Player comparison thread

What combination do u recon will be better... Suggest Different players if necessary

Mattner, Guerra, K Kornes, Rioli
Drummond, Malcheski, Knights, Rievolt

Tough call i recon.....
Easily the first option.

One i've been thinking about, im not getting any of these two players though.

Everitt vs Dempsey

Both just over 200k and they both look like they will step up this year.

Im liking the look of dempsey over everitt. Essendon i think will be keener to play as many youngsters as possible but i can see Everitt getting dropped if he has a few off games, due to the dogs being around the mark again this season. For this reason i think demsey will score more points for the year.

Im thinking about which combination would perform better

Goddard & Ward or Malceski and Masten

I think malceski and masten can score more points early on but i dont think i will want either in my team come finals. With Goddard i get a keeper and with ward hopefully a handy money maker. I know that malceski and masten will also make money if things go to plan and that together they should make the same amount as ward but they would take two trades to realise the cash increase wheras ward will only take one.

The two options offer this to me IMO

Goddard (keeper)
Ward ($50-100,000 increase)
1 trade and around $50,000 to upgrade to a bottoming gun.
Assuming Goddard 95 average and ward 65 average means 160 ppg.

Malceski ($50,000 increase)
Masten ($50,000 increase)
2 trades to upgrade to 2 bottoming out guns.
Im assuming an 80 ppg average from both so 160 ppg.

Come to think of it im convincing myself the first option is better. Let me know your thoughts. Also if you believe there is a better option at Ward's price. Also if you think any of my logic is flawed let me know.

Before people post these questions maybe just maybe they should use the search feature as the Bigfooty site is a wealth of information.

People on this site are totally byist you need to do your own research, gather your own information and make your own educated opinions instead of being spoon fed by the masses its really not that hard.

If you list a player tell us why/why not, you are thinking about putting them in your team and we would be able to help you better.

cheers

Hang on, everyone on Bigfooty is a footy expert, so you are asking the right people! I'm certainly not byist!

Hey lads.

whats does everyone think of these players:

dane swan - is he worth having or could money be better spent somewhere else?

Robbie gray? im not a port follower so have no idea about this bloke? anyone have any thoughts?

j. gram from the saints?

Luke hodge? i have heard there are some injury concerns over his shoulder?

also i am failry new to the dream team thingo. does anyone know what some failry safe bets are for "cash cows" other than daniel rich?

Hey lads.

Robbie gray? im not a port follower so have no idea about this bloke? anyone have any thoughts?

j. gram from the saints?

also i am failry new to the dream team thingo. does anyone know what some failry safe bets are for "cash cows" other than daniel rich?

Robbie Gray is too risky - he gets injured too often. But don't listen to me, do some research!

Richo + Malceski vs Didak + Adcock

I think the second option is the safer one, but Richo could be in for another huge year.

Another one:

Lockyer + Myers + Masten vs Malceski + Hansen + J Selwood

Hey lads.

j. gram from the saints?

D. Swan is an outstanding DTer. I don't have stats around, but he averages a huge number of points per minute - tends only ever to have 80%(?) TOG. I'm not sure why this is (from what I gather he's got a good aerobic base), and if it changes, his scores might actually increase.

Gram - there's speculation that he's going to move into the midfield which will be good for his scores. At worst a solid pick.

Hodge does have shoulder problems. I don't know how long for, but I suspect in any case it'll be better to pick him up later rather than earlier.

Everitt vs Dempsey

neither look nailed on for a start.

i think Everitt is behind Lake, Williams, Morris, Hargrave (and 4 tall backs is enough IMO)

Dempsey is fighting for a small BP/HBF up against Nash, Houli, Reimers, Slattery, Dyson, etc. i would play Nash, Houli, Reimers, and Slattery (depending on matchups) ahead of Dempsey at this stage.

Big Ives:

On swan, he is the sort of player (well i think he is anyway) that will score 100 week in week out. This means he will be cheapest, at the end of the season, when the MN has flattened out. So i see it, that if you want him in your team, your probably best off starting with him. Just a thought.

Big Ives:

On swan, he is the sort of player (well i think he is anyway) that will score 100 week in week out. This means he will be cheapest, at the end of the season, when the MN has flattened out. So i see it, that if you want him in your team, your probably best off starting with him. Just a thought.

And highlighted nicely last year when he was down to 360k at round 22. Bargin, but u only get him for 1 week.

Depends on need for swan. With swan, what you see is what you get - averaged 100-102 three years in a row. Do you need the captain option or do you have cox/deledio as backup too?

yeah i have both... goddard is also a likely captain option this year i think

im leaning that way too.. do you reckon swan will cop more of a tag this year?

i wouldn't worry about Swan. he'll still ave 100 IMO.

the reason i chose Tuck/Fisher was Mattner.
i think he'll ave 75-80, but i also think the backs are stronger this year.
not sure if these players (Gilbee, Johncock, Mattner, etc) are as valuable anymore.

I am leaning the same way mate, just like to hear a bit of your reasoning.

LOL - i can't even remember who they were up against :p

errrr.... Masten/Skipworth, was it ???

i reckon Masten will ultimately need an upgrade. i think that was my reason.
0 keepers vs 1 keeper. saves you a future trade.
and starting Sidebottom. yeah, go for it. the cheap forwards are looking good this year. even if he doesn't play i'm sure you'll have some decent cover this year.

i reckon Masten will ultimately need an upgrade.

I was thinking along the same lines. The lad has shown a bit of promise, but not enough to make me believe that he will be good enough for the 6th spot in my midfield.