Positives V Sydney

1. Have a look at this team that didn't play today. It falls away but you would have to give them some chance of beating the team that did.
FB: Strauss Garland McNamara
HB: Wheatley Frawley Bell
C: Green McLean Buckley
HF: Wona Hughes Jetta
FF: Maric Robbo Watts
Foll: Jamar, Sylvia, Grimes
Int: Meesen, Blease, Zomer, Bail
Emerg: Spencer, Healey

2. We would have been a serious chance of winning if we kicked straight.

3. Related to point 2, Miller and Newton showed some good footy. There is hope there that with Watts and Jurrah after a big preseason

4. McKenzie looks a ripper. Skills are solid, works hard to get the ball and does all the hard stuff.

5. Morton continued to show off his versatility. A season on the wing getting 25 touches a week wouldn't have done much over all for him. But going forward and kicking goals and the next week playing mainly CHB on Adam Goodes and keeping him quiet is a very good achievement.

6. Petterd showed some good signs as a midfielder.

7. Martin was competitive against one of the best ruckmen in the league. He gave away the free early but battled well for the rest of the day.

I can't wait for next season and to get out of the bottom 4.

1. Have a look at this team that didn't play today. It falls away but you would have to give them some chance of beating the team that did.

3. Related to point 2, Miller and Newton showed some good footy. There is hope there that with Watts and Jurrah after a big preseason

4. McKenzie looks a ripper. Skills are solid, works hard to get the ball and does all the hard stuff.

5. Morton continued to show off his versatility. A season on the wing getting 25 touches a week wouldn't have done much over all for him. But going forward and kicking goals and the next week playing mainly CHB on Adam Goodes and keeping him quiet is a very good achievement.

7. Martin was competitive against one of the best ruckmen in the league. He gave away the free early but battled well for the rest of the day.

Jesus, that is incredible. To think we had that many out and still really took it up to a pretty good, and ultra-competitive Swans outfit shows how far we have come since last year.

A fair few would be though:

Garland
Frawley
Green
McLean
Jamar
Grimes
Sylvia

In a few years time you'd also have:

Watts
Blease
Strauss
Wonna
Maric

most likely being in the best 22 and guys like Jetta, Bail, Buckley and Healey could all surprise...

For 80% of the game they were a 3 or 4 goal better side notwithstanding the abominable attempts at bringing up both calicos (polyesters).

Brad Miller led up really well and took some good marks but unfortunatley his kicking for goals lets him down. i also notice that miller and bate both cant have good game together, i rekon they cancel each other out

Also petterd played well and looks good

Also will sylvia come straight back in?

From an outsiders perspective, I thought Morton's job on Goodes was excellent. Rivers did a number on White who has been in some good form.

Pettard did some good things, whilst Miller showed signs all day he was going to explode.

All the best in 2010 Melbourne, an up and coming club, that with Geelong, put this competition on the map.

Thanks for those thoughts Millington, and Baysie too-
Yes, we are certainly expecting to make a much bigger impact in 2010, barring bad luck with injuries, of course...

While Miller presented and marked well and Newton got his hands on the footy, what is the use of having key forwards who can take a mark if they can't kick straight? Newton's kicking at goal, in particular, shows no signs of improvement.

There were a few positives, certainly Morton was one, but I saw the game differently. Terrible disposal and kicking for goal, bad decision making through the middle of the ground (note: when streaming through the middle of the ground, don't handball to a stationary team mate who is immediately under pressure) and our tackling was down. I suppose the best thing was that we won enough of the ball to win the game.

Though, not a game I will remember in 5 years time, thats for sure.

Jesus, that is incredible. To think we had that many out and still really took it up to a pretty good, and ultra-competitive Swans outfit shows how far we have come since last year.

Are you kidding. Sydney are shocking as indicated by their previous loss to Carlton by 10 goals who were thrashed in turn by Collingwood by 10 goals. Sydney are in more trouble than we are. That game was equally an indictment of us as them. The only players in that team that would get a game in another team would be Davey,Warnock,Moloney, Morton and Jurrah apologies to Rivers who can no longer play as a floating defender because of the way the game is played.

Morton was great.

Miller is just working towards his round 20-22 for that he has every season to remind us of what he can do so Bailey doesn't delist him.

Newton did a lot of running after defenders when he didn't have the ball so his work ethic couldn't be faulted.

Jordie will be a good player & will be elevated in 2010.

Yeah Morton looked the goodes at CHB.

BTW, I was genuinely cheering the Swans on in those last 5 minutes. What a joke the current system is!