Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

Hey PM, what are your thoughts on Luamon lual as a small defender?
I am one of, of not THE, biggest Luamon Lual fans. His movement through traffic, athleticism and attack on the game with ball in hand are really appealing traits heading into AFL level, but I've probably found his improvement through the season as the thing I've loved most. Production, skill execution, decision making, positioning have all improved dramatically

Actually, you won't be in solitary confinement.

You'll be in with the guy who put a bid on Harry Rowston.
You say that as if Kinnear isn't the funniest bloke involved in footy

You will want to make sure they have zero intention of coming back to Tassie in 2028.
Every one is somewhat of risk of leaving. Those guys are both very appealing selections, if you get 4 good years out of them and they head back to Tasmania, you'll get something back for them. Ideally they fall in love with the club and stay.

With Pickett locked away a small goal kicking forward may not be the prioity - but he is in the convo for top 5.
I know he’s super talented.

I just can’t help but think that he’ll drop marginally out of the top 5 just because of his size and position.

Small forwards play an increasingly important role so I wouldn’t suggest that we don't need another. I just can’t see a club using pick 3 or 4 on one - and I stand by my observation that his defensive running and effort is almost non existent.

- Michael Rudd gets his own bullet point here because he showed a contested marking side to his game I haven't seen before, traditionally more a 'smarts over strength' target up forward with his leading and repeated efforts. He's a hard one to gauge in terms of draft position given his height as a KPF and the fact he doesn't look that athletic, but his skills and smarts are up there. Will be interesting to see him against a Connor O'Sullivan type if we get that match up this Sunday

Hey Bangers,

I’ve really liked what I’ve seen of Rudd for the Falcons and during the Champs.

Saw him watching a junior’s game this morning and reckon he’d be a fair bit taller than the 192cms I’ve seen listed too.

Where would you have him on your roster extended draft board? As I wouldn’t mind the Pies having a look at him.

Hey Bangers,

I’ve really liked what I’ve seen of Rudd for the Falcons and during the Champs.

Saw him watching a junior’s game this morning and reckon he’d be a fair bit taller than the 192cms I’ve seen listed too.

Where would you have him on your roster extended draft board? As I wouldn’t mind the Pies having a look at him.
Not in my top 40 and I haven't thought about the prospects in a 'rankings' sense past that, he's on my list of ND worthy prospects (bout 67 long atm) and towards the back end. Just think there are others that currently bring more or look far more developable in the same role, and even past that some players that missed state selection, particularly in VIC, could push ahead with a strong end to the season.

Every one is somewhat of risk of leaving. Those guys are both very appealing selections, if you get 4 good years out of them and they head back to Tasmania, you'll get something back for them. Ideally they fall in love with the club and stay.
Well said Goose you are dead right.

Hopefully we get both - like an Anderson/Rowell combo!!

I expect you will. Easy to keep them together. Tassie will come knocking in 2028 but it’s no reason not to recruit them as if you don’t, someone else will. It’s up to clubs to start carrot farms because, although they are from Tassie, they are not bound to return.