Pick 62, 2012 draft - Sam Siggins

• Thread starter Thread starter cmndstab

Heard him on the radio down here this morning. He is chuffed like you wouldnt believe. Said Sando and Patty called him last night and couldnt wait to start work with him. Said he is stoked to be at the Crows who had shown the most interest.
I have no doubt he will be much better then Davis. He reminds me alot of Talia with his attitude.
Trust me guys, we have a gem here.:thumbsu:

I like the kid, I like his attributes, I'm stoked to have him. BUT much better than Davis???? Surely that's a HUGE stretch, or a defense mechanism?

Hope I'm proven wrong though.

based on his highlights, he has better skills than Davis

I dunno, Davis' skills were pretty bloody good, he certainly has more pace than Davis and is certainly not as flat footed. One of my biggest, and only really, criticisms of Davis was his lack of offensive run. For a player of his talent, football brain and skill, he was far to static with the footy as a defender. This is why I'd have loved to have seen him developed as a forward, I think he'd be so much more dangerous up there and would be the kind of guy who would read the modern forward patterns perfectly.

Anyway, I like the look of Siggins and great to see a half decent length clip. I like the confidence and purpose with which he goes about his footy, there's an element of arrogance, but not too much, it's controlled. Not to put the knocker on him, but I see a heap of Bock in this lad, he has the confidence to outmark defenders and then punish them the other way with run.

Come on guys, better than Davis?

Let's hate the guy for leaving but can we please have some semblance of honest posting. Davis is a very good player and when the GWS get better, so will he. He had a poor season because the players around him had a poor season. When the young kids get better and allow th GWS to be a competitive unit, his skills and leadership will come to the surface.

Suggesting Sam Siggins is better and will be a better player in the long run, is very insulting to 17 other recruiters who passed him 80 times. Don't get me wrong, I hope he will be a very good player and play at least 1 AFL game but to say he will be better than Davis is just insulting.

I'm very pleased with the fact we got a kid we have been watching since 15 - as someone else said, we definitely got our man.

Love his quick give with hands and the run to link up and create. Doesn't hold the ball long unless going on a run by the looks of it.

I call it as I see it. I've seen Siggo play for the last 4 years. I saw Davis Early on as well. As 18 years olds, Siggins is in front.

And the disappointing/annoyance of Davis leaving had nothing to do with it?

Look, I hope your right as it will result in a bargain buy but he fell that low for a reason.

I'm very pleased with the fact we got a kid we have been watching since 15 - as someone else said, we definitely got our man.

Love his quick give with hands and the run to link up and create. Doesn't hold the ball long unless going on a run by the looks of it.

and actually looks a more natural kick of the footy than, say, Shaw or Talia

That's spot on, the other 17 teams all missed these two players. This is why we have won so many premierships over the last 14 years, we're smarter tha the rest.

If they handed out flags for spin then we would be a genuine contender.
As distinct from what every other recruitment manager was doing last night and will continue to do well into today?

Katrina Gill@KatrinaGill_
Love talking to new players on draft night! Sam Siggins is jumping out of his skin to start training & learn from Rutten and Talia #gocrows

sam siggins@samsiggins
The happiest boy in Tassie right now, can't wait to be apart of the future @adelaide_fc #hardworkstartsnow #2013crows

Gotta love the attitude.

Nice to see a kid who realises being part of good club, matters a lot more than which one

Hadnt heard of the bloke until his name was read.
When he was read out i was like huh? WTf, especially with talked about guys like Frost and Colquhoun on the board still.

But every video ive seen, and thing ive read about his Footy and personality, has left me very very happy with this choice. A year or two in the SANFL and in the weights room will do him the world of good.

Good athletism and skills. Looks like he could develop into a Bock type in a few years.

Rapt with this selection.

Loving this guy! He looks more impressive then some of the top 20 blokes highlight reels.

Well played...

Oh and this comment "Pre-draft, he was listed on SEN as the fifth best key defender available - but the second best 193cm+. " ... Like

30652002.jpg

Katrina Gill@KatrinaGill_
Love talking to new players on draft night! Sam Siggins is jumping out of his skin to start training & learn from Rutten and Talia #gocrows

sam siggins@samsiggins
The happiest boy in Tassie right now, can't wait to be apart of the future @adelaide_fc #hardworkstartsnow #2013crows

Gotta love the attitude.

That's a great tweet from a young man :thumbsu: He sounds like a ripper.

Come on guys, better than Davis?

Let's hate the guy for leaving but can we please have some semblance of honest posting. Davis is a very good player and when the GWS get better, so will he.

I agree fully. It's kind of embarrassing to read comments about how Tippett is a terrible footballer, Davis has no skills, Gunston will be out of the AFL within 12 months, just because we don't like how they left us. Davis is a great footballer and I suspect he will be one of the competition's best tall defenders over the course of his career.

That's not to say I don't like Siggins - I think he looks like great value for pick 62. What I like most about him is that he's a tall who looks very instinctive with the ball. Admittedly I'm only deducing that from his highlights, but he looks like a tall guy who thinks like a mid.

A self-confessed “footy head”, Siggins said he was keen to learn the tricks of the trade from the young but proven Daniel Talia, and All Australian representative Rutten.

“I’m just stoked I’ll be able to hang around the likes of Ben Rutten and Daniel Talia. I’m going to pick their brains on how to play AFL. I’ll see just how professional they are and how they go about it,” Siggins told afc.com.au.

“Talia is close to my age, so it will be good to learn from him. He knows what it’s all about having won the NAB Rising Star award this year. He’s played on the best centre half-forwards and full-forwards in the league, so I’ll be hanging off him and also Rutten, who has done it his whole career, at training.

“They’ll probably get sick of me by the end of the first year because I’ll be asking them 100 questions, but I can’t wait to get over there and learn from the best.”

http://www.afc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4417/newsid/151630/default.aspx

Sounds like a good kid.

A late pick of genuine KPD height and attributes? Well done Ogilvie and co.

Let the AFC website height fudging begin :p

But seriously, three young 196cm KPDs is a very good thing to have.
I agree ....you either pick one up early or late to develop

I think this guy sounds a winner if attitude means anything

Sounds like we had plans all along for him .....maybe it was meant to be Obrien at #20, and Siggins at #54 ......8 places really doesn't change who we would have got

On that basis Atkins is a lucky boy

Any chance this bloke will debut next season?? Has played seniors in Tassie since he was 15.

To be fair there's probably a heap of players we've been watching .....but it makes a good story ;)

Any chance this bloke will debut next season?? Has played seniors in Tassie since he was 15.
None, Zilch ....zero chance

With a massive list of injures yes. Rutten, Talia, Otten and Henderson on the injury list at the same time.

If not, very much doubt it.

Its too early to make ca call on Siggin however I've always said people are too quick in pumping up Davis tyres

reminds me of dustin fletcher.
Dont buy into the 9th player on our list.
Going into trade we had 3 needs ruck, KPD and crunbing forward/outside mid. WE got graham in trade which meant we were always gonna get 1 outside midf and 1 KPD in this draft.
He was probably rated the 9th best player in terms of our needs and not the overall draft.
Happy to get him looks quality though.