Playing the game: AFL, NRL and the campaign against the Wilkie pokie reforms

MaddAdam

10k Posts Bay 13: Vintage Bay Podcaster North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor
Jun 8, 2011
In the not so distant future
The Federal Government’s plan to introduce pre-commitment systems on pokie machines in order to reduce problem gambling has become a major political headache.

A campaign by Clubs Australia targeting Labor MPs in NSW has seen growing backbench concern in the Gillard government.

Now the National Rugby League (NRL) and the Australian Football League (AFL) are set to become involved in the debate.

Former Victorian Premier and Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett claims the Wilkie reforms will cause AFL clubs to go under while Collingwood president eddie McGuire has labelled the plan a “footy tax”.

Very interesting take from a pokies expert

http://theconversation.edu.au/playi...ampaign-against-the-wilkie-pokie-reforms-3538

NO AFL clubs would "go under" and the AFL should not be supporting the RL as they would have clubs go to the wall as the millions that they have received from unfortunate pokie addicts over the last 60 years that has kept their dirty sport afloat.

You only have to see how low class and grasping that thugby is when they spruik betting odds during their games on TV.

Bad move AD!You NEVER give your opposition any leg up!

NO AFL clubs would "go under" and the AFL should not be supporting the RL as they would have clubs go to the wall as the millions that they have received from unfortunate pokie addicts over the last 60 years that has kept their dirty sport afloat.

You only have to see how low class and grasping that thugby is when they spruik betting odds during their games on TV.

Bad move AD!You NEVER give your opposition any leg up!

You're a tool.

I find it more interesting how this move will affect Gillard than my footy club.

Anything that reduces the effect of pokies on the community is a good thing.

State Governments in the last decade had the chance, with huge surpluses, to ween off pokie revenue by reducing the number of pokies in the community. They didn't.

Unfortunately, it almost certainly won't happen, and, fortunately, it will mean the end of the current Federal Government.

I'm fairly certain the current Govt. was finished or dead before this issue. I wonder if the WB, who have a major pokie setup will still keep Julia as their No 1 ticket holder.

I think this is one of the more fascinating aspects of this debate. If Gillard's support of Wilkie's reforms hurts the WB financially, you would think that Smorgon would be less inclined to encourage Gillard's disingenuous support of the Bulldogs.

Playing the game: AFL, NRL and the campaign against the Wilkie pokie reforms