Phantom Draft - Trial Run #1

diablo14 said:
kicking needs some drastic improvement tho. then again is this andrew swallow syndrome?

People have seriously over estimated this as a fault. I've sene this kid a fair bit and i can tell you his kicking is pretty much spot on. Maybe a bit lanky but i reckon he's a good kick.

In AFL circles he is seriously rated. I honestly dont know how he got down this far.
Pick 5- James Sellar
Pick 23- Tom Hurley
Pick 39- Travis Boak
Pick 55- James Frawely.

I reckon i've got 4 of the best 25 players in this years draft in terms of talent.

Apart from Hurley, I reckon you've done tremendously well mate.

Hurley for mine is a 30-50 selection but that's just my opinion.

I see what you're saying siney...

He doesn't look like the typical top 15er hey? Isn't overlly flashy, has a bit of pace, but thats a bout it. His kicking can be hit and miss, etc. But he's a genuine footballer, who's a great leader and has tremendous football smarts.

Again, don't at all be surprised if he's selected in the top 10-15. I have heard he is again- seriously rated by a few clubs with early picks. The form of Riewoldt has saved himself from being a 20-40 player, as his championships were fair poor bar first game, even then he played only a half of good footy against an appauling NSW/ACT side.

Why i mention riewoldt? Because i think clubs would opt for riewoldt now ahead of a playe rlike hurley, whereas immediately after the nationals hurley was without doubt in the best 5 mids.

sinepari said:
Apart from Hurley, I reckon you've done tremendously well mate.

Hurley for mine is a 30-50 selection but that's just my opinion.

agree picking hurley up so early is stupid! reckon he will get rookied at the best

Yep I understand Johno and all it takes is two clubs to be interested and he's gone early.

Will be interesting to see what happens.

Either way, you've done well

happy with the kangaroos selections so far.

first round. lachlen hansen - dominant kpp

second round. Bacher Houli - skillful medium sized with pace

third round. jarryd allen - tall, athletic good pickup!

fourth round. daniel caire - young, good pace, good skills, bit of a smokey!

well frawley was the other player at pick 44 I was going to take. Just thought with Lonie and Pendles we have that type covered.

will be on for my pick later

1st ROUND

1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------- Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors

2nd ROUND

17. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Ricky Petterd
18. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Ben Reid
19. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Schmidt
20. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Gary Moss
21. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Bachar Houli
22. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- James Hawksley
23. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) ------------------- Tom Hurley
24. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Gavin Urquart
25. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Jarrad Harbrow
26. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Caleb Mourish
27. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- David Armitage
28. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Nathan Brown
29. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Brent Renouf
30. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Grant Weeks
31. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Rhyce Prismall
32. West Coast (Sinepari) ------------------------ Kirk Tippett
33. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Djerrkura
34. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Justin Westhoff

3rd ROUND

35. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Andrejs Everitt
36. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Jarryd Morton
37. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Jarryd Allen
38. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Sam Fielding
39. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Travis Boak
40. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Josh Kennedy F/S
41. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Tom Hawkins F/S
42. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jackson Sheringham
43. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Shaun Grigg
44. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Mitchell Brown
45. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Tim Houlihan
46. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Daniel O'Keefe
47. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Dean Kelly
48. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Alwyn Davey
49. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Collier
50. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Todd Pfieffer

4th ROUND

51. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- David McKay
52. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Robert Eddy
53. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Daniel Caire
54. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Jarryn Geary
55. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Frawley
56. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- :confused:
57. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------
58. Richmond (philhawk) --------------------------
59. St Kilda (Kingjames) --------------------------
60. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ----------------------
61. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) --------------------
62. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
63. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
64. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
65. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
66. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) ---------------------

sherminator said:
When will Phantom Rookie Draft begin?

Wasn't aware we were having a trial rookie draft. Hasn't been discussed I don't think. Wouldn't mind doing one though.

It's not the players, more the order. Not a sledge on Macca at all.

But i'm not giving away my plans for the real draft.

sinepari said:

its not like recruiters are gonna look on bf to see this phantom draft, feel free to tell ure plans

That's not what I am saying. I want those players to be available during our official draft. If posters know I want them, they'll consider taking them early.

sinepari said:

Fair enough, but there's are always players in drafts that slide. Austin Lucy is a good example last year. IIRC, most people had him in their top 20, and some were saying he'd be Brisbanes first pick. Without checking, didn't he go in the 60's to Essendon?

HugeBluesFan said:
Fair enough, but there's are always players in drafts that slide. Austin Lucy is a good example last year. IIRC, most people had him in their top 20, and some were saying he'd be Brisbanes first pick. Without checking, didn't he go in the 60's to Essendon?

Yep, he sure did.

Just highlights the unpredictable nature of the draft. Sure, there may be standouts, but the rest could just be guesswork. Every year we see players picked earlier than expected, some later than expected, and even some that were thought to be picked early not picked up at all. Happens every year, and expect this year to be the same.

HugeBluesFan said:

thats right pick 66 to be exact, hopefully a good replacement for fletch

macca69 said:
Wasn't aware we were having a trial rookie draft. Hasn't been discussed I don't think. Wouldn't mind doing one though.

We must begin a trial one soon as this trial draft is over, is that alright?