Opinion Non-Crows AFL 5: Save Ken

The other thing with Stan over Kayo, at least its Smart TV App is available on all TVs. I have a LG cant get Kayo so have to Chromecast it. Have a Samsung that has Kayo but with the Kayo upgrade about a year ago the TV can't update it.
Pretty sure you can get Kayo on LG now as an app. Has been there for a while.

Foxtel is great as long as you never deal with them…

My advice, if you want Fox Footy, get it through Kayo…never get stuck in Foxtel’s dragnet.

They are a pain in the ass to deal with, every year I have to negotiate with them for a "better deal". It's a complete waste of time and effort, but they intentionally do that so people just don't bother and pay the inflated monthly charge.

We have platinum or whatever it is called (it's the package with all channels) which they want to slug you about $130 for, but most years I manage after a lengthy phone call to get it for around $89-$99 a month.

If they lose the AFL rights, we might even consider getting rid of it. It's one of those things we've had for years, but now using it less and less each year. I only really watch the AFL, NBA and the NFL, but my wife uses it far more.

They are a pain in the ass to deal with, every year I have to negotiate with them for a "better deal". It's a complete waste of time and effort, but they intentionally do that so people just don't bother and pay the inflated monthly charge.

We have platinum or whatever it is called (it's the package with all channels) which they want to slug you about $130 for, but most years I manage after a lengthy phone call to get it for around $89-$99 a month.

If they lose the AFL rights, we might even consider getting rid of it. It's one of those things we've had for years, but now using it less and less each year. I only really watch the AFL, NBA and the NFL, but my wife uses it far more.

If you think they’ve been a pain in the arse so far, wait until you wanna cancel it!

I dumped Fox for Kayo this year.

It’s fine but theres potential for it to fail. Sometimes the app gets glitchy, I’ve also had crap a quality stream and buffering during a game once. Internet is fine. The dish felt a lot more stable.

And Foxtel are phasing out terrestrial options anyway. The iQ5 is predominantly internet only (though they will offer Satellite as a last resort). I've had the iQ5 for about 9 months, and it is far, far, far less stable than what cable was (plus you also get the 1-2 second delay you often get on streaming services).

I know Kayo is Foxtel but reading Froggys comments that it was only going to be streaming.

That’s ok for members but will be interesting to see the discount. Kayo at $27 is way too expensive when you compare to other streaming services.

I had it for $5 a month last year (discounted through my phone plan) and then they offered it for $15 per month this year....dont know what I will do if it is higher than that....I dont really use Kayo for anything else so its already a waste of money for me, at the same time, I live in Melbs so dont get to see Adelaide games as it is. Might revert to listening on the radio (and you cant even do that online!!).....might have to buy a radio!!!

I have Kayo for watching the AFL, V8 Supercars, F1 and Cricket. I also used to watch the WRC, but that's another of the sports which are no longer on Foxtel.

If Foxtel loses the AFL, then the other sports don't hold a strong enough attraction for me to justify paying the subscription. I suspect there are a LOT of customers in the same boat - both with Kayo and Foxtel.

The AFL is crucial to their entire business plan. Lose it, and they could easily lose 30-50% of their subscription base almost overnight. For that reason, Foxtel will do virtually anything to ensure that they retain the AFL rights. It's an existential issue for the whole company.

And Foxtel are phasing out terrestrial options anyway. The iQ5 is predominantly internet only (though they will offer Satellite as a last resort). I've had the iQ5 for about 9 months, and it is far, far, far less stable than what cable was (plus you also get the 1-2 second delay you often get on streaming services).

I am sure it will get better in time.

I remember the IQ4 being absolute garbage when it first launched and it took a multitude of firmware updates over a couple of years for Foxtel to finally get it sorted out.

We had cable for years, but with the NBN taking over the old Telstra cable network we've gone to satellite and honestly I would prefer to keep it over going to streaming.

Can anyone explain the “Firestick”?
Sounds like a solution from the little I’ve heard about it.
Sounds like something from one of our preseason camps.

i just use the chat option on the Foxtel app the get my discount, saves a phone call and get it done a lot quicker

If you think they’ve been a pain in the arse so far, wait until you wanna cancel it!

I've done the game before with them.

It's pretty much the best way to get a decent price each year is by going down that path by phoning them asking to cancel. A few days later someone from the retention team phones you and literally begs you to stay which is how you negotiate to ensure that you're paying the best price each year and not the standard price.

It's annoying, but you can save up to 30-40 a month by doing it so it's worth the exercise.

If those lose the AFL rights though they might find that there's no way to keep me as a customer.

The ****n flogs ring you constantly for years after you do finally cancel a plan with them.. harrassing you to come back..

I ended up having to threaten them with legal action to stop the phone calls from them.

Each time I’d demand they put my number on a “no call” list and I’d block the number.. but they’d simply ring me again using a different number.

Shit company to deal with.

Thinking about it a bit more... if Foxtel loses the AFL, then it's likely to affect a whole lot of other sports as well - most notably cricket.

If Foxtel loses the AFL, and with it 30-50% of their subscriber base - then that's 30-50% fewer viewers for the matches which CA have sold to Foxtel (most notably the T20Is and ODIs). Given that exposure for these games is already minimal, they really will be "out of sight, out of mind", and I would expect both attendances and TV viewer numbers to plummet as a result.

The same goes for any other sport which have allowed themselves to become hostages to Foxtel, and who stand to lose significantly if the AFL walks away from Foxtel. This isn't an issue for NRL, or international sports (e.g. F1), but any other domestic sports which are dependent on Foxtel for their TV coverage. Cricket is likely to be the biggest loser, but I doubt it would be the only one.

The *n flogs ring you constantly for years after you do finally cancel a plan with them.. harrassing you to come back..

I ended up having to threaten them with legal action to stop the phone calls from them.

Each time I’d demand they put my number on a “no call” list and I’d block the number.. but they’d simply ring me again using a different number.

s**t company to deal with.

Few years back I cancelled it for my folks (massive ordeal over the phone, stuff of nightmares), returned the box etc.…

Folks realized a few weeks later they were still deducting payments. Had to block them through the bank

I think Foxtel know that their future isn't in the cable/sattelite service.

You can get most of what Foxtel offers across their Kayo, Flash News and Binge apps.

But for them to transition across to an subscription/app based business I think Kayo being a success is almost 100% dependent on AFL football, I know they give me offers at the end of the footy season every year to try and retain my business over the summer. So I'm sure these late bids are just about driving the price up, I can't see Foxtel missing out.

I think we'll lose the local broadcast on 7 for all of our games, I read maybe they'll all be on 2 hour delay on 7Mate at best, sounds like Foxtel want to own Saturdays, including Saturday night football. I wonder if this means Thursday nights will become more frequent, surely 7 want more than 2 games a week.

Josh Jenkins tweeting that the deal is done with 7 and fox