Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

Draft night would be interesting if you didn't have a league of stat chasers trying to make an impression. Imagine recruiters only having their own observations and not relentless amounts of data about kids who simply try to filly their disposal counts to get ahead.
Coates league would go into meltdown.
I used to do it and we never had stats , can cloud judgement

Sometimes I wonder what footy discourse would be like if everyone was like my granddad. He watches footy on mute so there's no commentary, he gets up to stretch his legs at every quarter break so catches none of the recaps, he's never had the AFL app on his phone, doesn't have any social media, doesn't watch any of the footy programs throughout the week.

For about sixty years he has watched footy with absolutely no idea of a single player's stats or accomplishments. When he found out Buddy was nearing the 1000th goal milestone last year, the first thing he said to me was, "That'd have him up with Roach and Hudson wouldn't it?" ("Only about 300-400 goals past them pops")

It's an incredibly uninformed way of watching footy, and yet... I kinda think it's as pure a way as you could possibly watch footy. No outside forces influencing who you think is playing well or having the biggest impact. Just going on who you like watching and think is playing best. I try to be like that myself but even I get sucked in to looking at a players numbers and thinking, oh maybe he wasn't that good after all, etc.

L like your Pop’s approach. I watch on mute. I do look at stats but prefer what my eyes tell me.

Sometimes I wonder what footy discourse would be like if everyone was like my granddad. He watches footy on mute so there's no commentary, he gets up to stretch his legs at every quarter break so catches none of the recaps, he's never had the AFL app on his phone, doesn't have any social media, doesn't watch any of the footy programs throughout the week.

For about sixty years he has watched footy with absolutely no idea of a single player's stats or accomplishments. When he found out Buddy was nearing the 1000th goal milestone last year, the first thing he said to me was, "That'd have him up with Roach and Hudson wouldn't it?" ("Only about 300-400 goals past them pops")

It's an incredibly uninformed way of watching footy, and yet... I kinda think it's as pure a way as you could possibly watch footy. No outside forces influencing who you think is playing well or having the biggest impact. Just going on who you like watching and think is playing best. I try to be like that myself but even I get sucked in to looking at a players numbers and thinking, oh maybe he wasn't that good after all, etc.
I definitely like watching footy without checking fantasy scores constantly like I used to (gave that up before Covid). I'll zone out or do something else in quarter/half breaks. I'll watch games without looking at stats much, get a feel for it, but will look at stats later on to see if it matches up with impressions or if I'm arguing with someone on here and need something tangible to back it up. Don't watch on mute though, like to hear the game and crowd, reasons for frees (so I can yell at the TV with context), anything about injuries or match ups that aren't always on screen.

North's compensation was a birthday gift from a woman who first asked the AFL for the Compensation Package in 2019, Laura Kane. This package has been given on the backdrop of ongoing player mismanagement over 10 years. They have had bonus first round picks and have wasted them.

North are the epitome of the worst football department in AFL history. I am not counting the VFL history in this, as Fitzroy, take the overall cake in that sphere. But this package is just wrong. Let this club live & die by the sword. If they can't survive then well and good, cancel their license. They have been given every opportunity to permanently move to a more productive zone. Which they gave turned down. The only reason they are still afloat is due to the millions in Tassie revenue, which they invested in Pokies venues.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app

The only reason they are still afloat is due to the millions in Tassie revenue, which they invested in Pokies venues

You've officially topped your Bradman statement.

North was the first club to get out of pokies in 2008 when they sold the last of their remaining machines and didn't start playing in Tasmania until 2012. So what you have stated is not remotely true or even possible.

Just more of your usual Trump-like comments

Was at the pub last night and saw Max Gawn in a lululemon commercial.

Excuse Me Reaction GIF by One Chicago

I was 4 beers in and halfway through my crack pipe, so I may have imagined the whole thing.

Anyone who watched the NRL GF, west a win, how good to see a game where the players decide the result, best officiated game all year in the GF…..and what a team those Panthers are….unbelievable.

Officiating and Commentary way better

Unrealistic. There were no chain fences being used as hurdles or gridiron exercises, and I don't think I saw a single wrestling drill?
That’s the thing though, all the parents are pissed off because the videos makes it look like everything was fine, but half the kids came home with broken feet, twisted ankles and dislocated shoulders.

Apparently after the training Mills, Rampes and Konstanty took the kids across the road to Moore Park for a throw of a Gridiron ball, and then the rest they say is history.

Qatar airlines will be spewing.
And, in my opinion that's the worst thing about the whole thing.
Sponsorship money is so valuable, whether you like and agree with the sponsor or not and I would think Emirates would be one of Qatars MAJOR competitor's.

And, in my opinion that's the worst thing about the whole thing.
Sponsorship money is so valuable, whether you like and agree with the sponsor or not and I would think Emirates would be one of Qatars MAJOR competitor's.

Yep. I was almost about to cancel my Qatar Airlines flight and rebook through Emirates when I suddenly stopped myself and realised that's what Robbie Fox WANTS me to do...
I didn't mean that I have a problem with it, but I can see how Qatar might take umbrage to it.

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)