Kaan

Alright so I'm 18 and really want to move out and live on my own but I only have like a grand in my bank and I don't have a job so it would be impossible.

I currently get $530 a month from Centrelink for studying VCE (Year 12) and with rent assistance that would go up to $630, but it still wont be enough.

Only option I can see is borrowing money off my parents, getting a part time job and paying them off.

Any ideas?

Don't do it. You're too young and have nowhere close to enough money. It's very expensive out there.

Unless your home life is hell on earth stay where you are. Take it from someone who knows.

The pros of living at home at 18.

1. Cheaper
2. Meals provided
3. Usually washing/ironing done

The cons of not living at home at 18.

1. Costs money to pay rent, even if sharing
2. Money needed for utilities, gas/electric/phone
3. Money needed for food and other stuff from supermarkets
4. You have to clean up after yourself
5. Money needed for basic furniture, bed, frdige, TV
6. If sharing be prepared for flat/house mates dipping into your food supply, not paying their share when bills due, putting up with their friends who you may not like and back at them with your friends.

Keep saving and maybe when you have a fair wack invest in property of your own or travel. Good Luck.

Agree with Gabbie - dont do it unless your home life is terrible. I am 29 and still live at home - my parents want me to save so that I am financially stable, rather than be in debt the rest of my life. I have saved enough so I can actually buy my own place this year. My brother has also been renting but is welcome to come home at any time to save some money. I contribute to the washing/ironing/cooking and pay board but it works out to stay. If I hated my parents, then yeah, it makes sense to look elsewhere.

As the others have said, you just don't have enough money. You need a job first of all - You would need money for not only rent, but other bills, food, clothes and other expenses. Plus you would have to spend money on things like a fridge, appliances etc.

Thread is relevant to my interests. 19 yo and hopefully moving out in a couple of months.

notsureifsrs about being 29 and still at home though

If you have only $1000 it will be gone in the first week, just in the costs of setting yourself up. And you still won't be close to having everything you need sorted.

Yeah I know but I could borrow money off my parents.

I reckon you'd be better off saving up for a couple of years and knowing you'll be good to go on your own than being in hock to your parents for what would be a fairly large sum of money.

Most likely going to have to move out in 2-3 months due to family reasons.

You dont have enough your grand in the bank will be gone in bond might need even more for bond.
keep saving get apart time job not casual a real part time job.
try to buy a few things from time to time so when you finally move out you have things like things eg a telly,dvd etc things to cook with a couch a table etc.
do research on the area where you want to move v's what you can really afford.You might need a flat mate but then again better the devil you know (your olds).Than the devil you dont know your new mass murderer flat mate.

Honestly the grand isn't even enough to pay bond in anywhere that isn't a pile of shit, and then you'd have to be in debt to your parents which is definitely something to avoid.

Stay put and save your money.

I must fess up that I moved out of home at 18, from NQ to Sydney then Melbourne. Way back then I had been working full time since I was 16 and office jobs for girls back then were hanging off the trees. I shared a flat with others, then moved onto house sharing. My furniture was second hand but back then we didn't care.

So, if you are definitely thinking of moving out start saving and buying things like sheets, towells, kettle, toaster for a start. Cruise the second hand shops for plates and cups and stuff like that. When you're older and can afford the real good stuff then go for it. Shite my first couch was a friend's mum's back room fold out couch but it did. The TV table was a TEA CHEST WITH A TABLE CLOTH OVER IT.

Definitely stay at home. If you're studying at uni and you've moved out you'll have barely any money to travel (something you definitely need to do while you're young).

Move out in your early-mid 20s.

As others have said, the money you have will be gone with the bond and considering you dont have a job, I cant see how you'd be able to do anything at all without your folks bankrolling the whole thing - furniture, bills, rent etc.

Get a job, then move out.

The minute I had full time work (age 21) I was out the door. Best thing I've ever done.

Milk crates have 1,000 uses. Put a decent sized piece of chipboard on top and your mattress on that and you have a bed (trust me, keep your mattress off the floor, it goes mouldy otherwise). Cover with a cloth and a plank of wood (or a really large slab of marble you find somewhere) and you have a coffee or TV table.

Same with cinder blocks, with two or three planks they make good foundations for a bookshelf. And op-shops have a bucketload of useful stuff. Sheets, towels, pillows, blankets, kitchen utensils, cutlery, plates, glasses, mugs, toasters and toasted sandwich makers. Even fridges and washing machines, old CD players, speakers and amps. Not to mention the clothes, jackets and shoes. You can outfit a house for very little if you look around.

But most importantly, I'd look into where you want to live and try to find a shared house in the area. This can be easier said than done but there are plenty of online places that advertise shared housing like Gumtree, flatemates.com.au and shareaccommodation.com . Once you know who you're going to move in with then you know what gear they have. That way you know if there is anything missing and what you will need to buy.

But I'd suggest staying at home as long as possible, but the first thing I'd be doing is finding a job. Ask around fast food stores, supermarkets, hardware stores or if you have a hobby or any sort of experience that is relevant ask any sort of business that would need casual labour.

It's an expensive world out there, especially in Melbourne. Whatever you do, I wouldn't recommend moving out solo unless you're confident you can get a housemate pretty quickly.

Forgetting everything else, anyone that would accept you as a tenant in your current situation is a place you don't want to be living at.

Just turned 21.

More money in the bank from a part time job than I need or care for at the moment, had an opportunity to move out 2 years ago and didn't/couldn't. I feel like such a noob when my mates discuss the nuances of moving out. Some even compared loan repayment rates over a drink at the pub! What is this grown up speak?!

Definitely get a job before you move out, then when you're ready, you'll at least have a steady income that will probably pay more than centrelink.

I've recently had to move from the country to the city for uni. The place I'm in now is terrible. The oven, stove and kitchen light all don't work and were all found in terrible condition. My room mate left rotten food in the fridge and doesn't clean up after himself. I couldn't get into my room for the first night because my bedroom door was locked and I wasn't given the right key by my landlord. The only good thing about it is the location. So my advice is if you can, stay at home and avoid a situation like mine, or at least wait till you can afford a decent place to rent. Most things under $200 a week are generally poor.

Oh, and did I mention, my room mate leaves his pr0n out for everyone to see and it's not even the good kind. It's even still on VHS.

I've recently had to move from the country to the city for uni. The place I'm in now is terrible. The oven, stove and kitchen light all don't work and were all found in terrible condition. My room mate left rotten food in the fridge and doesn't clean up after himself. I couldn't get into my room for the first night because my bedroom door was locked and I wasn't given the right key by my landlord. The only good thing about it is the location. So my advice is if you can, stay at home and avoid a situation like mine, or at least wait till you can afford a decent place to rent. Most things under $200 a week are generally poor.

Oh, and did I mention, my room mate leaves his pr0n out for everyone to see and it's not even the good kind. It's even still on VHS.

Where in the hell did you find your roommate?:confused: