Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread X

• Thread starter Thread starter Doss

I reckon they will.

They have best balance in scoring power and defence in the league.
I also think they will. They are a champion side, and as much as I hate Hawthorn, they wouldn't be undeserving to go back-to-back-to-back.

Yeah people can tip other teams, but to put a line through them altogether is ridiculous.

I also think they will. They are a champion side, and as much as I hate Hawthorn, they wouldn't be undeserving to go back-to-back-to-back.

Yeah people can tip other teams, but to put a line through them altogether is ridiculous.

I get bloody jealous lol what's hurts even more is my best mate barracks for them so i have to put up with his gloating on how good they are.

The average age of their midfield is like 45.
They've strengthened their defence with the signing of James Frawley, their forward line is still the best in the league and their midfield might be aging but they are champions (Mitchell, Hodge, Lewis, Burgoyne) and there is still plenty of young ones that will get plenty of game time next season (Hill, Smith, Anderson, Shiels, Langford and potentially O'Rourke).

Whether they'll win it or not is a matter of opinion, but to straight rule it out is crazy talk.

They've strengthened their defence with the signing of James Frawley, their forward line is still the best in the league and their midfield might be aging but they are champions (Mitchell, Hodge, Lewis, Burgoyne) and there is still plenty of young ones that will get plenty of game time next season (Hill, Smith, Anderson, Langford and potentially O'Rourke).

Whether they'll win it or not is a matter of opinion, but to straight rule it out is crazy talk.
Their defence is probably the most overrated in the league (many people talking it up as the best, not as good as Sydney, Freo's, Ports and even ours and North's), the average age of the 6 starting mids (McEvoy, Mitchell, Burgoyne, Lewis, Hodge, Smith) on January 1 will be 28. Their forward line is awesome and I wish we were half as good as it but for me, Sydney's midfield won't be close to how terrible they were this year. But I can see their quality and they're a top 4 team, which puts them in contention, but just quietly, Ryder's addition makes Port a lot more potent up forward and more stable in defence, along with Boak, Hartlett, Ebert, Polec, Wines, Gray and Wingard either in their prime or just entering it makes them look seriously strong. Their forward line would be:

Wingard - Westhoff - Gray
Monfries - Schulz - Ryder

That'd rival Hawthorn and Sydney as the best forward line in the AFL. I seriously rate them.

once the asada shit blows off essendon and the hawks supplements program is investigated they will capitulate into nothingness

Haha that will be funny the club that brought you Brent "I'll just lay here doc and you inject me with what ever" Guerra. Also we'll get Hawthorn player managers to break their clients contract EFC could do with a Luke Hodge or Jack Gunston.

Only eth could discount the best team of the last five years from winning the premiership.

I have discounted Hawthorn - They have an ageing midfield, and I doubt this can get them over the line. I think they a chance to miss the Top 4.

I think a lot of people doubt Hawthorn's three-peat credentials based on how hard it is to do, especially in the modern game. Just think about how often it happens in any sport. A merger was the last one to occur in the AFL just 11 years ago and before that you have to go back to Melbourne's in the 1950's. So while history might not mean too much in preventing one, we're not exactly due for another three-peat, which puts doubts into the minds of some.

While that is technically correct, I think the scientific management of teams has reached a point that maintaining a high level of performance is more possible than it was at any previous time in the game's history. That and free agency meaning the Hawks have been able to top up their list with ease compared with other clubs.

I mean, they are obv a dog vs the field to win again. Not exactly going out on a limb to say that, especially when there are at least two obvious really talented teams + whatever else will pop up and then all the variance involved in finals footy. I'll buy into that more than I'll buy into "old man team finished, look at some of their weaknesses!" considering the biggest strength of theirs is their coaching and how well they execute what they want to do vs individual talent on paper.

Wow, how quickly people forget the absolute dominant GF win against a well manned, well drilled (and bookie favourite) Sydney.

Pretty good effort for a team who less than 20 years ago were borderline close to merging
Just goes to show that a professionally run club can become anything. Chuck out the boys clubs and dead wood and let people who actually know what they're doing come in and do the job.

Back to back to back, I meant.

Its not inconceivable when you look at their best 22 and the average age/game across the team.

HB: Matthew Suckling 25, 54 games, Josh Gibson 29, 148 games, Grant Birchall 25,169 games

C: Isaac Smith 24, 62 games, Sam Mitchell 31, 245 games, Brandon Hill 20, 29 games

HF: Luke Breust 23, 66 games, Jarryd Roughead 26, 184 games, Cyril Rioli 24, 121 games

F: Paul Puopolo 26, 63 games, Jack Gunston 22, 56 games, David Hale 29, 197 games

FOLL: Ben McEvoy 24, 91 games, Jordan Lewis 27, 193 games, Luke Hodge 29, 228 games

I/C: Liam Shiels 22, 81 games, Brendan Whitecross 23, 84 games, Ryan Schoenmakers 23, 64 games (sub is who ever they really want)

3 guys in there best 22 who are 28 or over and may need replacing in the next 24 months. Not bad and bodes well for the immediate future.

Its not inconceivable when you look at their best 22 and the average age/game across the team.

HB: Matthew Suckling 25, 54 games, Josh Gibson 29, 148 games, Grant Birchall 25,169 games

C: Isaac Smith 24, 62 games, Sam Mitchell 31, 245 games, Brandon Hill 20, 29 games

HF: Luke Breust 23, 66 games, Jarryd Roughead 26, 184 games, Cyril Rioli 24, 121 games

F: Paul Puopolo 26, 63 games, Jack Gunston 22, 56 games, David Hale 29, 197 games

FOLL: Ben McEvoy 24, 91 games, Jordan Lewis 27, 193 games, Luke Hodge 29, 228 games

I/C: Liam Shiels 22, 81 games, Brendan Whitecross 23, 84 games, Ryan Schoenmakers 23, 64 games (sub is who ever they really want)

3 guys in there best 22 who are 28 or over and may need replacing in the next 24 months. Not bad and bodes well for the immediate future.
Hale, Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis, Gibson, Lake, Burgoyne, Roughead are all going to be 28 or older at the start of next season. That's 1/3 of their best 22, to say that their list isn't old is just plain incorrect.

My numbers were from the start of this season. Still, to be fair, the guys needing to be replaced are still going to be 3 years away.

Still plenty of good football in 28-30 year olds. If those guys were pushing 33-35 and the young talent wasn't coming through to replace them there would be some question marks but everything we've seen suggests the Hawks have ridiculous depth.