List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

I think the sanctions could play into our hands. I'm sick and tired of teams picking skinny project players when there are mature guys read to play and can do a pretty good job.

There has to be a few 22-24 year olds playing VFL, WAFL, SANFL that can play at AFL level. We need to get 2 or 3 of these guys, maybe trade or cheap free agent or delisted player and pick a few project guys.

This is the year we top up with VFL types.

If nothing else it looks like the Giants are happy to do a deal with you guys

THE HEAVY penalties handed down to Essendon over the supplement scandal have left Greater Western Sydney better placed to try to recruit out-of-contract Bombers.

The Giants are in the market for experienced players and will have draft picks to use as possible trade bait.

Conversely, Essendon has been forced out of the opening two rounds of the 2013 NAB AFL Draft as part of the punishment handed down on Tuesday night by the AFL Commission.

There had been a suggestion some clubs may be wary of trading with players from Windy Hill due to the ongoing ASADA investigation, which could still lead to infractions against the players.

But GWS chief executive Dave Matthews said on Wednesday his club was now more likely to negotiate with the Bombers.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-08-28/lets-make-a-deal

Re: hypothetical of trading Colyer to Gold Coast for their third rounder.

Eagles have a mid third round comp pick (tied to Collingwood's finishing position). Not yet activated. Would this have any value for Essendon? Or would you be looking for picks you can use this year?

It would be very handy this year as it would give us 2 picks in the 40's.

I am unsure that Colyer would be a good fit for the WC - You seem to have some of his type - akthough they are still in a development phase.

I think the sanctions could play into our hands. I'm sick and tired of teams picking skinny project players when there are mature guys read to play and can do a pretty good job.

There has to be a few 22-24 year olds playing VFL, WAFL, SANFL that can play at AFL level. We need to get 2 or 3 of these guys, maybe trade or cheap free agent or delisted player and pick a few project guys.

This is the year we top up with VFL types.

Hardly unlikely there..

We have enough 2nd - 4th year kids on our list that will be good enough next year to start really pushign for senior games. Do you want a bit parts 23 y.o to be taking games away from a 3rd year Elliot Kavanagh? I sure as hell want EKav in the seniors, or Alex Browne?

We take risks with our rookie list IMO. They will be 1 year projects at best and we have the option to retain or delist at the end of each year. Hence, we need to keep that open as much as possible IMO.

It would be very handy this year as it would give us 2 picks in the 40's.

I am unsure that Colyer would be a good fit for the WC - You seem to have some of his type - akthough they are still in a development phase.

It hasn't been activated so it can't be used this year. But I think it could be traded for a third rounder (by either us or you).

Colyer would be an ok fit. Our midfield lacks size, skills and pace, so he'd definitely be worth a spot on our list IMO. I think he'll stay at Essendon though.

Trade/FA targets:

Rory Sloane

Billy Longer

Daniel Gorringe (if we were to lose T Bell)

Dom Tyson

Taylor Adams

Jeremy Howe

Dustin Martin

Sebastian Ross (Jobe's cousin)

Nick Dal Santo

Andrew Gaff

Think we need to be patient. Maybe try to get one or two second rounders by trading out players, and then in a perfect world, trade in players, rather than drafting players. Nothing much in free agency in 2013, but there are options in 2014.

Karnezis is a player that interests - recruited as a third forward type, who has shown the ability to rotate thru the midfield. Good kick, decent decision-maker, decent tank - Lots of upside and fits a need. He will only go for a second rounder considering his draft position and recent form.

I suspect that more than 3 players ( excluding trades ) will be off our list. Hille/NLM/Davey/Davis immediately come to mind.

So we need patience and particularly target the 2014 draft.

It hasn't been activated so it can't be used this year. But I think it could be traded for a third rounder (by either us or you).

Colyer would be an ok fit. Our midfield lacks size, skills and pace, so he'd definitely be worth a spot on our list IMO. I think he'll stay at Essendon though.

Thats fine - Would be useful in 2014 - And Geelong has made an art form of bunching 2nd or 3rd round selections together, and selecting wisely.

You know what they say, one out of three ain't bad.

By which I mean, have you actually seen Colyer?

I haven't seen heaps. Just bits and pieces this year.

Is he uncontracted? If so, would he get a spot on your list next year?

I just think he'd be worth a spot on our list (but maybe I'm just uninformed?), and if he costs a third rounder, that's close to free.

I would like to send a big F U to the haters and make them foam like crazy.

TBC + Hurley = Pick 1 (Boyd) Getting pick one the public would be outraged beyond belief.

Gumby swap for Yarran or a Freo small forward.

Yes a midfield still lacks slightly but they are all young since our list is 6th youngest.

STARTING 22 SPINE
Backs:Carlisle/hooker/Pears
Rucks:Ryder
Forwards: Daniher/Boyd/Crameri

An in either preseason/rookie and national draft pick up 3 ruckman, mature age or potential whatever but one at least has to be match ready like VFL quality at least.

Rory Sloane

Billy Longer

Daniel Gorringe (if we were to lose T Bell)

Dom Tyson

Taylor Adams

Jeremy Howe

Dustin Martin

Sebastian Ross (Jobe's cousin)

Nick Dal Santo

Andrew Gaff
We have no early picks- how the hell could we get Gaff, Martin, Sloane etc...? And why would we target Howe? Hardly a priority

If Crameri were to leave Howe would be ideal as a 3rd forward kicking goals and the asking price wouldn't be that high

Bellchambers and a few others have currency to trade.

and the asking price wouldn't be that high

Beg to differ. Would be untouchable If I was Melbourne. It's one that would really piss off the supporters.

I
If Crameri were to leave Howe would be ideal as a 3rd forward kicking goals and the asking price wouldn't be that high

Bellchambers and a few others have currency to trade.
Why would Howe not have a high asking price? Been one of very few good players for the Dees. One who is marketable and popular among fans. Would cost plenty.

Not sure why he would stay at Essendon. Getting few opportunities. Would take a 3rd rounder no worries

We certainly wouldn't be promising him much more than a chance to impress in the WAFL and break into the team.

Wait and see what happens in October I suppose.

I haven't seen heaps. Just bits and pieces this year.

Is he uncontracted? If so, would he get a spot on your list next year?

I just think he'd be worth a spot on our list (but maybe I'm just uninformed?), and if he costs a third rounder, that's close to free.

He's 172cm tall and can't kick. Other than that, he runs hard and to good areas, gets the ball and breaks the lines. Sort out his kicking, he's a best 22 player at any club. Easier said than done.

Is Jonathon Patton now trade bait for GWS? The guy has had two seasons plagued by injury where he has been completely removed from the spot light thanks to Cameron. Don't beat me up.

My wife worked at Melbourne until recently, interestingly she reckons Colin Sylvia was a really good bloke - best player at the club for any sort of community type activity and great at engaging with non-footy department employees and supporters.

Explains why he's lasted so long at Melbourne - a few isolated incidents but not the deep seated character flaws that I think most of us envisaged. And potentially nothing that being in a better culture wouldn't fix ( and despite everything I think we have a pretty good culture amongst our playing group).

I reckon we should be interested....would add dynamism and flair to our midfield.....at his best he has the sort of inside/outside game we are screaming out for... and can be very dangerous resting forward. Take away the character questions and he's exactly the sort of player we need.

Is Jonathon Patton now trade bait for GWS? The guy has had two seasons plagued by injury where he has been completely removed from the spot light thanks to Cameron. Don't beat me up.

Zero chance, KPF, showed signs before he did his knee. Cameron can play both ends anyway.

In my honest opinion, I don't see other clubs handing over top 30 picks for ANY of our players, hence we should be utilising our year - by - year rookie list prospects. When the time is right in 2016, we can go BANG and try and get ourselves 2 - 3 - 4 top 20/30 picks but as it stands, this whole ASADA situation will certainly push people off us as well.

I would be more talking about upgrades, so our 4th for their 2nd, etc. I am getting more annoyed by the day we didn't take Garlett last season though. Minimal risk and well we would feel this less.

Sigh. A guy can dream can't he. Haha.

We are more chance of drafting Tom Boyd and we are no chance at that. Look if someone wanted to pay 2 top 10 picks for Patton they might listen but he is likened to Jonathan Brown for a reason. That will be one scary forwardline in 3 years.