Discussion Nick Walsh, Head of High Performance and Conditioning quits

I was hoping this thread would tell us why he quit, we'll just have to see how the story evolves over the rest of the week.

I'll have to suffer through Footy Classified tonight just in case their thauces have the goss.

Yeah given that Misson comes from this role originally, you’d think some friction there. Quite possibly Misson micro managing him or something. Fingers crossed it turns out ok.
Or Misson seeing Walsh isn’t that great at his job ?

Lots of recurring injuries

Who knows

My first thought was Misson has been stepping on his toes.

Same. The stench of an old boys club is starting to emanate.
Says more about Walsh if that’s what happened.

Ross has everyone on very clear roles. Mission wouldn’t overstep unless there was an issue

Getting held responsible for the soft tissue stuff.

Coffield calf might be the straw that broke the camels back.

See I could understand if we had 10 blokes out with soft tissue injuries.

But we have Coff and Dmac. And we had King with the slight hammy. I may have missed one or two.

The rest have been stress related or collision haven't they?

Unless he is copping the heat for overworking them during preseason which I would have thought would have had Ross and Misson involved in those decisions as well.

Ross has everyone on very clear roles. Mission wouldn’t overstep unless there was an issue

You know the boss’s mate isn’t the one to go regardless

But we have Coff and Dmac. And we had King with the slight hammy. I may have missed one or two.

Unless he is copping the heat for overworking them during preseason which I would have thought would have had Ross and Misson involved in those decisions as well.
Resigning immediately would lead me to believe that something went on. I remember a few posters saying our injuries were bad luck because majority were contact injuries and not soft tissue. Walsh also has us as fit as we've ever been. Bizarre stuff tonight really.

We said it was bizarre stuff when we sacked Ratts that all worked out fine

Coff had a hamstring that needed surgery just before Xmas.

Pretty sure this is his second calf - which he reinjured recovering from the first.

King Hammy just kicking a footy is alarming considering it was in kick to kick with BJ and not match sim

Ross had a calf over Xmas/new year.

Dmac has had a couple in the off-season and might be done for the year at this rate.

So from that list alone you have 2 blokes reinjuring themselves with the same injuries.

There was more over Xmas/new years too.

Jones had a calf and now achilles.

Campbell Achilles in the new year.

But have had a lot of injuries
The pro Lyon crowd were telling us earlier in the year that it wasn't his programs fault because the injuries were mostly contact and that the S&C program had nothing to answer for, all the players hitting PB's in the time trials, coming back leaner.

McKenzie calf issues has had those prior to Walsh

Coffield calf? King hamstring?

The pro Lyon crowd were telling us earlier in the year that it wasn't his programs fault because the injuries were mostly contact and that the S&C program had nothing to answer for, all the players hitting PB's in the time trials, coming back leaner.

McKenzie calf issues has had those prior to Walsh

Coffield calf? King hamstring?
I don’t want to post a lot of what I’ve just been told. Because I’m not sure of its accuracy.

But there was a theory from RTB that he was responsible for the injuries in the new year as he wanted the body of work lifted significantly in a short space of time.

They are really concerned though with what’s happened since we went to our “in season” program and some players have the same injury reoccurring.

I don’t want to post a lot of what I’ve just been told. Because I’m not sure of its accuracy.

But there was a theory from RTB that he was responsible for the injuries in the new year as he wanted the body of work lifted significantly in a short space of time.

They are really concerned though with what’s happened since we went to our “in season” program and some players have the same injury reoccurring.
It's really just Ross Coffield McKenzie Jones Campbell King right?

McKenzie and Jones are just injury prone, well before Walsh.

Campbell hadn't done his achilles it was just a strain.

Leaves Ross Coffield King with genuine soft tissue injuries. I'd say it's normal for clubs to have a few soft tissues on the list?

Walsh gave them a program that netted results either way you slice it I reckon. We are running over the top of sides consistently and as mentioned a majority of the group came back for pre-season the fittest they've been.

I thought Walsh was doing a great job. Many in here commended the effort and intensity we've played at. We're annoyed about the injuries but I don't think I ever saw Walsh mentioned, people here were just putting it down to bad luck.

I wouldn't be surprised if Misson is overstepping the mark and trying to tell Walsh how to do his job. That's a pretty believable scenario and I don't think it's a coincidence that Walsh has been here a few years and as soon as Misson takes over Geoff Walsh's position, becoming Nick Walsh's boss, that it only takes about a month for it to end like this.

As they should be.

Except Ross is supposed to be under Mission ATM.
I ain't judging yet, but it looks bad that he leaves when things are on the up. All to be seen of course.

Wouldn't read too much into fitness staff leaving, they are a dime a dozen and are every where. I'm sure Misson will find a sound replacement before too long and lets hope they can address our consistently poor attrition rate with injuries. I dont think its any coincidence that Walsh was the last of the Ratten/Lethlean era.

Discussion Nick Walsh, Head of High Performance and Conditioning quits