• Leigh Colbert

Votes: 32 26.9%
  • Allen Christensen

Votes: 15 12.6%
  • Mark Thomson

Votes: 2 1.7%
  • Other

Votes: 7 5.9%
  • No one. I love everyone who has ever pulled on the blue and white hoops!

Votes: 6 5.0%
  • Gary Ayres

Votes: 16 13.4%

didn't we get Murphy as part of a trade and he didn't even want to play for Geelong but had to for that year in question?

Quite embarrassing to think of some of the names we use to recruit. The off cuts that others didn't want to keep

Wow, very embarrassing for us, we traded away pick 11 in the 2000 draft. Who we could have had Burgoyne, Scott Thompson, or a few other gems around that selection. Gave him back a year later for pick 23, which we picked up Charlie Gardner in 2001 for that pick.

So I stand corrected, whilst I agree there is a lot of angst against Colbert, we seriously got the rough end of the stick with a petulant Murphy, who
not only did Carlton not want at that stage (mainly due to the coach not getting along with him), that he just didn't want Geelong either.

And in that instead of picking up a gun midfielder in the 2000 draft, we pick up Gardiner in 2001.

Carlton picked up Trent Sporn for that matter.

The Colbert saga is interesting.
We have heard he was very disrespected by a large number of older players the year he was named captain but unable to play a single game.
The fact that he attended the B &F and had the guts to be there, and the way he has handled himself since the departure- he seems a class act; leaving us the way he did seemed poor at the time, but we did prosper from it, a real win-win.
And I would love to hear his version of what went wrong, and exactly why he left. I really thought Colbert as captain was to be a master stroke, but he really was afflicted with the GFC captain's curse.
In short, I find it very hard to dislike him, always have, this is not diluted because Mooney helped us win flags.

But I am also a supporter who has no ill-feelings about Gary Ayres, so maybe a very poor judge.
Or a very forgiving supporter.

The Colbert saga is interesting.
We have heard he was very disrespected by a large number of older players the year he was named captain but unable to play a single game.
The fact that he attended the B &F and had the guts to be there, and the way he has handled himself since the departure- he seems a class act; leaving us the way he did seemed poor at the time, but we did prosper from it, a real win-win.
And I would love to hear his version of what went wrong, and exactly why he left. I really thought Colbert as captain was to be a master stroke, but he really was afflicted with the GFC captain's curse.
In short, I find it very hard to dislike him, always have, this is not diluted because Mooney helped us win flags.

But I am also a supporter who has no ill-feelings about Gary Ayres, so maybe a very poor judge.
Or a very forgiving supporter.

hmmmm

I've always felt (and heard) there's alot more to the Colbert story than has been made public. As a result I've always reserved judgement on him, in fact he seems like a good bloke.

I can't stand Justin Murphy though. The only bloke I can think of associated with Geelong who I feel that way about.

Justin Murphy pretty easily for me.
I was gutted when Colby left but like a few others have mentioned I think there is more to that story, plus I think he follows the Cats still or he seemed to when he was on TV.
Murphy rocked in saying how happy he was to be here as it was the club he supported as a kid then contributed not much and bailed as soon as he could... he just seemed an ungrateful entitled prick

And not sure how Harley or Sam Newman are even on the list to be honest, Harley can be annoying as a commentator but he is still a passionate ex Cat (though that may be less the case with his Sydney role now) and Sam if anything is guilty of loving the club too much... I remember in the late 90s/early 2000s the players were getting shitty with him on the footy show laying the boots in... but he was just doing it because he loves the club so much - and what he was saying at the time was spot on

Justin Murphy pretty easily for me.
I was gutted when Colby left but like a few others have mentioned I think there is more to that story, plus I think he follows the Cats still or he seemed to when he was on TV.
Murphy rocked in saying how happy he was to be here as it was the club he supported as a kid then contributed not much and bailed as soon as he could... he just seemed an ungrateful entitled prick

And not sure how Harley or Sam Newman are even on the list to be honest, Harley can be annoying as a commentator but he is still a passionate ex Cat (though that may be less the case with his Sydney role now) and Sam if anything is guilty of loving the club too much... I remember in the late 90s/early 2000s the players were getting shitty with him on the footy show laying the boots in... but he was just doing it because he loves the club so much - and what he was saying at the time was spot on
I put em on the list because I've heard a few posters slag them off in recent times!
I myself, love Sammy! And I could never hate a 2 x premiership captain for us!

I actually don't care that there was "more to the story" with Colbert. Aside from doing a Carey, I don't think there's much lower you can get than a captain walking out on his club in a time of need and walking straight into the reigning Premiers. I also don't give a stuff that he seems like a good bloke. I judge him on what he did to the club at the time of walking out on it.

Murphy? Meh. Yep, a complete flog but he meant nothing to the fabric of the club.

I actually don't care that there was "more to the story" with Colbert. Aside from doing a Carey, I don't think there's much lower you can get than a captain walking out on his club in a time of need and walking straight into the reigning Premiers. I also don't give a stuff that he seems like a good bloke. I judge him on what he did to the club at the time of walking out on it.

Murphy? Meh. Yep, a complete flog but he meant nothing to the fabric of the club.

It's pretty hard on a young player trying to make his way back from a serious knee injury, let alone when he's a captain who wasn't able to get out on the paddock, and when he's being white anted by senior players, the ring leader being a fella who is still much loved around the club, and who had previously been captain and quit.

These are not rumours either. I got the story straight from two of our players who were at the club in 1999, during a big night on the piss in St Kilda around 2003.

It's pretty hard on a young player trying to make his way back from a serious knee injury, let alone when he's a captain who wasn't able to get out on the paddock, and when he's being white anted by senior players, the ring leader being a fella who is still much loved around the club, and who had previously been captain and quit.

These are not rumours either. I got the story straight from two of our players who were at the club in 1999, during a big night on the piss in St Kilda around 2003.
Yep, I know the story. Doesn't change my view one iota.

I'd be interested to know how you think he should have handled it differently. The other thing I didn't mention was that he went to senior officials at the club to ask them to do something about the situation and they didn't.

i'd be interested to know the full story if a PM happened to slide my way :D

I don't think you'd be that interested. Suffice to say, I think he should have handled it differently.

what exactly happened for him to ask for assistance from the club officials?

As I said, he was being undermined by a senior section of the playing group, that was being driven by an ex captain who had shit on the liver that Colbert was chosen for the role ahead of him despite the fact he'd quit in the past.

Usually in these situations the troublemaker would be the one finding a new club. But given the situation our club was in at the time, and the standing of this player in terms of accolades and esteem among the supporters, it was never likely that it would be he that was shown the door. Colbert was hung out to dry when it's all said and done. What else was he supposed to say when he left other than what he did, that wouldn't have made him look like an even bigger sook than the one he was already perceived to be?

Would have thought you might want to know why a captain would find the need to leave a club after his first year as captain. You are deeper than not caring if there was more to the story, surely.
Anyway, your view is certainly the majority view so don't worry about my questioning.

I don't think you'd be that interested. Suffice to say, I think he should have handled it differently.

I am interested. Not just saying that coz I'm spoiling for a fight either. Knowing what I know, I just can't see that he was left with any other option, because the club didn't really have his back in the end.

Greg Williams by a mile from Andrew Wills. Diesel due to the fact he was so good and I could see what we were missing and the fact he ended up at the club who didnt want him when he was starting.

Leigh Colbert is one of the best blokes I have met socially and guessing he had his reasons for leaving.

To each their own but them be pretty strong words for a 2 time Premiership Captain. I get his efforts in the media have not impressed many - myself included - but without his leadership and grabbing the playing group by the aggots - along with a few others - we very well might not have 3 in 5.

Not just in the winning either, but the creation of that culture we are supporters are proud of today.

Just saying…

GO Catters
Knew that would happen someone trying to give me a lecture for thinking he is a dickhead just in the media