thecig

Man City, Bos. Celtics, Glas Celtic
As a lover of HD I'm really disappointed it won't be in HD again...
But I saw this article and had a question:

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/bus...ock-on-hd-finals/story-e6frg996-1226146308719
Networks Ten and Nine are being forced by the government's sport anti-siphoning legislation to run the grand finals on their main standard definition channels and have made a decision not to simulcast the programs on their digital HD channels.

However, Foxtel HD subscribers will get the AFL and NRL grand finals in HD when they are replayed on Fox Sports HD several hours after the final whistle.

The bolded part is really what interests me. So they are replaying the game on the HD channels later, does this mean they are actually filming them in HD or are these replays just gonna be upscales?

I know most won't care, but this is more about future watchings than anything else. :o

That is crappy, crappy, crappy.

I have to wait 11 hours for the replay in Canada but it is in HD. It is probably the single reason I won't look for a stream to watch it live.

Nothing beats watching sport in HD....even the Curling is bearable ;)

That is crappy, crappy, crappy.

I have to wait 11 hours for the replay in Canada but it is in HD. It is probably the single reason I won't look for a stream to watch it live.

Nothing beats watching sport in HD....even the Curling is bearable ;)

Thats more than HD ;)

I'd love it if my foxtel was still setup using my dvb-s2 card, then I could record the foxtel HD stream and keep it on my PC... bloody foxtel and their encryption :(

I'd say it's being recorded in HD but channel 10 are only showing the game on their SD channel. I heard some comment from them saying it made more sense to keep it to one channel or whatever.

I just hope the AFL remember this and hopefully put in their future contracts to make sure games get shown in HD, or at least the finals.

This is another omen actually! Cos the replay wasn't shown in HD either!
Might post that in the omens thread...

so lame ! who has SD only Tv's anyway ? I reckon 95% of people have HD capable TV's so it seems stupid to broadcast in SD

People with SD only should go buy an HD set top box

I'd say it's being recorded in HD but channel 10 are only showing the game on their SD channel. I heard some comment from them saying it made more sense to keep it to one channel or whatever.

I just hope the AFL remember this and hopefully put in their future contracts to make sure games get shown in HD, or at least the finals.
It's already part of the next broadcast rights deal - Every game will be shown live and in HD on Foxtel, at least.

I don't know whether Channel 7 have made any commitment to showing footy in HD from next year, but they did show the first GF in HD last year on 7Mate - The only reason that they didn't show the replay in HD is that they didn't have HD cameras available to show the game.

Very ordinary and unprofessional imo...HD is fairly standard these days especially in sports and especially in finals events such as the grand final.

Last year i didn't care because i could go but this year i can't go so i want HD!!!

Ten's excuse is they are showing qualifying for the Moto GP instead. What a crock of s*** I guess our children will have to pay to watch HD sport :D

This is another omen actually! Cos the replay wasn't shown in HD either!
Might post that in the omens thread...

Not really, Saturdays final is being filmed in HD but only shown on SD whereas the Replay was only filmed in SD due to the HD cameras being unavaliable that week.

In any case, piss poor that its not being shown in HD, Foxtel are going to snag a heap more subscribers next year!!

Still, means that the winners DVD will also be released in Blu Ray again which is a plus for the winning side.

Well Ten, before they spat the dummy, used ot have the footy running in HD on One, and in SD on Ten.

No legitimate reason Seven can't do the same on Saturday with 7 and 7mate.
I'd say the fact that they're not showing the game is a pretty legitimate reason that they can't...

Just read that they are replaying it in HD on One later.

So they ARE filming in HD which is what counts.

I mean in all honesty, if we lose then it won't matter. If we win, at least you can watch the replay in HD, and buy the Blu-ray.

My personaly hope is that they properly upscale last year's GF Replay in HD and release a Back 2 Back Blu-ray pack if we win.

It's been filmed in HD, in fact, just about all games are recorded in HD. Lazy ass broadcasters won't show it in HD though.

Digital TV in this country is woeful.

I'd love it if my foxtel was still setup using my dvb-s2 card, then I could record the foxtel HD stream and keep it on my PC... bloody foxtel and their encryption :(
So buy yourself a HD capture card, record it on IQ and then transfer it. :thumbsu:

Like you I wish I had a DVB-s2 card on my PC. I have every Collingwood match for this year and most for last that was on FTA recorded on my Media Centre and every one that was shown on foxtel this year on my IQ. I will probably be going out and buying myself a capture card in the next few months so I can transfer them but it would be nice if you could do it digitally rather than in real time. :mad:

It's been filmed in HD, in fact, just about all games are recorded in HD. Lazy ass broadcasters won't show it in HD though.

Digital TV in this country is woeful.

Hate to burst your bubble but in fact most of the games shown on free to air that aren't immediately broadcast in HD are in fact recorded on SD equiptment.

I know this because of an interview with the Foxtel CEO on SEN that I listened to shortly after broadcast rights were announced. In this interview he (can't recall his name) talked of how next year they will capture the stream from Channel 10 and when in SD, they will so what is called "up-res" the image. All it is is a program that adds pixels to the image and slightly improves the quality however is no-where near true HD. He said that this was the best they could do with the stream they capture.

I am absolutely furious with Demetriou for not including HD as a mandatory requirement for all games in the last broadcasting rights. All live is good but not to have HD is just amature hour - hell even NRL have all their games in HD (Foxtel I know)! The AFL is truly amature hour by world standards when it comes to broadcasting its sport.

I get so worked up about it that just yesterday I was scouring the Channel 10 website looking for a feedback form or email address I could vent my speen through. Only phone numbers unfortunately. I almost find watching SD AFL on my brand new mega-bucks Panasonic TV too disgusting to bare...especially after we have been treated with the beautiful Foxtel HD broadcasts.

Blame Ch10 and Demetriou - they are the cuplrits.

Any suggestions about how we can better and collectively voice our displeasure?

So buy yourself a HD capture card, record it on IQ and then transfer it. :thumbsu:

Like you I wish I had a DVB-s2 card on my PC. I have every Collingwood match for this year and most for last that was on FTA recorded on my Media Centre and every one that was shown on foxtel this year on my IQ. I will probably be going out and buying myself a capture card in the next few months so I can transfer them but it would be nice if you could do it digitally rather than in real time. :mad:

Well I use to have it setup perfectly but foxtel ruined everything by changing their encryption! It's been like 4 months now and no one has got near to cracking it :(

So is anyone able to confirm that the replay will be from a HD filmed source? If it is then that's fine, but they'll most probably just upscale it won't they? :(

Sounds like it's being filmed in HD, but broadcast on crap seven in SD.

Luckily, those with Foxtel HD (like me) will get to record it on IQ in HD.

I'll buy the Blu-ray anyway if we win.

But check the fine print first - remember the rip off blu-ray last year which was only SD :thumbsd:

EDIT Now read your 2nd post so I know you know. Will leave post to remind others to always read fine print

Well I use to have it setup perfectly but foxtel ruined everything by changing their encryption! It's been like 4 months now and no one has got near to cracking it :(

So is anyone able to confirm that the replay will be from a HD filmed source? If it is then that's fine, but they'll most probably just upscale it won't they? :(
I have no real idea but I'd say this about Aussie HD generally. FTA is only ever broadcast as 1080i rather than full HD which is 1080p. That's not the end of the world but if you look at HD offerings now I'd say they've lowered the bitrate because if you compare them to the loop that 7HD used to run at inception the quality just isn't there any more. From what I can gather this is because there is limited bandwidth that each channel can use and with so many channels they just can't pump out decent HD any more.

So, from other forums (mostly whirlpool) I've been reading they'll be recording it in HD, but not broadcasting it live in HD. So hopefully this means the replays will be shown in HD on both foxsportsHD and One HD. I'll believe it when I see it tho...
It may simply mean that having it recorded in HD gives them some additional options in terms of how they use the footage at some later date.