Premier 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter arboc21

Watched Probly 10 local games this year.

Clearly today was the hardest to watch
2-1 goals at 1/2 time

No wonder no one goes an watches

Can’t imagine Bayswater made a profit with the garbage served up

Watched Probly 10 local games this year.

Clearly today was the hardest to watch
2-1 goals at 1/2 time

No wonder no one goes an watches

Can’t imagine Bayswater made a profit with the garbage served up

IMO local footy across the board has been progressively suffering more and more from the same issue the AFLW has - it’s a lot easier to teach defensive structures and prevent other teams from scoring big than it is to develop the skills by hand and foot to overcome modern defensive structures. And guys (and gals) below the elite level just don’t have the natural skills.

And that great balwyn local Jarrod lienert got best on. There’s $80k well spent

lol. Cmon hansie. As if Blackburn don’t recruit. They poach heaps of juniors to feed these Under 19 premierships. Not exactly pure as the driven snow. Go have a relaxing drink and reflect on a good season.

I never said we were pure bunk. But we also don’t roll out rent a merc either. Good balwyn boys like turner (wodonga) lienert (Adelaide) and sure there is more. Only difference between balwyn and donny east is sando

It’s the food chain, all relative. Plenty of clubs who’ve had their juniors poached by Blackburn wouldn’t give two shits. Blackburn are the Balwyn for plenty of other clubs. And I’m not sure there’s zero mercenaries at Blackburn. They’ve used money to win some players like all clubs have.

Blackburn still should’ve won, they’ve let it slip. But they’ll be back next year with an addition or two and will go again.

It’s the food chain, all relative. Plenty of clubs who’ve had their juniors poached by Blackburn wouldn’t give two shits. Blackburn are the Balwyn for plenty of other clubs. And I’m not sure there’s zero mercenaries at Blackburn. They’ve used money to win some players like all clubs have.

Blackburn still should’ve won, they’ve let it slip. But they’ll be back next year with an addition or two and will go again.
I’ve agreed we recruit.
They have a 7 point player who basically won them the game.
He probably wouldn’t even know where the balwyn ground is.
They spend heaps and have no support. They are in the deer park/marby park class.
They will kill the comp with the overs they pay.
And like south belly and Donny east, they are cooked when the money dries up (as it will)
Thinking you are a closet balwyn man - you never rip them like you do the other merc clubs

I’ve agreed we recruit.
They spend heaps and have no support. They are in the deer park/marby park class.
And like south belly and Donny east, they are cooked when the money dries up (as it will)
Thinking you are a closet balwyn man - you never rip them like you do the other merc clubs

Haha I’m certainly not, got no time for them at all, yes I agree they are all mercenaries and I don’t know what the hell their backers get out of buying premierships. Like what have they achieved?

However just pointing out that the supporters of 30-odd clubs down the tree it’s just the same thing they’ve had done to them countless times, it’s the food chain and there’s always a bigger fish (for most). Blackburn got beaten by a bigger fish today and it will hurt.

I’ve agreed we recruit.
Maybe if Blackburn manned up the 7 point player it would’ve been a different result. How was he allowed to stroll inside 50 unmarked? Agree umpire missed the call late, but Blackburn had plenty of chances to win that game and couldn’t get it done.

This is spot on.
Balwyn pay big money to recruit seniors - Blackburn just poach them when they’re juniors and somehow think it’s different.

This is spot on.
Balwyn pay big money to recruit seniors - Blackburn just poach them when they’re juniors and somehow think it’s different.
Blackburn had 12 homegrown in today’s side I reckon that’s a pretty good strike rate
Beats Mitcham’s pisspoor effort last year with 3

When Dan jogged over to balwyns warm up for a cuddle to Haley to get him over to the toss I thought somethings off here.
2.5 hours later an a blokes head gets ripped off. Ball up thanks.

Blackburn had 12 homegrown in today’s side I reckon that’s a pretty good strike rate
Beats Mitcham’s pisspoor effort last year with 3
With how non-existent Mitcham's juniors were for the better part of a decade that's not a massive surprise compared to a club like Blackburn...

Balwyn also have non-existent juniors. They just recruit from the afl…
Yeah but we all know Balwyn's non-existent juniors is just a lack of care factor on their end.