Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

I can't take you seriously if you honestly think a 19 possession debut game for a kid, stuck into a dysfunctional team like ours "proves" he doesn't have what it takes as a midfielder. Hell, that's been par for the course for many of our midfielders this year. Pretty impressive that Nathan matched it in his first game fighting the demons that were no doubt going around in his head. You can't honestly have expected anything more than that from him.

He may not have had the explosive pace he once had but he had but what was impressive about his year is that he was building and had re-invented himself into a consistent 30 plus possession midfielder without his pace and with a bung shoulder. That shows great footy smarts and definitely something to persist with after another pre-season.

And Newnes spell of half a dozen games or whatever it was without a tackle was the issue when he was playing as a mid early in the year ,not possessions. But while we are at it he had many games poorer than Freeman as well when he was a mid.....

Double-standards again at play. A complete back-flip on a player we had been told had the talent that we should invest in long-term. And a sudden de-listing. And people wonder why a lot of us are frustrated. :rolleyes:
100% this.

I'm sorry but this club has been playing favourites when it comes to selections etc for the last 3 or so years.

Some players can go out and have 0 touches and still play a full season without ever being in danger of having a run at sandy.

I can assure you that every 23 year old would be bitter about being given the chop.

He isn't going to bag the club and lose all hope of someone picking him up now is he?

Or maybe we could take his “#thankyou” and “god it’s been fun” at face value that he’s grateful to the club for giving him a chance, at close to $1 mill over three years, to try and realise his dream. And in fact, being able to actually play a couple of games...more than thousands of other kids get to do.

You don’t think that after all he’s been through he wouldn’t be realistic about his chances of making it?

Absolutely nothing would have made me happier than keeping him on the list, he was pretty much one of our only feel good stories this year, but I would doubt that another club will pick him up. Time will tell.

I actually haven’t been on big footy for a few weeks but had to come in to see how this news was going down. I think the worst part is as much as it was a shock, it also is completely what was expected. I for one hope someone else picks him up and he torches us in a return game. We deserve that kind of thing at the moment. What a joke.

The simple question is are there better players out there who can take his spot?

If the Saints do get priority access to mature age players this year then it’s like comparing Gibbons, Sambono or Schloithe to Freeman.

I’m shocked as I thought he played better than half the side in his debut game . I would have thought he showed enough potential to at least get another year and then see how he performed. I’m very disappointed with the clubs decision. Angry , yes I am . There are lots of other players who I thought should be delisted before him imo.
Disgusted with this decision.

Go Saints

this is the lowlight of the season. let that sink in. this season where we should have been in finals contention, instead we were embarrassed week in, week out. actually dreading to watch the game because you knew what was gonna happen

but this is the lowlight. hope he goes to another club and becomes a star

This would be a lot easier to swallow if the club hadn't already stated that Richo is 'the man' and didn't even have his position put under review. Double standards everywhere, an absolute rabble

Why is everyone freaking out.
Tell me the club didnt try everything to get the best out of their investment in him over the years.
No way they just delist him on a whim.
This. The hysteria is mildly amusing.

Freezer went pick 10 in his draft largely because of his freakish athleticism (mainly his speed, but also his rare speed/endurance combo), not because he was dominating games on his footy ability- he wasn't racking up huge numbers, wasn't winning a huge amount of CP's or clearances, his kicking wasn't anything special and he wasn't kicking loads of goals- so if he ever lost that speed (as he looks to have done) he was always likely to be up against it, and that's proven to be the case.

He was probably only given a senior game out of goodwill, as it's not like he was dominating games at VFL level and it also sounds like he wasn't really running both ways, which doesn't help his cause.

At least he got to live out his dream and play senior AFL footy, and if he's good enough then hopefully another club will give him a shot.

As for how much money we've spent on him, that's basically irrelevant, as we had to spend that cap space on someone, and what we paid him wasn't much more than the average AFL wage, so it's no huge biggie.

We took a punt and gave it a serious shot and it hasn't worked out. Unfortunate, but life. We all move on.

Stop being negative Nancy peeps....no one's bigger than the club...freezer deserved another year at the club...but in the last 5yrs we haven't seen any delisted player from St kfc making a mark elsewhere.#strength through loyalty...#backtheclub#whenitneedsyouthemost

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Strength through loyalty. Ironic.

The club asked us to invest in Freezers journey. To give him time and parietience. Then practically begged us to come to his debut game.

2 weeks later he's dropped on feeble ground, now delisted without a word from the club.

Not matter how he went on debut it is nothing short of p*** poor. If there is a good reason they should have been straight up. Shambles.

Strength through loyalty. Ironic.

The club asked us to invest in Freezers journey. To give him time and parietience. Then practically begged us to come to his debut game.

2 weeks later he's dropped on feeble ground, now delisted without a word from the club.

Not matter how he went on debut it is nothing short of p*** poor. If there is a good reason they should have been straight up. Shambles.
2 games of ordinary AFL football for $1 million and the club is piss poor?

Club is a benevelont society now.

Good try, bad luck, best of wishes.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I guess we don't know how much tightness or strain he was feeling on his hammys After the two games at the top level which maybe concerned and influenced the S.L. cleanout broom? From an outsiders view I thought he looked understandably very rusty but good in those two games.

But after all that effort put into him it kind of seems like taking your girlfriend on an all expenses paid round the world trip only to dump her the day you arrive back home:drunk:

For me the absolute must delists are wright, gilbert and joyce. Been a loyal sainter for a long time, but if they stay after the season weve had. Were keeping Richo. On top of that delist other players that are better than the above mentioned, next year, its going to be a struggle:(
Joyce has come from another game and only been in the system a short while. How can people have a go at the club getting rid of freeman but in the next breath want joyce out. Forget freeman was pick 10. Due to injury he plays like a vfl player who would never be drafted. I think many are upset because they not the club invested so much in him. I reckon we shouldn’t take it so personally and I also think those who have seen him play regularly at sandy knew he was in trouble.

Well that's settled it then

3 less memberships for the st.kfc in 2019
Seriously ive never really given a **** what others say or think anyway but mate depending on what i see in the coming months depends on whether i put money in next year or put it towards bills, basically im with you
If i dont see certain delistings, certain trades out and def better not see dan hannebery in, then im done.

Yeah yeah club is bigger than individual
Memebrsip promotes success
Call me what the **** ever

Certain changes, or im done

Well that's settled it then

3 less memberships for the st.kfc in 2019
Seriously ive never really given a **** what others say or think anyway but mate depending on what i see in the coming months depends on whether i put money in next year or put it towards bills, basically im with you
If i dont see certain delistings, certain trades out and def better not see dan hannebery in, then im done.

Yeah yeah club is bigger than individual
Memebrsip promotes success
Call me what the **** ever

Certain changes, or im done

Yep real supporters should run the club. I suggest those upset with certain changes should go back to when we lost plugger. Cost us thousands of memberships yet 2 years later we were in the grand final and all the band waggers had jumped back on. Imagine if memberships were decided by players kept or let go.