Miller

• Thread starter Thread starter NQTIGER

Give up guys. Just like some people don't get algebra, others don't understand list management. And what people don't understand, they generally hate...

Precisely, but I feel the need to vent further.

RFC has a team in place to manage the list. They have experience and a privvy to all the internal discussion about needs, plans, assessment of the current list etc. I assume they are much better placed to make decisions on the list that me (or anyone else on this board).

Most recruiting decision are a gamble, sometimes they pay off, sometimes they don't.

Whilst it's great people have opinions to share, comments like "What a ****ing stupid decision." are not constructive.

Comments like "Strewth. I don't get it. ", are reasonable. In this case, I don't get it either, but I assume the people that make the decision know more than me and do in fact "get it".

I've read plenty of trade and draft talk and seen comments like "if we recruit [insert player name here] I'll never be a member again". Such comments deserve to be treated with disdain, as they clearly come from people who think they know more that the RFC.

I very much doubt it.

Re: Brad Miller? are we serious?

Can you tell me how many players taken in the 4th round or later of the rookie draft have gone on to become premiership players?

As that is the likely area that Miller will end up being taken. Miller coming in for a year or 2 as an mature aged insurance policy is smart list management. It protects our younger players from having to carry the load in the event that Jack goes down and if he does play alongside Jack he provides a bigger body that can take a bit of heat off of Jack. Not sure why anyone would be against having that sort of insurance around for the cost of a 4th round or later rookie pick. Especially when we're likely to bring in upto 10 kids beforehand.

Exactly RT , if we are pushing for the 8 next year or even something as simple as 3 wins in a row and the Sex Monster does a shoulder or gets a corky I'd have Miller in there in a flash. It's a long season and people forget that.

I wonder if any posters here that supported the decision to give Simmonds another year to support Gus and Tyrone are now against the prospect of bringing in Miller.

Same thing , experienced big body players supporting young kids getting put through the grinder.

I for one never supported the Simmonds decision but supported the logic . I support the same logic again now with a player that can actually play and is not over 30.

He's a hard trainer and is excellent in the gym. Maybe team him up with Willy T at training.

Go tiges great decision.

What's so hard about focusing on developing our young forwards. Post and Vick are both in their 3rd season and are ready for increased exposure in the AFL preferably 15+ games. In the unlikely event Jack Riewoldt goes down (touch wood) these two and others could hold up the fort in the forward line while developing into better players.

On the other hand we could give brad miller 12+ games next year while post and vick wither away in the VFL developing worse and worse habits as they play unstructured football against D grade defenders.

I know everyone says he is just there as a VFL coach/worst case scenario player but as if he is going to lay down and just sit in the VFL. He will probably push the selectors to select him ahead of our young talent. He may offer a slightly improved forward line in the immediate future but long term will not improve as a player nor play any role whatsoever in our next flag.

Just remember Riewoldt didn't come on as a player until he played consistant games for 2 years. he only kicked 18 goals in 2008 and 32 goals in 2009. If post or vick or both could do the same next year i would be very happy. If miller does the same which is all he is capable of i would be very unhappy.

On top of this i would rather we saved our rookie list for untried players, from VFL or other similar leagues because at least then there is a chance they could develop into a good player which miller certainly isn't.

As a coach what can miller possibly offer, he averages less than a goal a game throughout his career and clearly would be out of his league trying to advise jack who has already surpassed him 1million fold.

I for one never supported the Simmonds decision but supported the logic . I support the same logic again now with a player that can actually play and is not over 30.

I wonder how Angus would have gone with another 8 or so rounds this year (the number that Simmo 'took' at the start.

if he does play senior footy id like to see him as the leigh brown role where he just goes smashing into packs and hurting blokes

What's so hard about focusing on developing our young forwards. Post and Vick are both in their 3rd season and are ready for increased exposure in the AFL preferably 15+ games. In the unlikely event Jack Riewoldt goes down (touch wood) these two and others could hold up the fort in the forward line while developing into better players.
I've got no doubt that guys like Post and Vickery will be given every opportunity to develop, but they will still need some sort of senior support around them.

On the other hand we could give brad miller 12+ games next year while post and vick wither away in the VFL developing worse and worse habits as they play unstructured football against D grade defenders.
I find it highly unlikely that Hardwick will give Miller a dozen games, unless we lose a couple of our younger talls to long term injuries. Tell me how many games did Polak play this year despite Jack needing help for most of the season.

I know everyone says he is just there as a VFL coach/worst case scenario player but as if he is going to lay down and just sit in the VFL. He will probably push the selectors to select him ahead of our young talent. He may offer a slightly improved forward line in the immediate future but long term will not improve as a player nor play any role whatsoever in our next flag.
Miller is well aware of the role he will be required to play if he does get drafted. Play the mentor role at Coburg and be prepared to step up in the unlikely case that we lose a couple of KPF to LTI's. In the event that he is performing well enough to get selected ahead of the younger players then you really have to wonder about whether those younger players are good enough to take us forward.

Just remember Riewoldt didn't come on as a player until he played consistant games for 2 years. he only kicked 18 goals in 2008 and 32 goals in 2009. If post or vick or both could do the same next year i would be very happy. If miller does the same which is all he is capable of i would be very unhappy.
As I said above, our younger KPF will be given every opportunity to achieve these things. You only have to listen to the way that Cameron and co talk about the role Miller will be asked to play to know this.

On top of this i would rather we saved our rookie list for untried players, from VFL or other similar leagues because at least then there is a chance they could develop into a good player which miller certainly isn't.
Odds are we're going to take at least 4 rookies, taking Miller as the 4th round pick is hardly going to deny us the opportunity to add untried kids. Not sure but I find it highly unlikely that we're going to unearth a future Hall of Famer with a pick that equates to around the 130th player taken in the draft.

As a coach what can miller possibly offer, he averages less than a goal a game throughout his career and clearly would be out of his league trying to advise jack who has already surpassed him 1million fold.

Can you tell me the stats for Danny Daly from his playing career, not sure if he even played, and yet he is the bloke who helped guide Jack to a Coleman medal this year. Just because your stats aren't that great doesn't mean you can't be a decent coach, just the same as being a Hall of Fame player doesn't mean you're going to be a great coach. Tim Watson is widely regarded as a fairly handy player, played 300 odd games and won a few flags as well. When he went into coaching everyone thought he would do well and we all know that he absolutely stunk.

People forget that its hard for a forward playing in a wooden spoon team!.

I mean you have your superstars like Pavlich & Richo who could kick goals in any team however for an average forward, you are going to struggle when you have few inside 50's and are on the end of poor disposal.

People crapped on about how bad Schulz was, but forget he was playing in a dismal side, when he started getting some decent disposal at Port Adelaide well he has started kicking a few (what a suprise).

Likewise with Miller, not the best player in the world, but can take a grab, has a big body and is a fair kick. Also played down back a bit as well so games v goal tallys aren't a complete measure. But main point is has played in a spud side for most of his career.

Considering he won a B&F in the VFL shows he has talent.

In an improving Tigers side what great insurance!.

Best case we pick the next Podsiadly

Middle ground we give our developing forwards a bit of support and have some insurance

Worst case we have a great trainer and football brain around the young guys at the expense of a rookie pick in a very young team.

Very happy with the move, but then again I have complete confidence in Hardwick and his plan for the RFC.

Bring it on!

RFC has a team in place to manage the list. They have experience and a privvy to all the internal discussion about needs, plans, assessment of the current list etc. I assume they are much better placed to make decisions on the list that me (or anyone else on this board).

Most recruiting decision are a gamble, sometimes they pay off, sometimes they don't.

Whilst it's great people have opinions to share, comments like "What a ****ing stupid decision." are not constructive.

Comments like "Strewth. I don't get it. ", are reasonable. In this case, I don't get it either, but I assume the people that make the decision know more than me and do in fact "get it".

I've read plenty of trade and draft talk and seen comments like "if we recruit [insert player name here] I'll never be a member again". Such comments deserve to be treated with disdain, as they clearly come from people who think they know more that the RFC.

I very much doubt it.

Exactly, as supporters what we can do best for RFC is support, it's ok to have opinions but there are people earning good money to make the right decisions for the club, all we can hope for is that Dimma has picked the right people for the job and of course that we get a little lucky.

Unfortunately as supporters sometimes we get burnt, as Richmond supporters we have been burnt quite a few times, but if we believe Dimma is the right man as coach and he has his staff in place, then we need to try and support that staff, that what makes a good team.

Miller will be a good pick up in my opinion - he plays at Coburg as a dominant key forward and takes pressure off the young kids - when Polak wasn't around Post was playing on a gorilla KPB with no support.

I don't believe Miller is AFL standard - but he's a VERY good VFL player and he's got some qualities that AFL players dream of.

Not many better guys for our young guys to learn off - he made the most of his talent.

I wonder how Angus would have gone with another 8 or so rounds this year (the number that Simmo 'took' at the start.

:thumbsu:Excellent point, El. Graham was spent about 4 or 5 weeks before the season finished ... Vickery was done by about round 12. It's a long season for young talls!!

I very much doubt it.

Couldn't have said it better myself.

I very much doubt it.

hey roycey dude..you need to understand alot here are scarred by the last 2 "brains trusts" that started with "Strewth i dont get it" and stamped themselves as "having NFI" with a diploma. Not only in the sense of recruiting, it was an overall sense of not knowing WTF they were doing in regards to selections, match ups etc etc et..****ing..cetra.

i.e. the current brains trust, although earning back some respect from the tiger natives with some kind of light in respect to plan a actually going to what plan a was supposed to, they are still sitting in the pot of water, that has a pile of wood underneath it, with the natives dancing and chanting in readiness for another sacrifice unless plan b and c and d and f and e unfold the right way. ;)

Im not sure if anyone posted this before coz im too lazy to go back through pages but here is his interview from Morning Glory on SEN yesterday morning that clarifies a few things from Brad himself!

http://sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio/Former-Melbourne-Forward-Brad-Miller/1211

For whats its worth i still think getting Brad to the club would be a great move by the club! Top bloke and offers alot to our young guys!

I've got no doubt that guys like Post and Vickery will be given every opportunity to develop, but they will still need some sort of senior support around them.

I find it highly unlikely that Hardwick will give Miller a dozen games, unless we lose a couple of our younger talls to long term injuries. Tell me how many games did Polak play this year despite Jack needing help for most of the season.

Miller is well aware of the role he will be required to play if he does get drafted. Play the mentor role at Coburg and be prepared to step up in the unlikely case that we lose a couple of KPF to LTI's. In the event that he is performing well enough to get selected ahead of the younger players then you really have to wonder about whether those younger players are good enough to take us forward.

As I said above, our younger KPF will be given every opportunity to achieve these things. You only have to listen to the way that Cameron and co talk about the role Miller will be asked to play to know this.

Odds are we're going to take at least 4 rookies, taking Miller as the 4th round pick is hardly going to deny us the opportunity to add untried kids. Not sure but I find it highly unlikely that we're going to unearth a future Hall of Famer with a pick that equates to around the 130th player taken in the draft.

Can you tell me the stats for Danny Daly from his playing career, not sure if he even played, and yet he is the bloke who helped guide Jack to a Coleman medal this year. Just because your stats aren't that great doesn't mean you can't be a decent coach, just the same as being a Hall of Fame player doesn't mean you're going to be a great coach. Tim Watson is widely regarded as a fairly handy player, played 300 odd games and won a few flags as well. When he went into coaching everyone thought he would do well and we all know that he absolutely stunk.

sheesh rt you credit daly with jacks yr i would have thought that was a work in progress. oh i get it we failed under the previous lot so it must be down to the new lot. cmon jack has steadily improved hes got to a decent size and the improvement accelerated. it was going to happen once size and strength was achieved you could see it a mile off.

the comments on senior support i support wholeheartedly. if people take the time to analise they will see.

on miller i disagree i reckon he will play at least a dozen games as long as jack and one of the young tall forwards are played as well no probs. the experience gap is actually in the 22. and if it pans out he plays most games at coburg well those kids finally have a big bodied experienced body to support them.

just on the rookies thing i reckon a couple of extra late picks on mature players is the way to go this yr a player like sewell at 63 would be great. a ruckman at 80 even better. i reckon there are three in other leagues a mile in front of graham.

I think Brad Miller will kick lots of goals this year and Jack Reidwolt will kick lots too. Who rekons we can play in the grand final? We are signing up to be members in March! Would have been good if we got Cloke but hes now staying at Colingwood. :(

sheesh rt you credit daly with jacks yr i would have thought that was a work in progress. oh i get it we failed under the previous lot so it must be down to the new lot. cmon jack has steadily improved hes got to a decent size and the improvement accelerated. it was going to happen once size and strength was achieved you could see it a mile off.
Not saying it entirely Daly, just trying to point out that you don't need to be an all time great as a player to go on a be a half decent coach. As long as you have an ability to communicate you can be a decent coach.

agree. but to be fair to those who have gone before i would be giving them the majority of credit.

which leads me to this but its reverse.
harvey at freo i have hardly ever heard a poorer speaker in the media but he must be able to get his message across to his players.

if i was hiring a coach and communication was big on the agenda you wouldnt even look at him based on his media performance.

i suppose the lesson to be learnt is harvey should keep his mouth shut in the media and stick to what he does well.

Re: Brad Miller has been training with us?

How have I not heard of this yet?

lol, what rock have you been living under? Or what forums have you been reading because it's been all over Big Footy for a while. :D