Murphy (head to head)
Houli vs Gibbs (tagging)
Tuck vs McLean (head to head)

IMO Judd and Gibbs are the 2 Carlton players that need to be sat on the most. They are simply too damaging with the ball in hand, for that I'd look at Jackson and Houli for the job. Now some may raise an eyebrow at Houli tagging, but I think he would be more than capable of running with Gibbs and if given the chance I think he could hurt Gibbs going the other way as I don't think Gibbs would pay him that much attention.

With the other 2, I'd back our guys to, at minimum, break even in head to head matchups. Cotchin and Murphy is a matchup I reckon most people would love to see as 2 skilled players just went about finding the footy and given Cotchin is coming off pretty much a full pre season I have no doubt he'd be able to go with Murphy for the match. I'd also back Tuck against McLean in a battle of 2 hard at it inside mids whose main jobs are winning clearances and first possession.

If we can breakeven in all, or even win a couple, of these battles I believe we'll find ourselves well and truly in the contest. If we can't then the Blues should do to us what they have done the last few times we've played and that is win rather comfortably.

I think Cotch is going to have an awesome year but something tells me Murphy will have his measure. Too quick for Cotch.

Murphy is not quick.

I think Jackson needs to concentrate soley on Judd and nothing else. Don't even look at the ball Jacko!

100% agreed, Jacko looks to have bulked up his torso over summer, he just needs to work over Judd with strong tacking and constant niggling

He needs to play him like Baker does. Just below the belt tagging and keep his effective possesions down. Don't care if Judd gets it 30 times as long as they are not great touches.

[/b]

100% agreed, Jacko looks to have bulked up his torso over summer, he just needs to work over Judd with strong tacking and constant niggling

Take him out of the game with a calculated flying elbow to the cheek whilst tangled up on the ground or perhaps pressure from the thumb just below the ear...
Then take the "I did nuffin" defence on the following Monday at the tribunal & get off.

Has worked before... ;)

We have a better midfield on paper than Carlton does now, a better midfield than a lot of sides. We beat Carlton in '08 due to Johnson keeping Judd to 80% of normal output and still getting plenty of it himself, while just Foley and Tuck beat the rest of Carlton's midfield at the clearances playing marathon onball stints.

Our midfield has improved a hell of a lot more in personnel and depth than Carlton's in the time since, we just haven't had Foley available. If Martin and Cotchin take another step and all our mids play somewhere near their best on the night, it's one part of the ground where we can get a decisive advantage over them. That may not necessarily translate into a similar win (we had Richo and Brown up forward back in '08), but I'd be disappointed if we didn't at least beat them out of the middle with the lineup we'll hopefully be taking in.

This is the best midfield depth and quality we've taken into a season for three decades, hopefully that translates into being seriously competitive with most oppositions.

We have a better midfield on paper than Carlton does now, a better midfield than a lot of sides. We beat Carlton in '08 due to Johnson keeping Judd to 80% of normal output and still getting plenty of it himself, while just Foley and Tuck beat the rest of Carlton's midfield at the clearances playing marathon onball stints.

Our midfield has improved a hell of a lot more in personnel and depth than Carlton's in the time since, we just haven't had Foley available. If Martin and Cotchin take another step and all our mids play somewhere near their best on the night, it's one part of the ground where we can get a decisive advantage over them. That may not necessarily translate into a similar win (we had Richo and Brown up forward back in '08), but I'd be disappointed if we didn't at least beat them out of the middle with the lineup we'll hopefully be taking in.

This is the best midfield depth and quality we've taken into a season for three decades, hopefully that translates into being seriously competitive with most oppositions.

I just cant agree with this mate.

They have us well and truely covered at the moment.(although the gap is smaller than they would have us believe)

We are atleast 2 years away from staking claims to having a better midfield and it all relies heavily on our potential stars becoming just that. STARS!

Take him out of the game with a calculated flying elbow to the cheek whilst tangled up on the ground or perhaps pressure from the thumb just below the ear...
Then take the "I did nuffin" defence on the following Monday at the tribunal & get off.

Has worked before... ;)

Love it, maybe we give Brad Miller a game and 10 mins into the 1st qtr he can do a Barry Hall and knock Judd out in one punch, giving him a memorable end to his career...

Has worked before... ;)