tubes

Apr 25, 2007
Tas
How's he going?
I don't thing he was given much of a chance by Dennis Pagan.
It will be tough to give him a run in the midfield this year, given our recruiting, but I'd like to see him given the chance to impress as I believe he has some massive potential.
Andy Walkers injury is a shame for the team, but on the positive it gives blokes like Luke and Adam Bentick a chance to prove themselves as step ins.
For those who attend training etc, whats Lukes status?

He played in Alice Springs in a practice match against the Eagles and racked up a few possies. That's all i know.

Reckon he'll get going this year if he's given his chance.

How's he going?
I don't thing he was given much of a chance by Dennis Pagan.
It will be tough to give him a run in the midfield this year, given our recruiting, but I'd like to see him given the chance to impress as I believe he has some massive potential.
Andy Walkers injury is a shame for the team, but on the positive it gives blokes like Luke and Adam Bentick a chance to prove themselves as step ins.
For those who attend training etc, whats Lukes status?
Ah yes......the catchcry for those whose favourites never quite lived up to the expectations.

From where I sit, Blackers is in trouble.
We have added a lot of midfield depth over the summer, so now his position as a "depth player" is even in doubt.

Found plenty of the footy in the VFL (as did David Teague ;)) but when given the chance failed to live up to the expectations he set after his debut vs Lions. I do like Blackers because he has got a bit of mongrel, but his finishing skills seem to desert him on the big stage.

With Judd, Pfeiffer, Hadley, Armfield, Browne, and now Stevens back from injury I think it will be hard for him.
I have Jackson ahead of Blackers ATM as an emergency.

Ive said this for a while now, Blackers is in real trouble

in order of quality on ballers here is the list

1. Judd
2. Stevens
3. Carrazzo
4. Murphy
5. Scotland
6. Simpson
7. Gibbs (who will be number 3 at season's end)
8. Houlihan
9. Walker
10. Hadley
11. Bentick
12.Jackson
13. Pfeiffer
14. Blackwell
15. J Russell

16. Grigg, but by season end will leap to 9th

think this will be his last year unless something drastic changes, i.e ball skills. He has never found it difficult to find the footy its just been his delivery and pace that has him so far back in the pecking order

1. Judd
2. Stevens
3. Carrazzo
4. Murphy
5. Scotland
6. Simpson
8. Houlihan
9. Walker
10. Hadley
11. Bentick
12. Walker
13.Jackson
14. Pfeiffer
15. Blackwell
16. J Russell

17. Grigg, but by season end will leap to 9th

think this will be his last year unless something drastic changes, i.e ball skills. He has never found it difficult to find the footy its just been his delivery and pace that has him so far back in the pecking order

Which one of the twins is injured?:p

1. Judd
2. Stevens
3. Carrazzo
4. Murphy
5. Scotland
6. Simpson
8. Houlihan
9. Walker
10. Hadley
11. Bentick
12.Jackson
13. Pfeiffer
14. Blackwell
15. J Russell

16. Grigg, but by season end will leap to 9th

For a guy that finished in our top 10 B n F last year you have him ranked pretty crap, IMHO i think he is worth of a top 5 position in this list considering how important he will be to our side this year..

Bentick> Tackle> Stoppage> Ball up> Hard ball get> Handball 2 Judd> Judd Goal :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Well and truly consigned to a depth player now.

To small, to slow, kicking depth so so. Can find the footy but unfortunatley [for Luke] our recent recruiting has really made it virtually impossible for him to get a look in.

A shame however unless he can get a game and really dominate then I think this is his last year at CFC.

For a guy that finished in our top 10 B n F last year you have him ranked pretty crap, IMHO i think he is worth of a top 5 position in this list considering how important he will be to our side this year..

Bentick> Tackle> Stoppage> Ball up> Hard ball get> Handball 2 Judd> Judd Goal :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Mate i for one understand the importance of Bentick in our side. i also understand the extent of his injury ATM. Having said that do you question my order that i have set out???

I like Blackers, but you'd have to think that he is in a bit of trouble.

He picked up some bad habits in the twos(running behind the guy in possession to pick up cheapies for one)

Really needed to work on his skills and pace, but doesn't seem to have done it. It's a shame, because he has shown a real ability to get the ball and he has courage.

Another who I hope will prove my doubts misplaced:thumbsu::)

im glad someone brought this up. this guy should be playing in our side ever week, i dont give a ratts what people say about him whether his slow or small.

he has great disposal, is well composed always keeps his feet and overall has a great footy brain. dont ask why they dont play him, im sick of these friigin athletes like Russell who can play for s%it getting games.

You have my vote all the way Mr Blackwell!!!

im glad someone brought this up. this guy should be playing in our side ever week, i dont give a ratts what people say about him whether his slow or small.

he has great disposal, is well composed always keeps his feet and overall has a great footy brain. dont ask why they dont play him, im sick of these friigin athletes like Russell who can play for s%it getting games.

Not in the seniors he doesn't.

Can you tell us the extent of his injury Shmurf?
His groins/OP hasnt recovered as well as they would have hoped, but its in the position where its not bad enough yet to have another release (LIKE JUDD) surgery but far from being 100%. Looks like he will have to play through the pain this year and re-assess the situation at season end perhaps.

The usher is at the ready to show Blackwell the door.....he would have to pull something phenominal out of his ar@e to be at CFC in 2009. Cant see that happening though. Watch the door on the way out Blackers.

Here, here... I love Blackers and I think he is very unlucky. He dominates VFL and gets over 40 possies sometimes. And I think last year he got dropped from Carlton after a 23 disposal haul. Pagan is loser for not giving him chances and Russel has no football ability whatsoever.

Ah yes......the catchcry for those whose favourites never quite lived up to the expectations.....

He's not one of my favourites but I think he has potential and i dont think Dennis was fair to him...

Surely you dont think he was given a legitimate chance by pagan???!??!!!!

He's not one of my favourites but I think he has potential and i dont think Dennis was fair to him...

Surely you dont think he was given a legitimate chance by pagan???!??!!!!
I saw him dominate in the two's......come up, and butcher the ball.

Sorry, but that's what I saw. In the seniors he looked slow and lacked poise and skill.
In the Ants he is the exact opposite.
I loved his first game vs Brissie, but he hasn't really excited me much at senior level since.

He got game time, and did little with it.
You say he didn't get enough, I say he didn't show enough to warrant more.

With the depth on our list in the midfield young players will get even less time in the seniors to impress. They need to perform well or they will go back to the reserves. That's how it worked for Blackers and that's how it should work. The fact that over the last few years we have been able to leave struggling players in the seniors to "find touch" is not a good thing......it says there is no-one there to replace them.

Again, I like Blackers and really hope he does something special, but he hasn't been sited this pre-season.........has Ratts got it in for him as well? :cool:.........maybe he's just not good enough.

Mr Blackwell