Votes: 0 0.0%

yarran13

Who would you take if you could slot them in at their best? I lean towards Nicky Dal one second, Daisy the next. Tough one, can't decide. Mods pls add poll. :)

Nicky Dal. One of the classiest players by foot in the league, super consistant, amongst the best mids year in year out yet always under rated. Barely missed a game his entire career, pencil him in for 300+ by careers end.

Nicky Dal - absolutely no question.

Maybe Dal Santo if we are talking week to week but when you consider Thomas's big game record I would clearly go for him. He loves the big stage and GFs more than anything which is a massive quality

Dal Santo is one of the best mid fielders in the AFL over a long period of time. Has had to contend with the best taggers each week weve seen including Ling and Kirk.

Daisy at his best for mine. The guy can turn his hand inside the packs, race down the wing, fly for big marks up forward and kick the impossible goal. His best will only get better too IMO.

Dal Santo is one of the cleanest users of the footy in the competition, brings him over the line for me.

Maybe I don't watch enough of Del Santo, but I always thought of him as one of the most over-rated players in the league. Every time I watched him I've been under whelmed, don't get me wrong he's a very good player but over-rated in my opinion.

Nicky Dal has been an A-grader for over 6 years now. Is one of the best users by foot out of all midfielders in the league, can rack up huge numbers and is now as good an inside player as he is outside. All while copping the #1 tag on a near weekly basis. Thomas has had one great year so far in his career. Daisy will be doing well to have a career similar to Dal Santo's.

From what I've seen from both players at their peak, I'd have Dal Santo every day of the week.

Maybe I don't watch enough of Del Santo, but I always thought of him as one of the most over-rated players in the league. Every time I watched him I've been under whelmed, don't get me wrong he's a very good player but over-rated in my opinion.

Obviously don't watch him at all, played great in both losses against Collingwood in 2011, polled votes in both matches.

Nicky Dal no question. Daisy is overated. If he came into the game with a shaved head and played for Sydney, he wouldn't be talked about at all

Crap...

A lot more people would not hold a negative disposition towards him because he plays for magpies and BECAUSE of his blonde hair.

your post is eveidence of this...

nonetheless, on topic, dal santo obviously for consistency.

Some stats for reference, 2011 season:

Code:
Player		Team	K		CP		DE%	Clg		CL		T		G	
		TOT	AVG	TOT	AVG	TOT	TOT	AVG	TOT	AVG	TOT	AVG	TOT	AVG
Nick Dal Santo	STK	338	14.7	257	11.2	73	50	2.2	118	5.1	121	5.3	14	0.6
Dale Thomas	COLL	342	16.3	209	10	72	70	3.3	78	3.7	88	4.2	13	0.6

Think I'd rather Daisy. Dal Santo has gone a long way to winning me over the last few years, playing well while copping attention and while the Saints played poorly as a team, but Daisy is nonetheless a little tougher and more dynamic in my eyes. I generally rate Daisy's type higher too - not quite a pure midfielder, not quite a pure flanker... a rarer type of player capable of performing well in several positions, kicking goals, taking strong marks, laying heaps of tackles, racking up stats, rising to big occasions, and doing all the fore mentioned with relative consistency, despite being one described as possessing X-factor.

Daisy pretty easily for me. Despite what a lot of dummies post on these boards, Daisy is as tough and courageous as they come he does the basics well and tops it off with the flair and the 'X' factor.

Genuine toss of a coin now, I reckon (coin said Thomas).
Been super-impressed with Daisy in the past 18 months, but then Dal also had the best season of his career last year as well.
As has been stated, Thomas has more of the X-factor and can play more roles, whereas Dal is one of the most damaging by foot that we've seen in recent years.
Pity that Dal was carrying a significant leg injury in the 2010 GF's (arguably shouldn't have played either of them) and had Ling in his pocket in the 2009 GF, so we didn't get to see the best of him on the biggest stage. Hopefully he'll get another crack this year. Watters is also reportedly encouraging them to take more risks and be more attacking, with both their run and also their ball use, so we may get to see him take his ball use to new levels this season, by going for a bit more with his kicks. :thumbsu: