Toast Positives in 2015

Catatonic Shock

G'day all.
Figured we are all dwelling on the negative performances, justifiably of course, but I feel a thread about the positives is warranted.

Now this isn't a thread for blind optimism but just something to smile about.

I'll start. Jed Bews looks like a ripper, reckon we have found a quality defensively minded small defender, something we haven't had for a long time. Also dare I say someone with some dash ala Wojack aswell.
Bews and Thurlow look ready to cement their spot in the 22 IMO and both are players we need for the future.

Secondly Corey Gregson. His disposal is as clean as I've seen a rookie at the Cats, backs himself and always seems to make the correct decision. I didn't like his sidestep to get out of the way of Roughead in round 1 but bounced back the next week by fronting up to Sandilands, shows great character.
Is small I'll give you that but could be a ripper of a player.

Feel free to ignore this thread and let it sink into the second page.

Game time into younger players is an obvious positive and it was needed.

With the lack of experience from talented kids on our list evident, they needed to be blooded now for the sake of our future... It's happening.

I'd like Gore to be included this week. He's earnt it.

I agree. I think our defence and forward lines are pretty good actually. Unfortunately, the engine room (midfield) is where we're lacking and that is why we have been losing.

But Gregson, Lang, Thurlow, Bews, and Cockatoo all look good for the future. I hope Gore, Jensen & Kolo also step up soon. There's a lot to like for the future in this team.

Those are great positives CS. :thumbsu:

I'll add the players we've traded in as something that's been pleasing.

Have been pleasantly surprised by Stanley and Clark to date, and am hopeful that Blease will follow suit.

Agree with Bews. There was one section of play where he was locked on his opponent and he read the play where the ball was kicked into his area. He broke off the player ran hard at the ball collected it and cleared the defensive 50.

Not sure whom he hit up with it but that piece of play sealed it for me.
The place back there is his now to lose - meaning he gets every game until he is not getting it done.

Very impressed with him. He might tire and need a rest at some point which I'm fine with of course but keep getting him game time.

Go Catters

I agree. I think our defence and forward lines are pretty good actually. Unfortunately, the engine room (midfield) is where we're lacking and that is why we have been losing.

That, and the ability to lower the eyes and hit a leading target rather than blindy bombing the ball inside 50 is killing us.

Ironically, during the preseason games Geelong was criticised for not kicking it long to the tall marking forwards enough. I think any team needs to find a balance between long kicking when it's a good option, or trying to find a man closer to the 50m arc with a short kick. With the defensive zoning/flooding that we have witnessed in our first 4 games I think it's easier said than done. Players make mistakes under pressure. That's life. But I agree it's frustrating when they keep doing it despite it being a poor option. I think this is a symptom of other problems myself.

Game time into younger players is an obvious positive and it was needed.

With the lack of experience from talented kids on our list evident, they needed to be blooded now for the sake of our future... It's happening.

I'd like Gore to be included this week. He's earnt it.

Gore wouldn't be far off you would think, likewise Kolo.
Seems the MC are pretty committed to playing the kids so both should get a good run at it at some stage.
I

Need to play the kids now

Kolo should play ahead of Rivers

Gore for Kelly
Gore for Cockatoo... Again I sound like I'm contradicting myself but you still need some experience heads in the side for the rookies to learn from and feed off.

Cocky needs a few games in the VFL to find a bit of the ball.

As an outside neutral supporter I have to say, been mighty impressed with Bews emergence this year:thumbsu:

Look to have a player on your hands there. You can see Lang has the tools to while I'm at it. Easy to say for a high draft pick, but you can just tell he's going to do some special things at AFL level.

With Thurlow and Bews, and perhaps one day Guthrie again down back, I'm feeling brighter about our future backline. With Blicavs improvement and good words being spoken of Kolojashnij (be nice to see it for myself soon!) too.... it's thin but it's a start.

I've been impressed with the younger blokes.

My boy Gregson looks a gem.. so clean with the ball and beautiful foot skills.

Bews we can see developing before our eyes, against the Suns he took a couple of intercept marks in the last quarter when the game was on the line, this week you can see his confidence growing further. Just needs to tidy up his disposal but is also very happy to go onto his non preferred foot which is a rare trait these days.

Lang just looks such a smart footballer, there was a moment in the 3rd quarter on the weekend where he almost dribbled the ball soccer style to get to picking it up, also love his tackling aggression and pressure

Positives:
Bews
Clark
Gregson
Blicavs

Negatives:
Hawkins' mum :(
Our young midfielders not developing/going backwards
This board becoming a circle jerk of self-congratulatory posters after each loss because it proves they were right about how crap our club/the coach is

With Thurlow and Bews, and perhaps one day Guthrie again down back, I'm feeling brighter about our future backline. With Blicavs improvement and good words being spoken of Kolojashnij (be nice to see it for myself soon!) too.... it's thin but it's a start.
I am of the opinion that the sooner we send Guthrie back the better. I get the fact we need him in the midfield, but I also don't understand why Caddy is playing longer stints forward either. Surely we can send Guthrie back and give Caddy more midfield minutes.

A backline of:

Enright, Lonergan, Bews
Guthrie, Taylor, Thurlow

Would be a great way to start pumping some games and continuity into an ageing defence.

If Mackie comes back in I would prefer him to play a wing/high half forward role. More likely that he will go back into the D50 but I would like to see Boris or Thurlow play as a loose defender when we send the +1 back.

Some people will mention Blicavs playing in defence but I honestly think we need him in the midfield to go third man up more often than not due to our poor ruck stocks.

My highlight will be coming this thursday, when it shows murdoch being omitted.

Nice try.

But given he was more passable last Sunday than the abject mediocrity of his effort against the Suns, I don't hold out much hope of him dropping out this week. Especially when players like Nakia (and even Lang, quite possibly) demonstrably need to go back and get their hands on the footy in the twos.

And, frankly, given how inadequate we are in getting around our tall forwards at the moment, I would actually be fine with Murda back on the forward flank this weekend.

It's the only position he's shown any real aptitude in thus far in his senior career. And we do desparately need some goals from the flanks right now.

Nice try.

But given he was more passable last Sunday than the abject mediocrity of his effort against the Suns, I don't hold out much hope of him dropping out this week. Especially when players like Nakia (and even Lang, quite possibly) demonstrably need to go back and get their hands on the footy in the twos.

And, frankly, given how inadequate we are in getting around our tall forwards at the moment, I would actually be fine with Murda back on the forward flank this weekend.

It's the only position he's shown any real aptitude in thus far in his senior career. And we do desparately need some goals from the flanks right now.
Rather see smedts, blease in for cockatoo Murdoch. Lang should keep his spot due to defensive pressure.

Gregson - First player in ages thats come straight and showed signs crowd fav.
Lang - This is really hes development year looks like hes going to a good player for us.
Cocky - Same as Lang development year showing some signs i reckon will get better as the year goes on.
Clark - Leading goal kicker so far,shows passion once he and tommy how to work together better more goals should come.
Bews - Looks to be backing him self in alot more.
Thurlow - Has come straight in looks very good so far and will get better.
Stan - Has looked ok should get better once he gets used to hes new role.
Blitz - Going from strength to strength.

The batch of youngsters coming through look good Lang, Gregson, Cockatoo, Gore, Kolo as do a number of other younger players. Such as Thurlow, Bews, Blitz, Walker, are showing good signs of continued development.

The recruitment has been good as well Clark looks very good and seems to have a good relationship with Hawkins. I think Clark will have a very positive influence on the other players and club.
Stanley has plenty of things to work with hopefully Hmac is teaching him some ruck skills on the track.

I think it was positive the club cleared put a nimbler of players last year that were mostly all battlers. It's given the space for these youngsters to play. Yes it also means that veterans were kept instead but if more veterans we're let go to put Brown/Hunt/Hamling etc in the team. We probably would have been looking at very poor results every week.

Actually think the club has improved a number of things such as the website offering more content. And have tried a bunch of things which haven't always worked (season launch). But they're having a go and with feedback from members they should get it right eventually.

Positives:
Bews
Clark
Gregson
Blicavs
Totally agree with your positives. Add to that list two stalwarts of the club - Joel Selwood & Harry Taylor. Both lead by example.

I am of the opinion that the sooner we send Guthrie back the better. I get the fact we need him in the midfield, but I also don't understand why Caddy is playing longer stints forward either. Surely we can send Guthrie back and give Caddy more midfield minutes.

A backline of:

Enright, Lonergan, Bews
Guthrie, Taylor, Thurlow

Would be a great way to start pumping some games and continuity into an ageing defence.

If Mackie comes back in I would prefer him to play a wing/high half forward role. More likely that he will go back into the D50 but I would like to see Boris or Thurlow play as a loose defender when we send the +1 back.

Some people will mention Blicavs playing in defence but I honestly think we need him in the midfield to go third man up more often than not due to our poor ruck stocks.
I can't grasp this either. We absolutely suck in the middle right now and I could accept that if our approach was "lets get as many midfield minutes into our young future ball-winners as possible" but we're not even doing that. We're playing them out of the positions that we desperately need them to develop in. Caddy spending more time forward than he should, Duncan trying to play negating roles to free up Guthrie who just isn't winning enough ball

So, the call at the beginning of the year was more center time for Jimmy and Kel given the fact we thought we were a flag chance, that's fine but that's changed. We're barely in final calculations at this stage. I actually think the best thing for the club is that we lose the next few games to force the hand of the coaching staff. Play Caddy in the middle where need him to develop, get some games into Gore (who at this stage appears to be the only glimmer of hope as a future inside mid), hopefully Jansen can come back and shown something and get his chance, get Kolo some time at the expense of Rivers and build from there.

Question marks are growing quickly on GHS & Murdoch in particular for me but all that group seem to have stagnanted unfortunately. What looked like a promising core in Guthrie, Caddy, Duncan, Motlop, GHS & Murdoch - all have stopped in their tracks. Hopefully, it's just a bit of hurdle that has presented itself in them coming to the realisation that they need to start carrying the team, combined with getting used to playing with a lot of different personnel, I guess maybe it takes time to gel. That being said if their form trajectory doesn't start heading north again as we get further settled into the season, alarm bells will be ringing.

Very interested in seeing where we are at in 6-8 weeks. Geez, T. Adams would've been a handy pickup in hindsight.