• Leigh Colbert

Votes: 32 26.9%
  • Allen Christensen

Votes: 15 12.6%
  • Mark Thomson

Votes: 2 1.7%
  • Other

Votes: 7 5.9%
  • No one. I love everyone who has ever pulled on the blue and white hoops!

Votes: 6 5.0%
  • Gary Ayres

Votes: 16 13.4%

No. It was simply an opportunity and Milburn took it.

It needs to be remembered, it was 13 seasons ago now. Although the game was well and truly in the process of being sanitised, it wasn't like it is now. There were plenty (and I'm one of them) who shared the view what Milburn did was fine - the ball was right there, he used his hip, and he didn't use or raise an arm. I watched the game with a Carlton-supporting mate who thought that. The faux outrage that plenty indulged in afterwards I think was mainly because Silvagni being the victim. If Silvagni had done that to Milburn, there would not have been outrage, and there almost certainly would have been the routine giggles about how soft Geelong players were.

If people want to discuss the wisdom of Milburn clapping the Carlton supporters, that's a different argument. Probably not the best idea. Even so, for those who were there, the 'near riot' was nowhere near as bad as people made out. The game was nearly over, everyone was drenched, most fans just wanted to leave.

I was there that day seeing us get our bums kicked it the rain. I was located right behind the interchange bench where Milburn clapped the Carlton supporters as he exited the ground. There was lots of angst in that particular area of the crowd and I was nestled in amongst a sea of Blues fans who then proceeded to abuse any Geelong supporter within striking distance. It was from that point on that my hatred of the Carlton Football Club began and to this day is still as strong as ever!

I reckon they have the worst supportor base going around.

While my head tells me that not all Blues fans are bad, I must be really unlucky every time I attend Carlton matches. There always seems to be bunch of numb-nuts around me wearing navy blue sprouting off some unfunny and ill-informed rubbish.

I dislike Blues fans more than any other. Bad winners and sore losers.

The only game I've ever been too where I almost saw punches thrown was a Geelong V Carlton match (the Riccardi goal-after-the-siren game).

My partner is an ex Fitzroy fan and she said the only time she ever felt unsafe at the footy was attending matches at Princes Park.

Sure, Milburn's actions were inflammatory but, well, it was directed at Carlton supporters...

Anyway, could Mark Blake be discussed in this thread? After all, there was the stories about his/his family's behaviour during the '07 finals, the fact he "cost" us Mumford and resulted in King being traded.

Regularly derided when he played.

I actually thought he was a good tap ruckman who could/should have done a bit more around the ground but was very durable (something we can't really say for two of our current incumbents).

As for the off-field stuff, there is bound to be several versions in play but he copped his fair share on this board when he was with us.

It's the off season. I'm bored. Lets spice things up around here with a provoking thread guaranteed to divide opinion and cause arguements!

Come on! Who holds a grudge? Who is an all-loving hippy? :p
To not have Mark Blake in that poll but the likes of Thompson, Harley etc is just staggering.

No. It was simply an opportunity and Milburn took it.

It needs to be remembered, it was 13 seasons ago now. Although the game was well and truly in the process of being sanitised, it wasn't like it is now. There were plenty (and I'm one of them) who shared the view what Milburn did was fine - the ball was right there, he used his hip, and he didn't use or raise an arm. I watched the game with a Carlton-supporting mate who thought that. The faux outrage that plenty indulged in afterwards I think was mainly because Silvagni being the victim. If Silvagni had done that to Milburn, there would not have been outrage, and there almost certainly would have been the routine giggles about how soft Geelong players were.

If people want to discuss the wisdom of Milburn clapping the Carlton supporters, that's a different argument. Probably not the best idea. Even so, for those who were there, the 'near riot' was nowhere near as bad as people made out. The game was nearly over, everyone was drenched, most fans just wanted to leave.
I agree with this, the game was different in 2001 and Milburn's hit on Silvagni was not considered nearly as bad back then as it would be today.

My only caveat to this is that it needs to be remembered that this was our last game of the season, we were getting flogged, and we were not going to make the finals. Carlton on the other hand were locked into the finals, and were playing the following week. If the roles were reversed, and a Carlton player illegally cleaned up one of key players when we had a final to play the following week, I would have been severely pissed off.

So I can understand Carlton fans being upset, but their level of outrage was (and remains) way over the top. I guess it doesn't pay to be the one who shoots Bambi.

That's what it was really all about, both with Carlton, and with the pathetic League reaction - both penalising Milburn and not even slapping Carlton over the wrist for the behaviour of the instigators of the "near-riot", namely the Carlton supporters.

I agree with this, the game was different in 2001 and Milburn's hit on Silvagni was not considered nearly as bad back then as it would be today.

My only caveat to this is that it needs to be remembered that this was our last game of the season, we were getting flogged, and we were not going to make the finals. Carlton on the other hand were locked into the finals, and were playing the following week. If the roles were reversed, and a Carlton player illegally cleaned up one of key players when we had a final to play the following week, I would have been severely pissed off.

Not just any player. It would have been the equivalent of Darren Hulme knocking Buddha Hocking out at Kardinia Park, right down to the fact that if Hocking hadn't got up for the following week (assuming, for a moment, Geelong had a finals series to prepare for), that could quite easily have been it for his career. Stretchered off after a cheap shot by a relative (at the time) nobody in a game that had been done and dusted for about an hour. Only if Hulme had decided to clap himself off in response to the boos and abuse as he jogged to the bench.

Anyway, could Mark Blake be discussed in this thread? After all, there was the stories about his/his family's behaviour during the '07 finals, the fact he "cost" us Mumford and resulted in King being traded.

Regularly derided when he played.

I actually thought he was a good tap ruckman who could/should have done a bit more around the ground but was very durable (something we can't really say for two of our current incumbents).

As for the off-field stuff, there is bound to be several versions in play but he copped his fair share on this board when he was with us.

Not by me. He's not responsible for what his family members may or may not have said or done (and that's mostly speculation as well).

Served us well as a player. A good tap ruckman who deservedly got to play in one premiership. Was very durable too (imagine us having a durable senior ruckman now). Since he was moved on by the club, to my knowledge has never expressed the slightest anger or bitterness. Unlike say, Mumford or Prismall.

Not just any player. It would have been the equivalent of Darren Hulme knocking Buddha Hocking out at Kardinia Park, right down to the fact that if Hocking hadn't got up for the following week (assuming, for a moment, Geelong had a finals series to prepare for), that could quite easily have been it for his career. Stretchered off after a cheap shot by a relative (at the time) nobody in a game that had been done and dusted for about an hour. Only if Hulme had decided to clap himself off in response to the boos and abuse as he jogged to the bench.

Perhaps. It comes back to perception and philosophies. I've seen enough Geelong players hurt legally or otherwise to not be especially bothered if it happens to the opposition.

Not by me. He's not responsible for what his family members may or may not have said or done (and that's mostly speculation as well).

Served us well as a player. A good tap ruckman who deservedly got to play in one premiership. Was very durable too (imagine us having a durable senior ruckman now). Since he was moved on by the club, to my knowledge has never expressed the slightest anger or bitterness. Unlike say, Mumford or Prismall.
This. He was a serviceable tap ruckman who was unlucky enough to come into his career in a time when the game was changing and it was more important to be a versatile player. At another time he would have been a quality player, but unfortunately just couldn't develop the skills required. I've never heard any indication that it was a lack of effort on his part. He never seemed a 'popular' part of the group either, but I can't see that you can hate him for that.

As for his attitude after 2007 GF, well, he was disappointed and fair enough. I reckon most people would too. Look at the footage of Stokesy after the 2009 granny and you'll notice he doesn't crack a smile once, but no one's crucifying him for that. If his family did some dumb stuff, well, sometimes family do dumb stuff in sticking up for you.

I followed up his local league a couple of times and noticed he was regularly listed in the goals & best players, so hopefully he continued to enjoy his footy.

This. He was a serviceable tap ruckman who was unlucky enough to come into his career in a time when the game was changing and it was more important to be a versatile player. At another time he would have been a quality player, but unfortunately just couldn't develop the skills required. I've never heard any indication that it was a lack of effort on his part. He never seemed a 'popular' part of the group either, but I can't see that you can hate him for that.

He was born ten years too late. It's amazing how close his career stats are to Matthew Clarke's, and Clarke is considered one of the premier ruckmen of the 90s.

As for his attitude after 2007 GF, well, he was disappointed and fair enough. I reckon most people would too. Look at the footage of Stokesy after the 2009 granny and you'll notice he doesn't crack a smile once, but no one's crucifying him for that. If his family did some dumb stuff, well, sometimes family do dumb stuff in sticking up for you.

Stokes did do all the little 'good clubman' stuff, like getting in the half cat suit for the post match function and hugging the players after the game, but you're right. This might start looking like I have an axe to grind (I really don't), but look at Milburn in 2011 for a comparison. Was there any difference in the respective demeanours of Blake in 2007 and Milburn in 2011? Milburn's might have even stood out more to me, due to how much it contrasted with Mooney. And, if anything, I think Blake, logically, had more reason to feel upset than Stokes or Milburn. Not because he should have been selected, but because both Milburn and Stokes had already played in a premiership (Milburn's debatable, I guess, because the grand final would have been his last game). I'm just approaching that from a personal perspective, as to me, the 2008 grand final doesn't hurt as much as the ones in the 90s, because at least I'd seen the Cats win one by that stage.

I followed up his local league a couple of times and noticed he was regularly listed in the goals & best players, so hopefully he continued to enjoy his footy.

He is probably one of the best local footballers going around. He routinely dominated VFL games when he wasn't in the AFL side. And the prime years of his career coincided with a time when we had Ottens, Mumford, West and Simpson (and Vardy and King each for a year) on the list. Whatever else you think of Blake, he was considered to be the second best of those options (all of whom have proved themselves to be solid ruckmen - at worst - at AFL level), for almost the entire period from 2007-10. Nobody had a gun to their head to keep picking him every week. And on the (several) occasions during that period that Ottens was unavailable, Blake carried the load as our #1.

Mumford is just a selfish prick of a bloke.
No time for him whatsoever.

Mumford is just a selfish prick of a bloke.
No time for him whatsoever.
Remember that game in 2010, I think. Swans played Cats at Geelong, and fat Mumford deliberately and literally fell on top of GAJ. Got reported and copped a suspension, I think.

There is a "type" of player I dislike, the one who was given a break by Geelong. He may have been a straggler or have limited talent or not quite established himself yet. Geelong invested time in the person and next thing he looks for greener more lucrative pastures.

Examples - David Bolton, Shane Mumford, Brent Prismall.

didn't he sling tackle him to the ground which really hurt the shoulder?
Possibly may have been where Gazza's latest shoulder issues have arisen from.

Certainly did. And got suspended for it too. Not exactly what I'd want a first year ruck recruit doing (I certainly can't see Clark or Stanley doing that when we play Melbourne or St.Kilda this season).

I didn't really blame them that day to be honest. It was cold and pissed down all day for one, and our boys decided they were going to behave like smart arses and take a few cheapies at the opposition. The Milburn bump wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great either, and it wasn't the worst thing one of our players did out there that afternoon. The Carlton supporters foaming at the mouth was just a culmination of a number of incidents.

Here's a video giving a few examples of our efforts in that game.....

They cut a few out too.

The day I'm your age and there are people who are my age using a footy forum I'm sure I'll bait of them too don't worry

We're done here.

GO Catters

There is a "type" of player I dislike, the one who was given a break by Geelong. He may have been a straggler or have limited talent or not quite established himself yet. Geelong invested time in the person and next thing he looks for greener more lucrative pastures.

Examples - David Bolton, Shane Mumford, Brent Prismall.

Not sure Prismall fits that description. He was a reasonably early draft pick (not top 10, but you'd be expecting to get a long-term player at #32) and at the time when he went down with his ACL in the 2008 QF, he was looking every bit like a cornerstone of our future midfield, as an inside/outside tandem with Selwood. Ignoring his first and last games of that season, he was going at 24.1 disposals per game, he'd kicked eight goals in ten games and he would have walked into that Grand Final team, on exposed form. Ultimately he made a bad decision and I'm still not sure why he would feel that Essendon was a better choice at that point than Geelong would have been. He would have played in the 2008 Grand Final, had he not been injured and even if he'd stayed at Geelong with his injury, he would have been every chance of making that premiership side as well. Dumb decision, but oh well. It got us Motlop.

Would he have? Didn't Kelly come into the side for him the next game?

I don't think they could have possibly dropped him, with the form he had shown consistently for half a year. I think it would have played out in a similar way to Menzel and Christensen in 2011...they were simply playing too well leading into the finals to even consider dropping.

Who is it?
Milne.

Played with Strathfieldsaye. Kicked over 100 goals last season with them as well according to the report I read.