Player Watch Nathan Freeman

Maxy on SEN stating (and then repeated by the afternoon guys) that Freeman was offered a performance based contract that was significantly more than what Saints offered but went for the guaranteed amount.

Obviously no faith in his own body, think we dodged a bullet on this one.

Swan and Pendles are beginning to drop outta the midfield, we would have had a spot for him in the rotation

How do you tear your hamstring into shreds 5 minutes into a nab cup game with no one pressuring you?

And then not be able to fix it in 2 years? Either our medical staff were completely incompetent or this is the unluckiest hamstring injury in the history of the AFL

Was very glad to read reports that we'd be demanding a first round pick and also of North's interest. Really why wouldn't we start at a first rounder, he's lost none of the the talent that Hine seen enough off to warrant pick 10 and plenty of players with injury concerns go in the first round of the draft. Also those players don't have a club in love with them enough to offer 300k.

Maxy on SEN stating (and then repeated by the afternoon guys) that Freeman was offered a performance based contract that was significantly more than what Saints offered but went for the guaranteed amount.
Wow. He must know he's cooked then. What a big disappointment he's been for us. So pissed we didn't take Cripps instead.... Can't believe he's leaving, if we didn't want him it's understandable. But to not even play one AFL game and leave is pretty crap. Not sure how many players taken in the first round of a draft then don't play for 2 years due to injury leave on 300k.....just wow

Was very glad to read reports that we'd be demanding a first round pick and also of North's interest. Really why wouldn't we start at a first rounder, he's lost none of the the talent that Hine seen enough off to warrant pick 10 and plenty of players with injury concerns go in the first round of the draft. Also those players don't have a club in love with them enough to offer 300k.

We won't get a 1st rounder mate, I can tell you that now.

Freeman has lost a LOT since his draft year. Anyone who takes him has the risk his body may NEVER let him play an AFL game.

Very interesting if true and absolutely agree with what sirlothie says if true. Clearly has such little faith in his body he can't back himself at which point you'd think we might actually be getting the best for the club in a crazy scenario :S

How do you tear your hamstring into shreds 5 minutes into a nab cup game with no one pressuring you?

And then not be able to fix it in 2 years? Either our medical staff were completely incompetent or this is the unluckiest hamstring injury in the history of the AFL

I'm guessing some sort of defect. Or his quads are too strong and he's hammies too weak.

Scharenberg played half a year of VFL and didn't set the world on fire. He especially didn't set the world on fire in his lack luster 4 senior appearances. Not enough to warrant 400k, Freeman probably feels if thats the benchmark he is worth 100k less.

If you can't see the significant difference between a guy who's been injured for 2 full years without any sign of getting back to fitness, versus a guy who has been able to get in consistent footy at VFL and AFL level then I can't really see the point in having this discussion.

At this point Freeman may as well be the next Morabito.

We won't get a 1st rounder mate, I can tell you that now.

Freeman has lost a LOT since his draft year. Anyone who takes him has the risk his body may NEVER let him play an AFL game.
Yeah it's likely we won't, but you always start negotiations higher or lower than what you're prepared to accept. I'd expect we end up with a low second round pick.

We still don't even know if he can find the ball or hit a target when he does.
My bet is that he'll re-injure himself, be delisted from the Saints and gone from AFL entirely before playing 50 games.
Massive win if we can somehow leverage his departure into the recruitment of James Aish.

It's conclusive. Dekka missed on pick 10. But that's the draft. Win some, lose some. Now we get the chance to get something out of it all.

He must be confident of passing St Kilda's medical. If he does then our rehab just added to his value. Therefore not so sure just a 2nd rounder in a weak draft is worth what he offers. Saints might have to package up here.
Anyway ere's to him moving on provided we get compensated...
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1442993780.574844.jpg

His nickname at Hailebury was FIGJAM. He and his brothers are bogans from Dingley.

Hine, Rendall, Balmey etc are not mugs when it comes to list management/player retention.

The fact that a player deemed talented enough to warrant pick 10, with attributes that are not abundant at the club (speed) is being let go for the paltry sum of 300k, taking in to account the delistings/retirements already on our list, is telling.

Either that or he's not prepared to work hard for a senior game. Can't blame him if it's about confidence in his body, but if it's either of those we've dodged a bullet.