ran away with 2 flags in their first 8.

What have the two flags hav eto do with the first 5 years?? :rolleyes:
Failed to match?
We made 2 finals series in our five years...crows didnt
we finished 3rd on the mior round ladder...crows didnt
we won 16 games in a season...crows didnt
we won 54 games in our first 5 years...crows won 52

we have matched you in more than one way
of course we havent won a final yet...but the crows only won ONE final. It isnt like you won 7 in your first 3 years.

Not to mention the fact the competition nowadays is in fact harder, stronger, quicker, better than back in the early 90s. There was no team like the current day Essendon which dominated for example

Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Originally posted by Macca19

What have the two flags hav eto do with the first 5 years?? :rolleyes:
Failed to match?
We made 2 finals series in our five years...crows didnt
we finished 3rd on the mior round ladder...crows didnt
we won 16 games in a season...crows didnt
we won 54 games in our first 5 years...crows won 52

we have matched you in more than one way
of course we havent won a final yet...but the crows only won ONE final. It isnt like you won 7 in your first 3 years.

Not to mention the fact the competition nowadays is in fact harder, stronger, quicker, better than back in the early 90s. There was no team like the current day Essendon which dominated for example

Ah, Macca, you are sooooooo wrong, yet again it is funny.

If you want to harp on about the relative record of Crows & Power in the AFL, by all means do, but get it right, mate!

There are three areas where Port have a legitimate advantage over Crows - head-to-head in the showdowns Port are up 6-4. Port have an ever-so-slightly better overall win/loss ratio than Crows. Port have a higher number of consecutive wins - six for Port, five for Crows - but I think Port also have a higher number of consecutive losses, so that one perhaps balances.

Everywhere else, Crows record has it all over Ports.

Here are a few measures just off the top of my head:

Average ladder position: - Crows=8; Power=9.
Ranking of average ladder position: Crows=8th; Power=10th (I think, from memory).
Of course, the famous one, flags: Crows=2; Power=0.
Finals win/loss: Crows=8-4, Power=0-3.
(Power are the losingest side in the AFL in finals, there is no other side that has played AFL finals matches that has failed to win even one).
Biggest improvement: Crows rise by 11 places from 12th to 1st.(Crows regrettably also have the worst drop, from 1st to 13th).
Worst season: Power=14th; Crows=13th.
Best season: Crows=1st,17 wins; Power=5th,16 wins.

Oops, Macca, your slip is well and truly showing again. 17 wins in one season to Crows, and they had another with 16 wins.

This may seem a bit childish, but it is no more so than your wrong claims above, Macca.

Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Originally posted by ok.crows

Best season: Crows=1st,17 wins; Power=5th,16 wins.

Oops, Macca, your slip is well and truly showing again. 17 wins in one season to Crows, and they had another with 16 wins.

This may seem a bit childish, but it is no more so than your wrong claims above, Macca.

What slip up?? Crows have never won 17 wins in a season. Since when did finals wins count in a 'season'. Thats Major round. Something completly different from the Minor round. Ports best season record is 16 wins - this year.
Crows is 13 wins - 1997 and 1998.

Finals wins dont actually count, otherwise Essendon would claim to of won 24 games out of 25 last year (which they dont) instead of 21 out of 22!

So no...i didnt slip up. But if you wanted to include finals wins then you would be right.

Please tell me where i have actually been wrong in that post?? Everything i said was true. I never said Port were in front of Crows in every aspect. I said we had matched the crows in more than one aspect...which is true.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Originally posted by Macca19

What slip up?? Crows have never won 17 wins in a season. Since when did finals wins count in a 'season'. Thats Major round. Something completly different from the Minor round. Ports best season record is 16 wins - this year.
Crows is 13 wins - 1997 and 1998.

Finals wins dont actually count, otherwise Essendon would claim to of won 24 games out of 25 last year (which they dont) instead of 21 out of 22!

So no...i didnt slip up. But if you wanted to include finals wins then you would be right.

Of course finals count as far as a seasons records go. As you point out, each season has a minor round and a major round. The entire season is the sum of these two. For example - when you ask for example "what was Modras highest goal tally?" the answer is 129 goals in 23 matches - since you include the goals he got in the major round as well as the minor round of the 93 season.

But don't take my word for it,- have a look at the AFL history page - http://www.afl.com.au/history/page_81.htm or http://www.afl.com.au/history/page_111.htm (100 goals or more in a season - includes finals!)

Crows won 17 games in the 1997 season, and 16 in the 1998 season.

Deal with it.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Originally posted by ok.crows

Of course finals count as far as a seasons records go. As you point out, each season has a minor round and a major round. The entire season is the sum of these two. For example - when you ask for example "what was Modras highest goal tally?" the answer is 129 goals in 23 matches - since you include the goals he got in the major round as well as the minor round of the 93 season.

But don't take my word for it,- have a look at the AFL history page - http://www.afl.com.au/history/page_81.htm or http://www.afl.com.au/history/page_111.htm (100 goals or more in a season - includes finals!)

Crows won 17 games in the 1997 season, and 16 in the 1998 season.

Deal with it.

Nothing to deal with. Im not the one with the complex.
Either way...Port Adelaide have a better HOME AND AWAY record than the Crows.

As all that matters are Premierships

No comparison can be made until at least two years time

However as was rightly pointed out - the competition was very different even five or six years ago

Plus the clubs came about in different ways which had positives and negatives.

Its all in good fun though.

Bottom line is - any decent Crows supporter would never switch to the Power or vice versa.

The rivalry is good as it pushes both clubs on to achieve better things.

Probably Port could say they were ahead at the moment with a 6-4 showdown lead

Plus - Port won the Ansett Cup game, Crows won the friendly match at Victor Harbout

AND Port beat the Crows in the first game between the clubs - a RESERVES trial game at Footy Park.

It was before an Ansett cup match - I went to that game bu had to leave before the Ansett cup game started.

Troy Bond kicked a 55 metre goal around his body with his back to the goals from a Brett James over the head hand ball.

Originally posted by kirky

Macca, this is all friendly banter and great for football. We all have the passion but for other sides. But just for information - first five years of each club

Adelaide - 9th, 9th, 3rd, 11th and 11th with 52 wins, 58 losses and 1 draw.
Port - 9th, 10th, 7th, 14th and 5th with 54 wins, 56 losses and 3 draws.

Pretty similar, I reckon. Only slight difference being Port has never had the pleasure (if one can call it that) of playing at Moorabin, Windy Hill, Victoria Park or Western Oval.

Kirky, the competition is a lot more even now. You forgot to mention that in the early years Adelaide got to play teams like Richmond, Sydney and Brisbane, teams that couldn't win a game to save themselves.

Re: Re: No more Power

Originally posted by eddie eagle

sensational kirky!!! maybe lleyton hewitt - the little crows supporting champ could give the power some tennis lessons to prevent future staight sets exists

How sweet it is that i can write this in the knowledge that the club that was going to revolutionise
football in SA, the club that was going to show the AFC how football clubs
should be run, has now failed in it's first 3 AFL finals including one at
home, that they had to win to make credible their arrogant & self centred
claims they made in the past about their AFL destiny.

Now call me nasty & vindictive if you like, but the pap are not living up to
the extraordinary claims they made of unprecedented success in the AFL
arena. In fact PAP supporters would have to be very, very, very
disappointed with their efforts so far. The boys from alberton have failed
to match the Crows who won their first final in only their third year, and
ran away with 2 flags in their first 8.

***** Eddie, the Power have been in the AFL for only 5 years and have lost 3 finals, one by less than a kick. Start talking this ***** after we have be in the comp for 20 years not 5 minutes. So what if the Crows have 2 premierships in 8 years, how many will they have in 50 years?. After all Collingwood has the 3rd most premierships in the AFL but I don't know to many people alive who have actually witness 2 Collingwood premierships in their lifetime.

all you port power fans dont know what matters...

Ill admit the lost to carlton was awful

however your mob has lost 3 of your 3 finals in september

maybe your seasons look slightly better than ours judging from those statistics

But september is when it matters deep down you all know that...

Weve tasted the glory twice in a row

If Port wants that glory theyll have to be awfully patient cos they just cant play well enough in September

SIMPLE AS THAT!

Originally posted by topjars
If Port wants that glory theyll have to be awfully patient cos they just cant play well enough in September

SIMPLE AS THAT!

Same was said about Adelaide after 1993 remember. Chokers in finals...that label was given to the crows after 93, and they didnt lose it until they won the grand final in 97. Oh how people seem to forget this.

Originally posted by carb70

Kirky, the competition is a lot more even now. You forgot to mention that in the early years Adelaide got to play teams like Richmond, Sydney and Brisbane, teams that couldn't win a game to save themselves.

Every year you have easy beats in the competition (check the statistics for each year since 1991). Whether it be Collingwood in 1999, St Kilda in 2000 and Fremantle in 2001. But don't forget, your side has never had to play at Moorabin, Western Oval, Windy Hill or Victoria Park.

Topjars you are a complete ****er. You are a prime example of all that is wrong with the Adelaide football club. Most of us here are able to bait each other in fun with some witty cruel jibes. All I ever read from you is uneducated childish comebacks. Maybe you should cut back on the mercury intake from the pristine waters around Port Pirie.
I know it's unusual for me to get this frustrated with someone but enough is enough.................................Aaargh!!

all you port power fans dont know what matters...

Ill admit the lost to carlton was awful

however your mob has lost 3 of your 3 finals in september

maybe your seasons look slightly better than ours judging from those statistics

But september is when it matters deep down you all know that...

Weve tasted the glory twice in a row

SIMPLE AS THAT!

Sorry topjars, I will give up to your better judgement. After all the Crows are September specialist, they have made the finals a whole 4 times in 11 seasons.:confused:

They have also beaten such powerhouses as the Bulldogs,
Saints and Swans in those final series also.:rolleyes:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Every year you have easy beats in the competition (check the statistics for each year since 1991). Whether it be Collingwood in 1999, St Kilda in 2000 and Fremantle in 2001. But don't forget, your side has never had to play at Moorabin, Western Oval, Windy Hill or Victoria Park.

1st of all kirky, you played at Windy Hill once so don't get to carried away. You also probably played at Moorabbin maybe twice and I bet those games against Fitzroy at the Western Oval where real tough, Who cares. The Crows struggle to win on their own ground, no one fears them anymore. Actually when was the last time they beat Port because I can't remember that far back.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Originally posted by carb70

1st of all kirky, you played at Windy Hill once so don't get to carried away. You also probably played at Moorabbin maybe twice and I bet those games against Fitzroy at the Western Oval where real tough, Who cares. The Crows struggle to win on their own ground, no one fears them anymore. Actually when was the last time they beat Port because I can't remember that far back.

The point is and must I have to point it out is that Port have never, repeat never, had to play in some one elses dung hill (Optus Oval aside)!!! By the way, Western Oval was the Bulldogs home ground and we played there until 1996 (5 seasons) and according to most footy pundits were not easybeats there. Collingwood - Victoria Park until 1998, St Kilda until 1993.

Oh, thats right no one fears them anymore, well the Vics this year were more frightened about Adelaide when it was on a roll in the later stages of the season than the Power (The sleeper is Adelaide, I seem to recall reading in the Herald Sun and Age). Now in my books that means respect!

Still, dream on Power supporters.

Dear Santos

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Topjars you are a complete ****er. You are a prime example of all that is wrong with the Adelaide football club. Most of us here are able to bait each other in fun with some witty cruel jibes. All I ever read from you is uneducated childish comebacks. Maybe you should cut back on the mercury intake from the pristine waters around Port Pirie.
I know it's unusual for me to get this frustrated with someone but enough is enough.................................Aaargh!!

Actually I didnt write that post, my lad did without my knowing....Ill kill the little plick.

He is a Carlton supporter ( surely you couldve picked that by his post)

But take it from me theyre have been no others by his hand and will be no more under the Topjars banner !!!!

So Ill accept your apology when you get around to it along with an example of my "uneducated childish comebacks"

And while we're on the subject of uneducated...Its lead cadmium and zinc; you're thinking of the mercury tarnished fish pulled out a water somewhere nearby your abode (tee hee)

Have the nicest of days wont you, Choker

;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

Oh, thats right no one fears them anymore, well the Vics this year were more frightened about Adelaide when it was on a roll in the later stages of the season than the Power (The sleeper is Adelaide, I seem to recall reading in the Herald Sun and Age). Now in my books that means respect!

Maybe someone should of let Carlton know of that fact.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: No more Power

The point is and must I have to point it out is that Port have never, repeat never, had to play in some one elses dung hill (Optus Oval aside)!!!

Manuka???

Re: Dear Santos

Actually I didnt write that post, my lad did without my knowing....Ill kill the little plick.

But take it from me theyre have been no others by his hand and will be no more under the Topjars banner !!!!

So Ill accept your apology when you get around to it along with an example of my "uneducated childish comebacks"

And while we're on the subject of uneducated...Its lead cadmium and zinc; you're thinking of the mercury tarnished fish pulled out a water somewhere nearby your abode (tee hee)

;)

No manner of winking smilies will take away anger I feel when cows supporters use the word 'choker' to me. I did the honorable thing and refrained from gloating over the fact that your team embarrased themselves on a national stage in a game they and their supporters claimed was a sure thing. I guess it's quite acceptable to gain happiness from seeing the Power lose, just as I was delerious to see the cows get slaughtered and finish EIGHTH. However I bit my tongue and stopped myself from gloating on these boards out of respect for some of the cows supporters I have grown to like here. I have now decided to go back to an 'open slather' approach to criticising and abuse towards the cows and their supporters. It's probably better that way.
I'll apologise for personal abuse, but if you look back on previous posts, your son seems yo be copying your style.:rolleyes: ;)

ps. I don't know of any mercury problems around Seacliff, which is where I live.;)

Choker?

;)

The crows made the Choker label their own before Port came into the compettion.

Round 9, 1991
North Melbourne v Adelaide

Adelaide had led all night and seemingly had the match under control. Leading by 20 points at 3/4 time, the match was seemingly the crows. 2 goals up with 5 minutes to go....Enter Wayne Carey. He kicked 2 massive goals to put the Kangaroos up with a minute or two left...North win by 2 points.
18.12 120 to 18.10 118

Round 18, 1991
Adelaide v Sydney
Adelaide had control of the game yet could only get a few goals in front at any one time because of very poor kicking. The crows were up by 2 goals with 3 minutes left. Swans kicked a goal. With 25 seconds left on the clock, Chris Mcdermott took Barry Mitchell high in a ruck contest that went to ground 10m out from the Swans goal. Mitchell kick the goal, Swans win by 4 points in a game Adelaide should of won by 7-8 goals.
This meant the end of the Crows finals chances.
Sydney 19.8 122 to Crows 16.22 118

Round 14, 1992
Adelaide v Essendon
Adelaide had been in front for all of the game up till 3/4 time, where they led by 5 points. You would think Adelaide could hold on at home. But Essendon kick 10 goals to 2 in the last quarter to run away with a 8 goal win! Might not be the classic 'choke' but it still aint a good effort!
Essendon 21.10 136 to Crows 14.8 92

Semi Final 1993
Carlton v Adelaide
Adelaide had most of the play on the day but very poor kicking meant that they lost by only 3 goals. Straighter kicking would mean that Adelaide would of gone straight into the 93 Grand Final. Again, not a sterotype choke, but still one none the less.
Carlton 13.8 86 to Crows 8.20 68

Preliminary Final
Essendon v Adelaide
Well we all know about this one. This gave the crows the choker tag. 42 points up at half time in a Prelim final, yet only kick 2 last half goals. Essendon storm back thanx to Long and Bewick, and hit the lead in the last few minutes. Adeladie would not recover for another 4 years
Essendon 17.9 111 to Crows 14.16 100

Round 2 1994
West Coast v Adelaide
Adelaide had been in front for most of the 2nd and 4rd quarters, building up a 20 point lead at 3/4 time. Modra was shirtfronted by Worsfold which possibly was the turning point in the game. West Coast kick 7 goals to 1 in a storming last quarter to win by 3 goals!
West Coast 14.13 97 to Crows 11.12 78

Round 18 1994
Adelaide v Sydney
Sydney, having only won 2 games for the year and had to travel to footy park to face Adelaide who were without Modra. In a remarkable victory Sydney defeated Adelaide by 12 points which ended Adelaides finals chances. Surely a match they should of won. The first time where Crows supporters began to abuse and spit on players after the game.
Sydney 10.15 75 to Crows 13.9 87

Round 1 1995
North Melbourne v Adelaide
Crows had led all night against North Melbourne, with Rehn being best on ground. Adelaide were 2 goals up with only 3 minutes left. North kicked one goal, then McKernan got a free kick 70m out of goal. He booted the ball to the square where Anthony Rock soccered thru a goal with 30 seconds left to win the game for North Melbourne. Adelaide struggled for the rest of the year, and you must wonder if a great victory on this night would of changed their season.
North 11.13 79 to Crows 10.16 76

Round 5 1995
Sydney v Adelaide
Adelaide faced Sydney at the SCG in a must win game for the Crows. Crows were on top for all of the first 3 quarters holding a 3 goal lead to at 3/4 time. In an amazing turn of events Sydney kicked 11 goals 9 to just 1 behind ( a missed shot for goal by Greg Anderson) to turn a 3 goal deficit into a 9 goal victory! 20 scoring shots to 1 in a last quarter! Now THAT is a choke!
Sydney 20.24 144 to Crows 12.15 87

Round 8 1995
Adelaide v Fitzroy
Adelaide played Fitzroy at Footy Park on a saturday night. Crows struggled all night against Fitzroy who would win in a 9 goals to 2 final quarter. David Brown kicked the crows 7 points clear with 10 minutes left, but Fitzroy kicked the last 7 goals of the match to win by 33 points.
Fitzroy 15.9 99 to Crows 9.12 66

Round 15 1995
Carlton v Adelaide
Adelaide had control of the first half to lead by 3 goals at half time. In an almost typical Robert Shaw era Crows collapse Carlton kicked 12 goals to 4 in the last half to turn what was looking like a crows victory, into a 33 point win for the Blues.
Carlton 20.13 133 to Crows 15.10 100

Round 9 1996
Adelaide v West Coast
The turning point of the season. Crows were looking at a top 4 finals finish in teh first half of the year, after destroying a number of teams at home, and a few away...but the turning point was Mark Riccuitos bone crunching hip and shoulder on Dean Kemp. Crows were behind but in the game when the bump occured...then West Coast kicked 7-8 unanswered goals in reply to destroy the crows.
West Coast 19.16 130 to Crows 11.10 76

Round 10 1996
Hawthorn v Adelaide
Adelaide were 5 goals up during the 3rd quarter at Waverly, Hawthorn seemingly out of the game. Then the crows just stopped, and in that typical Shaw era collapse the Crows kicked 1 goal to Hawthorns 8 for the rest of the game...Hawthorn getting up late in the last quarter.
Hawthorn 16.12 108 to Crows 14.15 99

Round 13 1996
Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide again had control of the game against Melbourne (who had a very poor 1996)...Adelaide again had the Shaw era collapse by kicking only 4 goals in the last half...while Melbourne piled on 14.
Melbourne 19.9 123 to Crows 10.12 72

Round 15 1996
Carlton v Adelaide
Not a choke, but a collapse (same thing in my opinion). Carlton were only up by 2 goals at half time, but ran away with the game in the Shaw collapse fashion by kicking 11 goals to Crows 2 in the last half.
Carlton 19.17 131 to Crows 9.10 64

Round 18 1996
Geelong v Adelaide
Another choke. Adelaide led by 3 goals at 3/4 time after controlling the middle 2 quarters. In Robert Shaw collapse fashion the crows kicked 1 goal, whilst letting Geelong poor on 9 goals to allow a 15 point lead turn into a 35 point loss
Geelong 15.14 104 to Crows 10.9 69

Round 19 1996
Essendon v Adelaide
Another Shaw era collapse. 3 points in the game at 3/4 time, crows playing good footy...Essendon kick 8 goals to 3 to win by a large margin.
Essendon 21.17 143 to Crows 16.11 107

Round 20 1996
Adelaide v North Melbourne
Shocking conditions, Carey went off on stretcher yet rejoined 5 minutes later...Crows led at 3/4 by 4 points...North kicked 1.8 to 3 points to crawl over the line by 6 points.
North 10.16 76 to Crows 10.10 70

Thats all the crows chokes and collapses before Port came into the competition (6 seasons). Quite a lot if you ask me...especially in the Shaw era. Crows had almost a standard last half fade out in 1996. Happened a good 7-8 times in the last 12 games.

So dont give us Port fans this Choker crap...as it doesnt wash down....Crows have been JUST AS BAD at it as we have.

Im Impressed Macca

Thats amazing Macca!! Your a walking stat man. Perhaps I should of quantified that term with the wordFinals before it.

The Crows (and my memory is poor, but I do remember getting Chokers stagefright against Essendon in 1993) did choke that day.

All I can sy is Im glad I follow the Crows and not the Cows
:mad: