Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2023, part I

I think a fair summation is to avoid traffic jams around Bellerive 6-7 times a year the AFL demanded that the state and federal government commit to the biggest infrastructure project in Tasmanian history. Over 2% of GDP on a shrine to Gillon McLachlan is pretty steep!

The Fed's have already handed over $240 million, but Gillon has made it clear that the AFL's $15 million won't be handed over if the stadium is nixed.

The government had two cross the floor over the issue, and lost its majority in the process.

People are screaming that the $240 million should be re-allocated, as too the government's promise of $375 million.
So silly. The $240m isn't going to another Tassie cause.

Can someone give me the 30 second version of the basis for opposing the new Hobart stadium? I have not been following. Seems bizarre.

Its seems most a lot of anti sentiment revolves around the money , commitment to over costs, being forced to build it by the mainland afl and I think because its in Hobart ..people in Launceston ... are unimpressed by its location...

The over run thing is fair enough ..whens the last stadium built that went close to the original cost estimate.

All this for a stadium thats still on 23,000? Is Coldplay going to Hobart to play in a 23,000 stadium? Bit smaller than the wa stadium.

Its seems most a lot of anti sentiment revolves around the money , commitment to over costs, being forced to build it by the mainland afl and I think because its in Hobart ..people in Launceston ... are unimpressed by its location...

The over run thing is fair enough ..whens the last stadium built that went close to the original cost estimate.

All this for a stadium thats still on 23,000? Is Coldplay going to Hobart to play in a 23,000 stadium? Bit smaller than the wa stadium.

Only a population of @ 545k, of which less than 300k are taxpayers.

An overrun is inevitable......and must be borne by the Tasmanian taxpayer. I think that's the salt in the wound for them.

I can understand their frustration though. Housing shortages there are out of control and no one can afford to build.

People have enough circuses, they need bread
Let them eat cake!

Only a population of @ 545k, of which less than 300k are taxpayers.

Population of Geelong . under 300G. Stadium will soon be a capacity of 36,000+

Soem down there need to have a bit of future thought. Some confidence in what this might do for them. Gees its a state not a town..

.... but I think some like it that way ... and they call Geelong sleepy hollow:rolleyes:

I think there are a lot of people down there that are happy with dial up internet , amazed with the brick phones in their cars .... and on the radio still at #1 ....

An overrun is inevitable......and must be borne by the Tasmanian taxpayer. I think that's the salt in the wound for them.

... but who's stadium is it? Some might say they should be happy to pay ..it is after all the state that will benefit.

To me the afl would be better off adding a team in WA and SA .... stadium already there ...get extra game..... add Tassy ..and you get zero extra games ... and they will be raiding everyones team

Population of Geelong . under 300G. Stadium will soon be a capacity of 36,000+

Soem down there need to have a bit of future thought. Some confidence in what this might do for them. Gees its a state not a town..

.... but I think some like it that way ... and they call Geelong sleepy hollow:rolleyes:

I think there are a lot of people down there that are happy with dial up internet , amazed with the brick phones in their cars .... and on the radio still at #1 ....

You'd be pleasantly surprised I reckon, but like everywhere else, house values and rent have exploded, whilst traditionally having one of the highest unemployment rates, more expensive fuel etc.

As a result, I think they're a bit more sensitive about how and where money is spent.

... but who's stadium is it? Some might say they should be happy to pay ..it is after all the state that will benefit.

To me the afl would be better off adding a team in WA and SA .... stadium already there ...get extra game..... add Tassy ..and you get zero extra games ... and they will be raiding everyones team

Will definitely have to raid other teams and draft picks.

The quality of footy in Tassie is not where it used to be, as clubs have amalgamated and competitions become defunct with a lack of players and interest.

You'd be pleasantly surprised I reckon, but like everywhere else, house values and rent have exploded, whilst traditionally having one of the highest unemployment rates, more expensive fuel etc.

As a result, I think they're a bit more sensitive about how and where money is spent.

Don't you think someone might have brought this up before now? Like I said earlier.... if and when the opposition get into gov... my guess is they go into save the team mode. They want it all on their own terms....

Housing is more expensive in Hobart than in Adelaide and Perth

When I moved from SA to Hobart at the start of 2018 rent was over 50% higher for a comparable property

They have had supply issues for over 5 years. COVID has hit supply around the rest of Australia but Hobart has copped it x 2, once before COVID, once after like everywhere else

Don't you think someone might have brought this up before now? Like I said earlier.... if and when the opposition get into gov... my guess is they go into save the team mode. They want it all on their own terms....

I think there were voices against it from the start, but they really became vocal when Albanese landed in town.

It's politics. Was always going to happen.

Don't know how it'll play out. Will be interesting.

Can someone give me the 30 second version of the basis for opposing the new Hobart stadium? I have not been following. Seems bizarre.
Not 30 seconds but if one can sift the maze of political detritus .to me they want it to crash and burn. The opponents have no real solution..they just want to "black hat" the afl. Its as if the afl are the ones who were desperate for it.

Look Im not saying the stadium that has been projected is perfect.. sounds small for a brand new stadium. Gees its just over half of what KP woudl be. My guess they have not told tehm down there how mucha seat would be to make money at that level of max attendance.

The issues on RSL etc ..I have no idea ..or the 12 years scare thing.

The dumb thing for me is that an AFL team in Tassie is going to struggle initially, so crowds might not be massive. Why not use the first 5 years of their existence playing at their existing grounds? Spend the money making the grounds suitable for night games. They both house 19k or so for attendances, wasn't an issue to have GWS play finals on their smol ground why would it be an issue for Tassie?

I think they'll actually sell out games from day 1.

If they are getting battered, which judging by GWS/GC/Freo initial season, its the attendances mid season when it gets cold that are the ones to watch for.

Their first month would sell out a 40k stadium.