OT: Where Do You Work???

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

Worked in IT for years, first in Adelaide then did a year in Canada both with large IT outsourcing company.

Went to teach English in Korea for something a little different as exploring teaching (and asia) was an itch I just had to scratch. It was okay but not good enough to be 'career changing'.

To keep on travelling, make some money again and bet back into IT I am now working as a IT Business Analyst for one of the big london banks.

Money here seems ridiculous and I'm only at the ground level given I didn't really have much finance experience on the resume before I got here. Just got a contract extension and raise to be earning 1000AUD a day which I know is nothing compared to figures Crow-Mo and co are probably looking at but still getting my head around it myself!

good for you.

there is a lot more money than that to be made in the big banks, keep up the good work and you'll do very, very well :thumbsu:

So a lot of Tasmanians live there as well. :eek:

So now I know why a certain someone loves it there. :p

as usual that makes no sense. but if you're referring to me, I live there so I can have half a dozen midget markthirtytwo's on hand to clean my car, my shoes and make me drinks ;)

nah, I think a lot of is cheaper than in Adelaide, and nearly all of it is no more than sydney.

What has really suprised me about London is the cost difference between eating IN and eating OUT. In Adelaide its not dramatic and and the food is, quite frankly, about the best value eating out I've seen nearly anywhere in the world.

In London, my GF and I can do a regular weekly grocery shop where we end up buying enough meat for probably 2 weeks and pay around 50 to 60 quid. Fruit and veg in particular are dirt dirt dirt cheap. Especially if you're earning pounds ;)

However, you eat out and can easily blow the same amount of money on a meal that really isn't that great.

Then you look at things like books, shoes, clothes etc. All as cheap if not cheaper (once you do the conversion) in London than even in Adelaide. New paperback in Adelaide, I'm gonna guess is what 15 to 18 bucks these days? In London 5 to 6 quid. New pair of Reekboks? In Adelaide I assume over 100 bucks easily. In London 40quid would probably do you fine. And then you think about the fact you're earning quid as well.. and it starts to really look nice :)

Rent WILL kill you though if you think about it too much. Especially when you have to pay 10 weeks up front (6weeks bond). If you're not sharing just assume anywhere not too far out of the city is gonna be 500aud a week.

Seriously, anyone with some IT experience and looking to travel through Europe should really consider working and living in London. Finance industry experience will help but I didn't have much and took the first job I could get in 2 weeks.. and that was with a year out of the industry living in Korea.

as usual that makes no sense. but if you're referring to me, I live there so I can have half a dozen midget markthirtytwo's on hand to clean my car, my shoes and make me drinks ;)

You, you, you. All you think about is you. Why would I want to go to the trouble in talking about you. But if it makes you feel like a big man ok then it's all about you. OK?

Now where is that Crow--mo mini-me. Oops that is you, sorry.

I work for Synovate, we're a research company, paid by big companies to get their customer's feedback. Easy work, great pay...

You, you, you. All you think about is you. Why would I want to go to the trouble in talking about you. But if it makes you feel like a big man ok then it's all about you. OK?

Now where is that Crow--mo mini-me. Oops that is you, sorry.

chop chop... gin and tonic my dear boy...

This is an amazingly embarrassing way to out my true identity ...

There's a thing in this weeks advertiser on me and my work - LINK

You have been well and truly uncovered Kristof, but well done on the festival. Sounds like a great idea and nice to see that two shows have made it to Broadway which I gather was your main aim of it.

Fantastic stuff Kristof. I'm sure many things would be better to see than Dracula the musical which I saw there a few years back :P

Seriously though, you wouldn't think a similar idea would work in London's West End?

How do you keep in touch with your footy?

Fantastic stuff Kristof. I'm sure many things would be better to see than Dracula the musical which I saw there a few years back :P

Seriously though, you wouldn't think a similar idea would work in London's West End?

How do you keep in touch with your footy?

I keep in touch with my footy through this board, mostly (so stick that up your jumper, Rooch).

The musical theatre scene in London isn't quite as positive as it seems - there is very little entrepreneurialship shown there, and there is a lot of exasperation with the lack of support that the second-tier or independent side of the industry receives. If you want to be in a musical, it makes sense being in London, but if you want to create a musical you still need to be in NYC.

And Dracula was t-e-r-r-i-b-l-e ...

I keep in touch with my footy through this board, mostly (so stick that up your jumper, Rooch).

The musical theatre scene in London isn't quite as positive as it seems - there is very little entrepreneurialship shown there, and there is a lot of exasperation with the lack of support that the second-tier or independent side of the industry receives. If you want to be in a musical, it makes sense being in London, but if you want to create a musical you still need to be in NYC.

And Dracula was t-e-r-r-i-b-l-e ...

Cracks me up to keep seeing Aussie soapie stars getting gigs in the west end because the POMS love a good 30mins of Neighbours or Home and Away.

For those that care Tina Arena just took the role of Roxie in Chicago.

Dracula was worse than terrible mate. I only had the 9 days in NY and set aside just one night for Broadway. Lined up at the TKTS box and it 'seemed' the best of what was left. I still wonder if I can claim I've seen a show on Broadway or not!

I did get to see Stomp off broadway though. Fantastic show. Need to get to it here in London now too.

Keep up the good work mate. I get 24hr delayed match replays from afl.com.au. Not sure if that would interest you but the quality is good enough to recognise the players if you know them :)

pwned. :thumbsu:

All is not lost though - I'll have to dig up the footage of me eating at McDonalds ten years ago. :o