News NMFC AFLW 2019

I think there may be a few wearing 2 hats on this one mate.

If North Melbourne 'just hold the license' then it's not a North Melbourne team then. Does that mean North Melbourne supporters should or shouldn't follow it automatically?

What is the 5x growth metric based on? Victoria currently has a population of 5.79 million. Split it evenly 8 ways and that's 720k prospective supporters to contribute to the club and be marketed to. Tasmania has 515k people total with an already existing split between 2 teams, let's make 60% in our favour due to the AFLW factor and that's 309k.

This isn't commentary on the merits of partnering with Tasmania but I'd suggest this does have potential to compromise our (NMFC) identity and also question the validity to the claim the partnership necessarily quintuples our growth factor.

Well i for one am unashamedly wearing two hats. I think its a great outcome for both parties, and women footballers under both hats.

C'mon mate. You think 720K is a realistic figure if a sole North AFLW team? It would be lucky to even be a 5th of that all things considered.

Both mine and your figures are crude and lack substance, but i fail to see how on any legitimate basis having North and Tasmania onboard somehow equals less support and growth potential than a sole North AFLW team.

But it hasn't stopped the Dogs, Melbourne & St Kilda from getting their own AFLW teams without any caveats.
St Kilda dropped behind North Melbourne and is another expansion away from being admitted (in which time the AFL may move the goalposts again, we don't know). Every year is a year lost.

Western and Melbourne were smart enough to not just support women's footy as we did, but to support it under the AFL umbrella and on the AFL's terms, and for once were rewarded.

Pretty much everyone wanted in this round and North was one of the top two and only Melbourne-based team selected. It took a lot of creative and intelligent planning as well as hard work to be on that position.

I don't think Buckley and Carl are liars but I don;t think I am paranoid either, worst case scenario tas/afl put huge pressure on the club to consider relocation do you think it will be as cut and dried as us saying no, it was horrible in 07 and would be just as bad if not worse if a second round of that was to occur.

You are talking about this pressure, but what pressure? A few articles from the media? Some people who have bailed on Tasmania and now live/work in Melbourne who want us to go back but not themselves? These kind of hypocrites don't stand up to the ideological test let alone have a sound economical proposal that doesn't put us permanently reliant on government and AFL funding to survive.

People want Tasmania to have their own side, I respect that. I think they should too. However, if it was feasible/desirable, they would already. The factors which have prevented them from having their own side do not make it ideal for us to shift more games there.

Our club is in a very strong position now.

But it hasn't stopped the Dogs, Melbourne & St Kilda from getting their own AFLW teams without any caveats.

It has been suggested that the AFL specifically instructed North Melbourne to include Tasmania or else go to the back of the queue. You can choose not to support this team, but you can't spit your dummy in the dirt and demand an Arden St only team based on what was happening at other Melbourne clubs.

St Kilda dropped behind North Melbourne and is another expansion away from being admitted (in which time the AFL may move the goalposts again, we don't know). Every year is a year lost.

Western and Melbourne were smart enough to not just support women's footy as we did, but to support it under the AFL umbrella and on the AFL's terms, and for once were rewarded.

Pretty much everyone wanted in this round and North was one of the top two and only Melbourne-based team selected. It took a lot of creative and intelligent planning as well as hard work to be on that position.

It has also been rumoured for months that Richmond and StKilda bids were ahead of us and we would only get a team in 2019 if the AFL introduced 4 new teams - even then, we may have lost out to West Coast. So to leap frog Richmond and StKilda has defied the experts in the media.

There is also nothing stopping the AFL from pushing back the next wave if the talent pool becomes too thin with the addition of two new teams, there is no guarantee there will be more teams in 2020, they may end up delaying the next wave of teams. Our ability to get into the comp as soon as possible is a huge boon.

nobody will say "North Melbourne- Tassie Kangaroos"

People will revert back to 'North' or the 'kangas' like usual. Or even 'roogirls'.

Think about other such cases: St george Illawarra Dragons are just called St George or the Dragons, never Illawarra.

I feel ok for now. "Tasmania Kangaroos" would have been a problem though I feel it was only called that.

Why do people keep mentioning license with strings attached, caveats and so on? Strange.

We applied for a license as per the partnership, we (North) weren't forced to, rather thought best way to proceed and hold the license.

Which one of those teams took half its playing list from another location?
Ok so establish an affiliation with a Tassie based women's football club and submit a joint bid with them, that way it is truly a 50/50 split and most of the complaints disappear. However, this is supposed to be our own standalone license so the clubs identity should not be any different from the men's AFL/VFL teams.

As blunt as it sounds, we do not owe Tassie anything so I do not see why we feel the need for the name change? We are the ones that will be providing women in Tassie the pathway into AFLW, not the other way around. It is a smart business decision for sure to guarantee that we got in before Hawthorn, but one that is potentially divisive and just perpetuates the negative public perception that we "have one foot out the door" of Arden St.

I desperately want an AFLW team for us, but one that is called NORTH MELBOURNE, not North Melbourne Tasmania.

Edit: I'm not worried about relocation. Just concerned about the identity of the club.

It has also been rumoured for months that Richmond and StKilda bids were ahead of us and we would only get a team in 2019 if the AFL introduced 4 new teams - even then, we may have lost out to West Coast. So to leap frog Richmond and StKilda has defied the experts in the media.

Yeah, that was the rumour, i think the AFL wants to get more interstate involvement as well, however, Geelong and North should never have been pushed back in favour of Carlton and Collingwood, the AFL probably thought they would struggle with popularity without "big clubs" representation. In the grand scheme of things, those clubs weren't important and the AFL leaving Essendon off the "soon" list highlights that AFLW success isn't tied to men's football parameters.

A lot of clubs interested in an AFLW licence are a long way behind clubs like us or Geelong. I think our clubs will transition into the AFLW a lot better than many others and our link with Tasmania will increase the pool of players. It will also give the next on the list more time to get their grassroots level development up to scratch.

QFT.

Based on the tweets from the presser, it seems that this is simply a more genuine joint venture than our AFLM arrangement, and Tassie understandably feels entitled to be more included in the team's identity. If they play with more of a North brand here, Tassie brand there, and the official name reflects both, its fine.
Your rationality has no place here!

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Yeah, that was the rumour, i think the AFL wants to get more interstate involvement as well, however, Geelong and North should never have been pushed back in favour of Carlton and Collingwood, the AFL probably thought they would struggle with popularity without "big clubs" representation. In the grand scheme of things, those clubs weren't important and the AFL leaving Essendon off the "soon" list highlights that AFLW success isn't tied to men's football parameters.

Collingwood should have been excluded based purely on the fact that they were launching a team in the competing national netball league at the same time.

It may take decades but the AFL will eventually come to its senses and realise there is only enough support for one team in QLD. Suns and Lions will merge.

Or the GCS will move to Byron Bay.

Whatever else people say the look in my daughter's eyes when i told her about us having a women's team and she said "Does that mean I might be able to play for them?" was pretty unreal.

The way I read it is that we have a 5 year deal with Tasmania and their name is used as part of branding. At the end of that 5 yrs who knows?
I look forward to Collingwood purchasing the rights in 5 years and being branded the Collingwood Kangaroos.

nobody will say "North Melbourne- Tassie Kangaroos"

People will revert back to 'North' or the 'kangas' like usual. Or even 'roogirls'.

Think about other such cases: St george Illawarra Dragons are just called St George or the Dragons, never Illawarra.

I feel ok for now. "Tasmania Kangaroos" would have been a problem though I feel it was only called that.

I've been calling the takeover team Illawarra, and even on occasion the Steelers, since it's inception in the late '90's. It started because my father is a long time St. George fan and I was trying to annoy him, but it's now automatic whenever I talk about them, even to other Illawarra/St. George fans. It annoys them also.:D

As for the North Melbourne - Tassie Kangaroos I agree with you, North, Kangas, Roos or Roogirls will become common pretty quickly.

Collingwood should have been excluded based purely on the fact that they were launching a team in the competing national netball league at the same time.

I don't think that should be a reason to exclude them, they should have been excluded due to doing nothing for womens football.

It would be a restraint on trade to reject them for being interested in other sports.

Having a little time to cool off after the shock Tassie jumper, im warming to the idea tbh.

Women are half the population and their participation is exploding, having a woman's team is absolutely vital. I highly doubt Tassie could support both mens and women's teams, so im getting over the relocation fears. Tassie gets say 5 women's games and 3-4 men's - id think that works well for both parties long term.

In 10 years when the earth is on fire from global warming (according to Al Gore)Tassies population will be 4 billion.

Ever had a look at the club's that City group own? They aren't called the Manchester City group after their most recognisable club, they are called the City group.
Here are the list of subsidiaries they own:
Manchester City F.C. (100%)
New York City FC (80%)
Melbourne City FC (100%)
Yokohama F. Marinos (20%)
Club Atlético Torque (100%)
Girona FC (44.3%)
City Football Academy
City Football Marketing
City Football Services
City Football Japan
City Football Singapore
City Football China

This is the future. If you think that only the NMFC brand can only expand via just our name, we will be left behind. I would love us to be pioneers and expand into other channels and countries if it means the continuance of our core brand.

I know a fair few people jumped onboard with Melbourne City memberships because they are fans of Manchester City. They also still readily identify with Manchester City when they watch Melbourne City as the uniforms are similar.

I'll support these women because I'll see NMFC when I watch them regardless of name.

In 10 years when the earth is on fire from global warming (according to Al Gore)Tassies population will be 4 billion.

Q. How many solar panels are on Al Gores mansions?
A. Zero