Our Phantom Draft

Hunt_Express said:
i expect shannon hurn to go around pick 2. Reason being that he is as good as griffen if not better. Shannon hurn is a fantastic mark and is quicker than griffen. Shannon Hurn has played with centrals in this years league SANFL Premiership. Is AFL ready in 2006 where as ellis has school comitments.

hoo cares wat u tihnk. if we wanted to know about hurn we woulda looked at a hurn thread

desie said:
I'm not trying to be critical as I can see you didn't have a North person to do the picks, but the last thing we need is yet another half back flanker like Toovey.

Whoever is doing picks 43 & 45, FWIW Laidley has stated we'll be drafting a developing ruckman at some stage. A midfielder with a bit of toe would be a good get for us as well ;)

Cheers
Whilst i certainly don't claim to be an authority on the Roos list, i had a browse through the Roos board and the impression i got was that you have a lot of small running type HB's who are more attacking than accountable, also i see a need to bring someone in to replace Colbert and Archer, Toovey seemed to fit that bill, Grima was the next choice and i think he is a fantastic get to replace Rocca and great security if Chad Jones doesn't come on.

Not sure why this thread is stickied, because it doesn't deserve to be. Certainly no more compelling or authoritative than any other phantom draft game posted on this site.

Pharaoh said:
Not sure why this thread is stickied, because it doesn't deserve to be. Certainly no more compelling or authoritative than any other phantom draft game posted on this site.
Complaining, complaining, complaining.

No offence, but ******** off if you aren't happy. If you are going to be the master of negativity simply don't visit here. I wonder what drives some people to post sometimes, if that's all you have to offer then you won't be missed if you choose to stay away. For the 16 people who are involved in this 'game', its clearly easier for the thread to be stickied and the moderators of Bigfooty obviously feel the same.

if it wasnt compelling, why would it have 3 or more club sites talking about it, aswell as 6 pages of replies in the space of 4-5 days? Here here footyman,. it is a great concept, and everyone is involved. It puts the hwhole thing into perspective,and could very well be the story behind wat goes on i9n the real draft (order of picks that is,, comparing them, how accurate etc)

It's a great concept and looks to be going like a steam train. Congrats Mission and co for getting it up and going. As much as I enjoy reading all the other mock drafts this one has a touch of reality to it.

Thumbs up.

johnson_26 said:
if it wasnt compelling, why would it have 3 or more club sites talking about it, aswell as 6 pages of replies in the space of 4-5 days? Here here footyman,. it is a great concept, and everyone is involved. It puts the hwhole thing into perspective,and could very well be the story behind wat goes on i9n the real draft (order of picks that is,, comparing them, how accurate etc)
Exactly.

I know in brief discussions with Groves regarding Footydraft for next year there is talk of including more interactive features to involve fans on there and create these sorts of drafts, or allow them to post comments and what not so this is a good test of how that sort of thing would work.

adelaide board is talkin about it,, collingwood just started one up ;) im sure there'll be a few others. teh Adelaide forum has been nothign more than excited and open to discussion/ suggestions for their intended picks, and helping out the person doing it for them. they are enjoying the concept, liek everyone else

can everyone give me their prefferred choice for the remaining picks, I will let you know if someone above you has picked that play.

It appears by the choices coming through that there wont be to many clashes.

I am off to bed now, tomorrow I am at a conference so I hope i will be able to finalise this draft.

Would we all be interested in following this up with a rookie draft? Just so we all get a chance to use our smokies?

trashos mob said:
hoo cares wat u tihnk. if we wanted to know about hurn we woulda looked at a hurn thread

well trashos mob people like you who know nothing about footy might want to look at that post. Also this is a phantom draft thread and maybe shannon hurn is in that phantom draft. Maybe trashos mob u should look were u post in future.

Mission, you have the Hawks down for picks #65 & 71, i believe or last remaining pick is #70.

The rule of this mock draft is that the participants are the club recruiters and we pick according to our assessment of each club and not what the club's recruiters may do on the day. But as it turned out it will be interesting to see what happens on the actual draft day.

I concur with the sentiments expressed by the participants. This draft is as close to the real thing as any mock draft games here on BF. All the complications and emotions re players and their relative values vs: Club's needs and wants are being experienced. In my case for Brisbane pick 9 was easy. Went for the best available in Mitch Clark. We have just delisted two talls in Spaanderman and MacLaren and we've got Keating very likely in his last year and Macdonald coming back from two years absence. Clark will provide security in the ruck as well as being moulded for a KP role. So getting Clark on the list will balance our requirements.

Pick 25 was a far more complex decision. The area of need for us is a KP player that can have some versatility in filling several roles. Burchell stood out in this department. Although he is not your usual KP player he does fill the physical requirements. However I see him more the Mundy type that will be able to be used all over the ground including a very damaging rotating midfield role. At 191cm, mobile, with good hands and foot skills he will fit in very well in our structure. Besides, Sherman needs a Tassie mate at the Lions.

Pick 41, I was targeting a hard in and under midfielder. At my disposal I had Stanley, Looby, Hocking, Loneragan, Simpkin etc... Also thought of including a QLDer with this pick and I had for consideration Dzuffer, Hooper etc...
However upon reflection two players that managed to slip all the way to pick 41, obviously were too good to pass. One was Grae Grant and the other Todd Grima. Considering that Grant only six months ago was rated a definite top 5 I thought that at pick 41 he was worth taking a punt.

For pick 55 I am waiting for a response from missionpossible to let me know if we are doing a PS draft as well? If we are than I will PASS on pick 55. It is strictly strategic with an eye for next years draft. I don't want to tie up another place on a two-year contract. I'll pick in the PSD and offer a one-year contract to whoever that player may be. However, if we are using all our picks than I have about ten players for consideration. Including a smokey or two and few recycled as well. It will be a hard one to decide!

worthy said:
Whilst i certainly don't claim to be an authority on the Roos list, i had a browse through the Roos board and the impression i got was that you have a lot of small running type HB's who are more attacking than accountable, also i see a need to bring someone in to replace Colbert and Archer, Toovey seemed to fit that bill, Grima was the next choice and i think he is a fantastic get to replace Rocca and great security if Chad Jones doesn't come on.

Thanks for that mate, appreciate the thought that went into it.

I know we recruited Rawlings for the third backman type role although there are no guarantees with him as everyone knows.

We have Smith, Trotter, Urch and now Gibson off the rookie list who are all earmarked as half back types, at least initially, and are all about 6'1-6'2. This on top of the usual suspects like Sinclair and Stevens who as you mention are the more unaccountable types. We also picked up Powell from the Swans who is a 6'4 defender although whether he comes up to scratch is anyone's guess.

Grima looked to have something, certainly his 10 straight against the NT pygmies was impressive if not slightly misleading. Casserley did a 15.2 beep test and finished near the front in the 3k at Draft Camp. According to Weaver's profile he has some pace about him as well although is still a little skinny.

desie said:
Thanks for that mate, appreciate the thought that went into it.

I know we recruited Rawlings for the third backman type role although there are no guarantees with him as everyone knows.

We have Smith, Trotter, Urch and now Gibson off the rookie list who are all earmarked as half back types, at least initially, and are all about 6'1-6'2. This on top of the usual suspects like Sinclair and Stevens who as you mention are the more unaccountable types. We also picked up Powell from the Swans who is a 6'4 defender although whether he comes up to scratch is anyone's guess.

Grima looked to have something, certainly his 10 straight against the NT pygmies was impressive if not slightly misleading. Casserley did a 15.2 beep test and finished near the front in the 3k at Draft Camp. According to Weaver's profile he has some pace about him as well although is still a little skinny.
No worries :thumbsu: 10 different people could pick 10 different players at 28 and give good reasons for picking them, Grima was my second choice @28 so i assume Mission put him in @43 when he was still available, can't take the credit (good or bad) for Casserley though.

macca69 said:
Would we all be interested in following this up with a rookie draft? Just so we all get a chance to use our smokies?

Yeh good idea. However, I am not sure it would be fair on Mission to have him sort through all those pm's again. Because everyone choices will be quite different, maybe we could all just submit a list of say 10 players (in order or preference) and mission (or whoever) could spend afew days sorting through them. Wouldnt take long.

theorangeapple said:
Yeh good idea. However, I am not sure it would be fair on Mission to have him sort through all those pm's again. Because everyone choices will be quite different, maybe we could all just submit a list of say 10 players (in order or preference) and mission (or whoever) could spend afew days sorting through them. Wouldnt take long.
Good idea apple I'll do the rookie draft if you want and all the people involved in this draft at the conclusion PM me your Top 10 rookies and I'll sift through to give mission a spell.

irel said:
The rule of this mock draft is that the participants are the club recruiters and we pick according to our assessment of each club and not what the club's recruiters may do on the day. But as it turned out it will be interesting to see what happens on the actual draft day.

I concur with the sentiments expressed by the participants. This draft is as close to the real thing as any mock draft games here on BF. All the complications and emotions re players and their relative values vs: Club's needs and wants are being experienced. In my case for Brisbane pick 9 was easy. Went for the best available in Mitch Clark. We have just delisted two talls in Spaanderman and MacLaren and we've got Keating very likely in his last year and Macdonald coming back from two years absence. Clark will provide security in the ruck as well as being moulded for a KP role. So getting Clark on the list will balance our requirements.

Pick 25 was a far more complex decision. The area of need for us is a KP player that can have some versatility in filling several roles. Burchell stood out in this department. Although he is not your usual KP player he does fill the physical requirements. However I see him more the Mundy type that will be able to be used all over the ground including a very damaging rotating midfield role. At 191cm, mobile, with good hands and foot skills he will fit in very well in our structure. Besides, Sherman needs a Tassie mate at the Lions.

Pick 41, I was targeting a hard in and under midfielder. At my disposal I had Stanley, Looby, Hocking, Loneragan, Simpkin etc... Also thought of including a QLDer with this pick and I had for consideration Dzuffer, Hooper etc...
However upon reflection two players that managed to slip all the way to pick 41, obviously were too good to pass. One was Grae Grant and the other Todd Grima. Considering that Grant only six months ago was rated a definite top 5 I thought that at pick 41 he was worth taking a punt.

For pick 55 I am waiting for a response from missionpossible to let me know if we are doing a PS draft as well? If we are than I will PASS on pick 55. It is strictly strategic with an eye for next years draft. I don't want to tie up another place on a two-year contract. I'll pick in the PSD and offer a one-year contract to whoever that player may be. However, if we are using all our picks than I have about ten players for consideration. Including a smokey or two and few recycled as well. It will be a hard one to decide!

nah we aren't doing a PSD, pretty sure he said this at the beginning and to assume all delisted players nominate for the draft.

WIZ, any chance you could give us some of your rationale for your freo picks? I thought quickish midfielders would have been the priority? cheers

Well that completes the draft.

CARLTON
HAWTHORN
BRISBANE

have picks in the PSD.

If you guys can do that on this thread it would be easier.

Thankyou for everyone involved. My wife will be glad this is all over.

As for a rookie draft I have the day off work next Friday so if you can PM me with 15 preferences in order (before 10:30 am EST) and let me know how many spots your club has to fill on its rookie list I will collate them and put the rookie draft up on the board.