Opinion Nickname

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

So people are saying the AFL will have to negotiate with Warner Bros. to use the Tasmanian Devils name?
How tf can there be a copyright dispute over the name of an animal??
There should not be any dispute. I'm unsure why A. Dillion (a lawyer) is not aware that no one can trademark/apply copyright to an native animal's name - they can however protect their creation and use of a related fictional name, i.e 'Taz' and it's related cartoon image.
Moreover the AFL have had the Tasmania Devils brand/logo (refer my avatar) registered for over 10 years, yet WB have made no claim I assume because it does not conflict with their creation...

Am i the only one that thinks Tasmania Devils vs Tasmanian Devils is more than a semantic argument?

I hate the 'n' - "Tasmania" is an infinitely better name.
"Tasmanian Devils" refers to the marsupial whereas "Tasmania Devils" follows the sporting team naming convention of "Place-name Nickname" and is the obvious choice.

Another consideration for the team's name would be the "Tasmania Tasmanian Devils", which would better define the nickname and, in doing so, reduce the confusion between them and the Demons.

It'll be the Devils, no question.

Can't wait to see some guernsey designs. I'd like to see what a bottle green, with a yellow and maroon V similar to Port's looks like. Could easily mix it up for clash guernseys too, yellow with bottle green and maroon V.

"Tasmanian Devils" refers to the marsupial whereas "Tasmania Devils" follows the sporting team naming convention of "Place-name Nickname" and is the obvious choice.

Another consideration for the team's name would be the "Tasmania Tasmanian Devils", which would better define the nickname and, in doing so, reduce the confusion between them and the Demons.
I reckon they'll officially be Tasmania Football Club and all of 'Tasmanian Devils, Tassie Devils or just The Devils' will be accepted versions of the nickname and probably all be used on merchandise and branding. It doesn't have to be a rigid one-version-only type thing.

It'll be the Devils, no question.

Can't wait to see some guernsey designs. I'd like to see what a bottle green, with a yellow and maroon V similar to Port's looks like. Could easily mix it up for clash guernseys too, yellow with bottle green and maroon V.
Already some really great stuff on the Footy Jumpers board :thumbsu:

How could they? :think: Maybe they still own the name from the old VFL team?

That's what I believe they still hold.

Also the Tasmania Devils still play in an u18 capacity.

There should not be any dispute. I'm unsure why A. Dillion (a lawyer) is not aware that no one can trademark/apply copyright to an native animal's name - they can however protect their creation and use of a related fictional name, i.e 'Taz' and it's related cartoon image.
Moreover the AFL have had the Tasmania Devils brand/logo (refer my avatar) registered for over 10 years, yet WB have made no claim I assume because it does not conflict with their creation...

I have a feeling that the media are beating it up a bit.

I thought copyright law was to protect people making money from IP. Which the AFL won't be doing.

But there isn't any way you can confuse Tasmania F.C - Devils with a cartoon Tasmanian Devil known as Taz.

I thought the problem would have been if the AFL wanted to use the Cartoon Character that WB created. Which isn't the case.

Pictured: the AFL's very own Devil mascots.

(and also the reason why it won't be the Devils)

BpqL7waCAAAGenv.jpg

About 60% of Tasmanians live outside of Hobart, and 40% live outside either Hobart or Launceston. You get a much bigger supporter catchment by calling it Tasmania.
At last count, 52% of the Tasmanian population lives in the south of the state. That %age is slowly increasing year by year. I think the team should be called the Tasmania football club. Its the geographic area in which it is based & will play its home games.

Brisbane is not called after the people, Brisbanite FC. Or Sydneysider Swans FC in Sydney.

Can understand the Devils, but the Penguins would be pretty awesome from a brand perspective imo.

I think within a few short years it would be one of the more recognisable AFL brands.

Tassie is the gateway to Antarctica, there's ~150,000 penguins in Tassie and it's islands etc so has local symbology also.

I'd be interested to see how it would go in a vote vs the Devils if branded right.

I think Penguins would win out in the younger generation.

Can understand the Devils, but the Penguins would be pretty awesome from a brand perspective imo.

Tassie is the gateway to Antarctica, there's ~150,000 penguins in Tassie and it's islands etc.

I'd be interested to see how it would go in a vote vs the Devils if branded right.
Might just be the #VICBIAS but I associate penguins in Australia with Phillip Island, not Tasmania at all.