Midfield - Off-season changes please

One of Sylvia and Scully simply has to be re-signed.

We get carted most weeks in the centre as it is, take two more out and we're ****ed. The Jones move to HB robbed Peter to pay Paul, but his form has been immense since. Prioritizing other areas in the draft (McDonald + Davis late on comes to mind) has left us short in the centre, hence McNamara gets himself a game (no other fit mids left at Casey).

Ignoring the ruck stocks (where we are ok), the midfield crops reads as follows:

Moloney, Sylvia, Scully, McKenzie, Trengove, Gysberts, Bail, Davey, Jetta, Morton, Bartram, McNamara, (Evans).

It's clearly not deep enough to cope with losing two, perhaps not even one.

Questions:
- Do we rob someone from the back half to play in there? (Jones, Grimes, Blease, Bennell, Nicholson)

- Does someone need to be re-invented? (Petterd, Wonna, Tapscott, Dunn again)

- Surely it is clear that we have to either trade for another mid and/or draft a couple? Who is available?

We get carted most weeks in the centre as it is, take two more out and we're ****ed. The Jones move to HB robbed Peter to pay Paul, but his form has been immense since. Prioritizing other areas in the draft (McDonald + Davis late on comes to mind) has left us short in the centre, hence McNamara gets himself a game (no other fit mids left at Casey).

Ignoring the ruck stocks (where we are ok), the midfield crops reads as follows:

Moloney, Sylvia, Scully, McKenzie, Trengove, Gysberts, Bail, Davey, Jetta, Morton, Bartram, McNamara, (Evans).

Questions:
- Do we rob someone from the back half to play in there? (Jones, Grimes, Blease, Bennell, Nicholson)

- Surely it is clear that we have to either trade for another mid and/or draft a couple? Who is available?

Where do people get the idea Jones had moved to the HBF, he starts every bounce in the middle or on the wing, and drifts forward and kicks goals??

Will never happen as it'd be a massive slap in the face to James McDonald, but geeze I'd love Luke Power for a year... Has not ruled out playing for another club as he was forced into retirement by Vossy... That said he is past his best- but a coaching role would be a good fit...

Where do people get the idea Jones had moved to the HBF, he starts every bounce in the middle or on the wing, and drifts forward and kicks goals??

Nathan Jones said so himself on KB 30 minutes ago. He said his role had changed this year from an inside mid to an outside wingman/half back.

Our midfield is a massive concern for mine. In the third quarter we started 3 centre bounces in a row with Jamar, McNamara, Batram and Jetta. That is a good VFL rotation, but far, far from AFL standard. Needless to say that the Gold Coast really gained some momentum at this point in the game.

Nathan Jones said so himself on KB 30 minutes ago. He said his role had changed this year from an inside mid to an outside wingman/half back.

Our midfield is a massive concern for mine. In the third quarter we started 3 centre bounces in a row with Jamar, McNamara, Batram and Jetta. That is a good VFL rotation, but far, far from AFL standard. Needless to say that the Gold Coast really gained some momentum at this point in the game.

What's wrong with that? The game yesterday meant absolutely nothing and was the perfect opportunity to give others some experience in the middle, which is what we did. The result had not bearing on our season so why not experiment?

We have a few injuries that has not allowed us to have the midfield rotation we would like but who cares with one round to play? We have Jack Viney coming in 2013 and we will probably grab one or two in the draft next year. We'll be fine.

What's wrong with that? The game yesterday meant absolutely nothing and was the perfect opportunity to give others some experience in the middle, which is what we did. The result had not bearing on our season so why not experiment?

We have a few injuries that has not allowed us to have the midfield rotation we would like but who cares with one round to play? We have Jack Viney coming in 2013 and we will probably grab one or two in the draft next year. We'll be fine.

I've got no problem with experimentation. I was all for playing McNamara and Jetta yesterday. But our inability to win clearances, to run with other midfields, and to get the footy inside 50 have been headaches for us all year. I hope we'll be ok when the kids we have develop and when we add to our list with Viney, draft picks, etc. But it is an area of weakness for us at the moment.

Moloney, McKenzie, Trengove, Jones, Bail all primary mids. Hopefully keep Scully. Who knows with Morton.

Sylvia playing 50% of his game time in the middle.

Petterd, Grimes, Blease, Bennell, Jetta all spending time rotating depend on match ups during games.

Questions:

I think you maybe sell MacNamara short here, it sounds as if you're implying he didnt deserve to play yesterday (Thats just how I read it).

He has been playing very well in the 2s and was more than worthy of a call up IMO.

There's no doubt that the current midfield group is fairly average for AFL standard, we don't currently have any elite midfielders. But I think the potential is there for some real quality in the future.

1) Trengove is going to be a star, no doubt about that. I won't say as early as next year, but by 2013 I think he will be considered AA material.
2) I'm really excited about Gysberts, I think he has a bit of Pendlebury/Corey about him with the way he finds and uses the ball in a contest.
3) McKenzie won't ever be a star but he'll be the engine that every side needs. Just hope he works in his foot skills.
4) Bail is often forgotten about, but he looks like he has some serious class about him.
5) I haven't mentioned Scully as I think he's off to GWS, but if he stays that's a massive bonus.
6) Jack Viney will be a gem from all reports. He joins the club in 2013 and will add some much needed grunt and leadership.
7) I feel Tapscott will eventually find a spot in the midfield, given it's the most important part of the ground, he just needs to build on his fitness base.
8) Petterd should be rotated through the midfield and half forward line. I'm a huge fan is his.
9) Grimes is another option that we have, although I feel he may settle as a medium-sized defender.

Jones and Sylvia will provide the depth in future years, while others like Jetta, Morton, Nicholson, Bennell, Evans and Bartram all have a question mark hanging over their head.

Our first pick this year would have to be a mid even with Viney incoming. We won't get an experienced recruit. Have we seen enough in Nicholson for elevation do you think? Or does he remain a rookie?

Not sure on Nicho, only because I'm not sure what the rules are around elevation/delisting/draft picks etc.. I'd like to think we've seen enough to say yes.

I really want to see Petterd molded into a permanent part of the midfield rotation. He has three qualities that we are lacking in, to different degrees: he has a relatively big mature body, he is fearless when contesting the footy, and he has sure hands. It truly amazes me how much trouble our mids have just picking up the ball, simply grasping it, they are all butter fingers'!

Furthermore, with the emergence of Howe, I worry that Petterd's role in our fwd line could be in some doubt.

I reckon given time, Tappy will spend a significant amount of time in the guts also.

my ideal midfield group (assuming everyone re-signs)

Centre bounce setup -

Moloney
Scully
Grimes

Wings -

Blease
Gysberts

Rotating through / mid-forwards -

Syvia
Trengove
Davey
Jones

Tagger -

Bail

my ideal midfield group (assuming everyone re-signs)

Centre bounce setup -

Moloney
Scully
Grimes

Wings -

Blease
Gysberts

Rotating through / mid-forwards -

Syvia
Trengove
Davey
Jones

Tagger -

Bail

Gota add mckenzie in there mate..

Love to see us go after a player like Travis Tuck to be honest.. tough inside midfielder with good size who has supposably got his life back on track nd is playing good footy

There's no doubt that the current midfield group is fairly average for AFL standard, we don't currently have any elite midfielders. But I think the potential is there for some real quality in the future.

1) Trengove is going to be a star, no doubt about that. I won't say as early as next year, but by 2013 I think he will be considered AA material.
2) I'm really excited about Gysberts, I think he has a bit of Pendlebury/Corey about him with the way he finds and uses the ball in a contest.
3) McKenzie won't ever be a star but he'll be the engine that every side needs. Just hope he works in his foot skills.
4) Bail is often forgotten about, but he looks like he has some serious class about him.
5) I haven't mentioned Scully as I think he's off to GWS, but if he stays that's a massive bonus.
6) Jack Viney will be a gem from all reports. He joins the club in 2013 and will add some much needed grunt and leadership.
7) I feel Tapscott will eventually find a spot in the midfield, given it's the most important part of the ground, he just needs to build on his fitness base.
8) Petterd should be rotated through the midfield and half forward line. I'm a huge fan is his.
9) Grimes is another option that we have, although I feel he may settle as a medium-sized defender.

Jones and Sylvia will provide the depth in future years, while others like Jetta, Morton, Nicholson, Bennell, Evans and Bartram all have a question mark hanging over their head.

agree with all of this other than Jones.
Jones will be a part of our midfield for the next 7-9 years. he is still only 23 (correct me if I'm wrong). he should win the b&f this year and has a 2nd place aswell. Won't ever be our number 1 player, but we will be able to find a spot in the 22 for this bloke for many years to come.

Our first pick this year would have to be a mid even with Viney incoming. We won't get an experienced recruit. Have we seen enough in Nicholson for elevation do you think? Or does he remain a rookie?
I always thought that even when we had McDonald and Bruce we were still a running midfielder and clearance midfielder short, not to replace them especially McDonald was madness.

When Viney comes into the side in 13 we will then be one short, I would love to see us take a punt on a Tuck, Sewell or even Matthews if they can continue to perform well at VFL level.

I think we also need 2 running midfielders\half backs which could be 3 to 4 if either or both Sylvia and Scully leave. Could even be 5 the way Davey's been playing.

It's already been stated that Nicholson and Evans will be rookie's next year.

Anybody else think we are a bit light on for pace?

Quick mids

Sylvia, Bennell, Bail, Scully, Nicholson, Blease

Of this group, still not sure whether Bennell, Bail, Nicholson are good enough, Scully most likely won't be there, Sylvia spends a lot of time up forward and Blease is on a back flank atm, although I think we all assume he'll be in the middle next year

Not quick

Jones
Moloney
Trengove
Gysberts
Morton
McKenzie
Jetta
Grimes
Petterd
Tapscott

None of these blokes are McLean or Bate-esque slow, but aren't line breakers either. Certainly next year Jones, Moloney, Trengove, Gysberts, McKenzie, Grimes, Tapscott would all be certain best 22 players, Petterd prob as well

With Viney coming along and being an inside mid, and a few question marks on our speedy mid players, think this should be a priority this draft