Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread X

• Thread starter Thread starter Doss

Serious question and not solely based on this game. Is Johnathan Brown overrated?

I don't think he is in the top 10 forwards of his era.
I think he's been massively overrated.

I think all of the following have had better careers during the same era:

Pavlich
Tredrea
Richardson
N Riewoldt
Hall

And I think Franklin and Cloke could well overtake him by the end of their careers; in fact Buddy already arguably has.

I'm not even including Fevola and Lloyd, either.

Pavlich
Tredrea
Richardson
J Riewoldt
Hall

And I think Franklin and Cloke could well overtake him by the end of their careers; in fact Buddy already arguably has.

I'm not even including Fevola and Lloyd, either.
wat

Pavlich
Tredrea
Richardson
J Riewoldt
Hall

Brown did peak early. 3 premierships by the time he was 22 gave people a belief he was going to be one of the all time greats.

He was only AA twice (2007 - 2009) so you have a case, but a three time club best and fairest could have a case to be one of the best of this century (not that there has been many true 'greats' as yet).

Listening to SEN and the collingwood supporters are sooking about the lack of frees for Cloke and the scragging tactics of Lonergan, but Josh Gisbon was praised last week with his performance on Daniher which was similar.
Worse than that is the fact that Collingwood supporters over the last 5 years have cheered on Reid, O'Brien, Tarrant, Maxwell and Jolly as they all blatantly cheated on a weekly basis.

Are Geelong as good as everyone says they are?

I personally don't think they have that air of invincibility that they once had. They may still have the stars like Stevie J, Selwood, Bartell but they are still allowing even mediocre sides (yes, that includes you Collingwood) into games they should be putting them away in.

The future does look ok for them with the next gen Cats kids looking the goods at this early stage. Duncan, Guthrie, Motlop, Christensen all have played some good footy already. Add in Murdoch, Thurlow, Sheringham, McCarthy, Walker, Kolodjshjni and the future looks ok.

Are Geelong as good as everyone says they are?

I personally don't think they have that air of invincibility that they once had. They may still have the stars like Stevie J, Selwood, Bartell but they are still allowing even mediocre sides (yes, that includes you Collingwood) into games they should be putting them away in.

The future does look ok for them with the next gen Cats kids looking the goods at this early stage. Duncan, Guthrie, Motlop, Christensen all have played some good footy already. Add in Murdoch, Thurlow, Sheringham, McCarthy, Walker, Kolodjshjni and the future looks ok.

Geelong has had a pretty easy run the first 3 rounds. Two sides who haven't won a game and the pies who are just like the ones you get at the MCG, cold most of the time.

I'd also be shocked if any of Essendon, Fremantle, Geelong, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide or West Coast miss the finals. That leaves 2 spots for the rest, with Sydney and Richmond/Gold Coast/North the likely chances.

Geelong has had a pretty easy run the first 3 rounds. Two sides who haven't won a game and the pies who are just like the ones you get at the MCG, cold most of the time.
They should smash WC this week too.

Really looking forward to the Geel WC game - see how it pans out. Not sure what to think of either TBO.

Cant tell me Collingwood are close to the cats though, surely not?

Playing WC at Skilled? Most likely they would. WC are just a fill in team for the 8.
WC may make the 8, purely on a soft draw and the fact they should win most games at home. Other than that, they appear to be very flimsy with a weak midfield and almost no midfield depth.

I'd also be shocked if any of Essendon, Fremantle, Geelong, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide or West Coast miss the finals. That leaves 2 spots for the rest, with Sydney and Richmond/Gold Coast/North the likely chances.

Not convinced on these two. Both, with an injury run, are potential spirallers I reckon.

Port - needs time people have got excited too quickly. Their two wins, Carlton and Adelaide in hindsight dont look half as good as they did at the time.

I think Adelaide and Carlton are much, much worse than the general population is giving them credit for.

Sydney is the interesting one.

I think we've massive underrated how bad Watters was and therefore how big an impact Richardson was going to have.
Funny how Nick Riewoldt's had amazing form either side of Watters' tenure isn't it.

Not convinced on these two. Both, with an injury run, are potential spirallers I reckon.

Port - needs time people have got excited too quickly. Their two wins, Carlton and Adelaide in hindsight dont look half as good as they did at the time.

I think Adelaide and Carlton are much, much worse than the general population is giving them credit for.

Sydney is the interesting one.

I'm sold on Port. Yesterday was a bad result for them, but North are a team who I rated as a genuine top 4 contender if Scott was given a back seat in the tactics department and let Tudor and Brown take over. That clearly hasn't happened, but they're more than capable on their day. What I'm very much convinced of, however, is that Ken Hinkley is the sort of coach who will have his team learn exactly what they did wrong yesterday, and not repeat it.

West Coast will win enough games at Subi and away to the dross floating around the league to qualify. As far as I'm concerned, their midfield isn't good enough at the top end nor deep enough to compete right into September but they'll beat up on the teams below them and get a few big scalps, especially at Subi.

Funny how Nick Riewoldt's had amazing form either side of Watters' tenure isn't it.

I hadn't considered the impact on individual players, but you're spot on.

So, Mick's last 3 assistants at Collingwood: 2 sacked from arguably the two worst clubs in the AFL, the only one left is crippling his club.

Buckley or B. Scott?