One good thing

Something tells me that Carlton will enter this game as favourites with the wind in their sails following Judds return and the media sentiment well and truly against what will be close enough to a full strength tiger outfit. I know the tiges well enough that I prefer it this way.:eek:..we are shockers when the support is all over us, a rush of blood goes to the heads perhaps...Let the Blues have favourtism...Then Eat'em alive:thumbsu:

Agreed that this is 1 of the 4 games I would like to see us win this year. When was the last time we won a round 1 match? 2004?

We won't win. The Blues play their best footy early in the season and with Judd, how can they not perform?

We'll lose by 5-6 goals.

PS - Not trying to turn this into a negative but we all know deep down but obviously don't want admit it 'cause its so freakin' depressing.

We won't win. The Blues play their best footy early in the season and with Judd, how can they not perform?

We'll lose by 5-6 goals.

PS - Not trying to turn this into a negative but we all know deep down but obviously don't want admit it 'cause its so freakin' depressing.
Sadly Sante you're in the minority, and the thing is our fellow supporters will give you crap because you choose to see the truth rather than look at the side with blind optimism.

We'll lose by 5-6 goals.

The blues haven't fired this preseason. I expect us to win as long as we put Polo, Newman, Jacko, King, Lids and Cogs in the middle to help out Foley and Tuck. I don't want to see any of this Johnson, Raines, Tivendale, Pettifer in the middle. I want to see actual ball winners and taggers who are hard nuts and suited to the middle. If we don't play the right players in the middle we will throw this game away

Sadly Sante you're in the minority, and the thing is our fellow supporters will give you crap because you choose to see the truth rather than look at the side with blind optimism.

I hope like hell we'll win of course and I for one am not going to stop buying my membership but playing Carlton first up with Judd to debut is a huge task, the only side that could beat them would probably be Geelong.

The blues haven't fired this preseason. I expect us to win as long as we put Polo, Newman, Jacko, King, Lids and Cogs in the middle to help out Foley and Tuck. I don't want to see any of this Johnson, Raines, Tivendale, Pettifer in the middle. I want to see actual ball winners and taggers who are hard nuts and suited to the middle. If we don't play the right players in the middle we will throw this game away

You know that won't happen...

Although, I have a feeling Raines won't be there Round 1.

Mad you ar correct pettifer is a HFF, not a midfielder, johnson is aleft right out, raines im not sure about but i do know he cant find a teamate, i still think we will win but not by much, the tankers have already won this game in their heads so will be overconfident.

At least i hope so

If you think about it, we can beat Carlton and then we play Kangas and Collingwood.
We should win at least 2 of those games, or else we're crap like last year, thats just my opinion, because we always beat The Pies, Kangas will be crap and we can beat Carlton.
Winning them would surely give us a momentum boost and we can hopefully show something this year.

I hope like hell we'll win of course and I for one am not going to stop buying my membership but playing Carlton first up with Judd to debut is a huge task, the only side that could beat them would probably be Geelong.
Mate I hope that we win too but if we lose I wont be slashing my wrists either, for the simple reason that losing to Carlton might just wake a few people up to the reality of the situation. That is we are not as good as everyone thought we were.

channel 10 are doing their upmost best to build the game up... i am going, tickets been booked for three weeks... it will be a corker of a game with 60,000+ there... weather pending...

I am expecting to see some poor skills and frsutrating over ball use but I think with both sides having average backlines I reckon a 30+ goal game is to be expected... which should make it a decent spectical...