Society & Culture Nerdy things you do

• Thread starter Thread starter d33my

* I teach Chemistry & Physics

* I coach my school's chess team - we've been to the National finals the last two years.

* I'm doing a Masters in Astronomy/Astrophysics

Even my students occasionally call me 'Sheldon'....

You're the best nerd so far.

I would love to be doing my masters in astrophysics.

I am fascinated with dinosaurs and love reading about them and watching dinosaur related movies/TV shows/documentaries.

After watching a lot of Monk I began buying 'solve the mystery' detective type novels and there's websites where you can do similar things. Such a good feeling when you solve the case:thumbsu:

Somebody mentioned they like to frequent the library and get out non-fiction books to learn about random subjects. I do this also, most recently about criminal psychology. Others included the development of the kitchen through the modern era and African architecture. I also like to rent dvd's from the library.

i have a dedicated pc for my train simulator activities

connected to my 42" plasma, and one of these

traincab.jpg

Not gonna lie, this looks pretty cool. Tell us more about train simulation!:D

Why it's a sign of good and considerate driving.

At 60km/h you're traveling ~16 metres a second. At 100km/h it's ~27 metres a second.

It's called an indicator as it indicates an upcoming turn, not an eventual turn. It's simply too long to be indicating for and too long to be indicating a change in lane. At 100km/h he'd be indicating he was going to change lanes for about half a km.

I'd agree.

15 seconds is way too long to indicate.

One of my mates also takes a considerable time to do his headchecks and I reckon that is even more dangerous.

Since when did I say that I also drive like an old mole as well?
How some of you clowns associate long indicator signals with slow driving is beyond me.
Your little Hyundais wouldn't be able to keep up with my Territory anyway. :rolleyes:

Congrats on making the finals, man. I've always considered myself fairly intelligent but have always sucked at chess for some reason. Heaps of respect for those that are good at it.

I wouldn't say I'm a great player - I have beaten all of my student players at least once, but at the finals I experienced the joy of being well beaten by two nine year-olds in casual games.

I just enjoy playing :thumbsu:

Thanks vocal but I don't have a degree in science, am on the wrong side of thirty, so if i do my masters it'll be in something related to my current job.

I would like to do short/night courses in physics though.

Thanks vocal but I don't have a degree in science, am on the wrong side of thirty, so if i do my masters it'll be in something related to my current job.

I would like to do short/night courses in physics though.

I'm closer to 40, and it won't increase my job prospects or pay - not that I care :)

You can do a Grad. Cert. online (4 units) without having a science degree for interests sake. One warning; I thought it would be easier than it is, you definitely have to work at it (but I've learned heaps).

Yes I will look into that, thanks. I work in higher ed so am in the right field. I've also been questioning doing my masters in something I'm not passionate about.

I'm Obsessed with weather. I have 2 rainfall units in my yard and 3 outdoor temperature sensors. Check the conditions whenever I'm on the computer.
This. Weather is awesome but, not nerdy. :p

I am fascinated with dinosaurs and love reading about them and watching dinosaur related movies/TV shows/documentaries.

After watching a lot of Monk I began buying 'solve the mystery' detective type novels and there's websites where you can do similar things. Such a good feeling when you solve the case:thumbsu:

Somebody mentioned they like to frequent the library and get out non-fiction books to learn about random subjects. I do this also, most recently about criminal psychology. Others included the development of the kitchen through the modern era and African architecture. I also like to rent dvd's from the library.

Monk is awesome, downloaded all of it!

I wouldn't say I'm a great player - I have beaten all of my student players at least once, but at the finals I experienced the joy of being well beaten by two nine year-olds in casual games.

I just enjoy playing :thumbsu:

Do you have an iPhone/chess with friends app? If so, username :D

Well Normally I wouldnt put geeky and nerdy together but I do it here ;)
I have been to Star Wars celebration Europe in 2007 in london(UK)
I have read a children's lexicon from cover to cover when i was about 8 years old.
I love molecule building sets :D
I have got a collection of Star wars comics and books, thr Atlas, as well as a limited edition USB stick and post stamps(unopened obviously) set for the 30 y anniversary of Star Wars
I used to play the Pokemon trading card game in the official Pokemon league and used D12 for coins. (and still have the promotional cards for it)
I taped music of the radio, given the tapes a number and recorded the complete contents of every tape in a pc file(and printed out) as well as an alphabetic register of all interprets and songs.(about 80 tapes)
I have got a Pet Shop Boys picture LP which contains an Interview.
I have read all Harry Potter books from age 15 on in English (English is my second language :P)
I am on an internet forum which is dedicated to an obscure series but looks at the series from the flipside(aka the supposed bad ones are actually the good ones)(They are actually quite a lot more logical)
I like weird films , such as the man who fell from earth with David Bowie or Trinity.
I am a quick reader I always finished a book reading task for school same day we got the book.
I finished the Lords of Rings trilogy(novels) in one day.
When i was a kid going into the village(town) meant with 90% security that I was going to the library.
If I didnt read comics or books there you'd find me reading parenting magazines and similar at the young age of 8 :P (Just to see what parents would expect of kids :P)

I have played Pokémon silver on emulator when it still only had a botched up more or less English/japanese /weird characters translation
I have got the original (jap.) Pokemon Green and Red cartridges :D
I have done a monorun(Beating a game with only one type of Pokémon)
I loved nonfiction/scientific books since I was a kid (especially astronomy although when I was between 6 and 12 I also had a strong dinosaur streak (still can name plenty of dino's and differences between Ornithischia and saurisia , dinosaurs.)

My spelling(not my typing necessary) is very good, I seldom spell a word the wrong way(although Internet has had a bad effect on it. I sometimes actually have to think how to spell a word, didn't use to do that before- I blame all the people who can't spell "definitely" and other similar people :p.

I love maps , I have an Atlas that is entirely in the Gall-Peters-Projection.
I am good at topographical knowledge :D (meaning I know where played or mountain ranges or rivers are )

Well of course it is left to you whether you would think it is geeky or not :p

When on the ICE Trains in Germany with the sensor doors I pretended I was a jedi and with a wave of the hand opened the doors. The one time I did it I forgot I was wearing a shirt with an AT-AT on the front so must have look like a prize dick.

Gamespot forum member level 31 (should be much much much higher if i didn't have a few mishaps and use different accounts lol).
Neogaf user as well.

hmm....what else? just lots and lots of gaming.

+1 for weather, well only rain really. Have a rain gauge and love guessing what it will read after it rains and making my family guess. Always check the weather radar online, pretty useful actually, and guess rainfall based on that. Other than that, just posting on here, dice cricket (not anymore), being a general footy nerd.

I have over 15,000 posts in 2.5 years on this forum.... I actually enjoy problem solving (I can't let it go until I'm done), especially in the degree I'm doing..... I research Dreamteam for hours a day before each season, and usually start in January...

hm i have got 15k posts on a different forum too, but Glinn has way more even on there but he is a mod anyway and I am not.

I also have 8k posts on the jcc. lol.

I play a horse racing simulation that lets you own, train, and breed a stable of thoroughbred horses. It is played in real time with real sires so it is pretty challenging.

If you manage to breed a nice horse it can be pretty frustrating waiting up to 4 weeks to race it but I guess that's part of the fun.

http://derbyfever.com/hr/ is the link if anyone else is interested.

i eat random things together just to see if they mix and make a good combination. stumbled upon some ripper combos.