Olympic Basketball Thread

This is a great result for the Boomers. They've beaten the teams they meant to, lost to those they were expected to lose to, and now beaten a highly rated opponent that not many would have expected to win.

So while it would have been nice to avoid the US until later, i think it's great we get to play them. Theres only so many times a young aussie basketballer can get his name in front of NBA scouts and playing against the yanks is probably the best chance they'll ever get to impress.

Guys like Delly who is a chance to be drafted next year can really set himself up with a good game, Ingles, Baynes and Newley to a lesser extent could almost play themselves onto a bench somewhere and an opportunity.

C'MON Boomers!

The old champion from Lithuania Sarunas Jasikevicus apparently dragged the Lithuanian's over the line, I didn't watch it so i can't comment a whole lot. Pretty sure it is his 4th Olympics, great work from the old fella.

Jasikevičius is an absolute star and was the clear MVP but I'd say the introduction of Songaila in the second half had a lot to do with their resurgence too. Jasaitis went onto a three point scoring spree, Tunisians tired badly as the game went on and gave away plenty of fouls, the rest as they say is history.
It was an incredibly poor start for such a well-drilled outfit, they won't be able to afford to have 9 turnovers in the first quarter against the Russians.

Nigeria gave France a bit of a scare too, after looking like they were going to romp away with it early on.

jasikevicus is one of my all time favourite Pacers.

GOD I HATE IT WHEN COMMENTATORS REFER TO TEAM USA AS THE DREAM TEAM

no one will come close to usa. they just explode when they want to.

teams will live and die by the 3 ball....

and if they wanna try and be like usa they will struggle. no one has the same athleticism as them.
gee pete. really sticking your neck out there mate. us to win the olympic mens basketball gold. it's a big call.... ;)

my other prediction was that the 100m final would not be watched by and utah jazz fan.

100% strike rate.

did you see melo fold over after getting hit in the jatz crackers?

and if they wanna try and be like usa they will struggle. no one has the same athleticism as them.
France and Spain have good athletes on their respective teams... But yeah, not as elite as them Americans!

Basketball has turned into a joke at the Olympics. Tanking is rife as teams set themselves up so they try to avoid playing the US before the gold medal match. If these allegations are proved true (and they sure look like it) Basketball should be removed from the next olympics as punsihment.

Actually i'd say the Mens basketball tournament has been great. the standard of games i've seen has been really high and it really is a very open race. sure the USA will probably win gold and most teams would rather not play them, but that just needs a change of format somehow.

so having now fallen for the ignorant footy is the best troll attempt......

the 3 ball is our only chance, and your last point is why i think we'll really struggle.

our half court game has been pretty stagnant (except for the delly to baynes lob, which has become like that go to move in NBALive where you find something that works and then repeat over and over again until you're bored of playing and quit), and we've clearly looked best when out and running, and pressuring the ball carrier. getting into an up and down game against the yanks though is suicide.

Got lucky clicking through channels the other day, saw the Russian flags waving and thought the bastrds must've come back and won it.
Then i see there's 4 seconds left so i do the aussie thing and keep watching till it's done and was quite happy enough to get up and jump as the three pointer went through.
Some good clicking i reckon.

Walshy having a good old tirade on ABC radio having a go at teams not trying their best to win in order to get the opposition of their choice

opals trail our south east asian overlords by 1 at the break

the camera spotted patty mills in the crowd at the game

oh and how great is the booby prize for the boomers? hit a game winning trey against russia, be the next team for team usa to beat up

the boomers wont be as bad as nigeria, but the nigerians might have successfully scammed a few of team usa out of their millions :rolleyes:

The beauty of Olympics Basketball is we won't win a medal but we get to play the Dream Team which is probably what it's all about for most of the NBL contingent. We get a real depiction of where we sit globally and possibly a few of our players get noticed. It's win-win

Olympic Basketball Thread