Collegians
SKOBs, but wouldn't surprise if Uni Blues win though
Old Xavs, but no certainty

ScotchiesVFL
Old Melbournians
SKOBAFL their slumps usually last two rounds
WesleyAFL
XavsAFL Unbeatable at the College

27 goals to 2 in OX v OH Ressies game today. If OH get relegated, which looks likely, should there be some kind of minimum standard of Ressies football before they are allowed back in A Grade? Top end OH football OK when they get their VFL boys on the track, but falls away badly

You can’t be serious. This is beyond stupid. It’s an amateur comp where teams lists change hugely year to year. How could you possibly predict things like this before you actually started playing football.
That aside..if you make a GF and can go up via promotion…end of story.

You can’t be serious. This is beyond stupid. It’s an amateur comp where teams lists change hugely year to year. How could you possibly predict things like this before you actually started playing football.
That aside..if you make a GF and can go up via promotion…end of story.
Agreed. You'd never see teams like OT etc that traditionally have a very weak reserves side ever get a chance in Premier (even Collegians generally have a weak reserves side for that matter).

Ultimately overall reserves position on the ladder doesn't mean anything, as long as there is a core group in that side that can come into the seniors when required.

Squad depth will determine win loss from now until August. Look at Reserves ladder to see who can cover absentees

Will Josh Kennedy pull on the boots for Old Xavs , has been training and playing in the Golden Rivers league today in the Carlton Draft guest series . Would he get a permit after that
No....I think bc he gets paid to play the Carlton draught games l, he becomes ineligible.

I'd say this will likely never happen. I mean, it's not like they're the only reserves side that has struggled / is struggling at the moment. I know for a fact that Caulfield Grammarians had to call upon at least a few retired players to play for their reserves side on the weekend and it's only round 8. Plenty of clubs out there are doing it tough numbers wise. Even at Collegians, we had to forfeit our thirds side on the weekend as well.

I was down at Albert Park on the weekend, where I saw Collegians (sans Mirra and a few others) play well enough to do it comfortably against a determined and resolute Caulfield Grammarians side. They lack star power, but they have a good old fashioned crack. I don't usually single out players, but the form of both Sam Sofronidis and Viv Michie is a real sight to behold at the moment. They've been stars of the competition for a while but they are just terrific footballers who play the game with great spirit and should be considered for Big V selection.

I'm looking forward to seeing how the sides go in the middle of the year with the impending European holiday season approaching.

With the bye this week, how about some predictions and chat re : final 4 and the order of it?
FF, I reckon the top four will remain the same other than St Kevins coming into the four at the expense of Old Brighton who seem to have a lot who have already gone overseas / are going overseas in the next 6-8 weeks.

The order of the four I'm not sure, but on what I've seen this year, Old Scotch, Collegians, St Kevins and Uni Blues are the four best sides in it, but it all depends on travel.

FF, I reckon the top four will remain the same other than St Kevins coming into the four at the expense of Old Brighton who seem to have a lot who have already gone overseas / are going overseas in the next 6-8 weeks.

The order of the four I'm not sure, but on what I've seen this year, Old Scotch, Collegians, St Kevins and Uni Blues are the four best sides in it, but it all depends on travel.
MO, Yep Im with you. I think Xavs have slipped a little...Not privy to OB's travel itinerary, but it could be pivotal between them and Xavs.
Think our boys are in the "hunt", injuries and VFL will be be critical for us. (we dont go deep in the talent pool). OS are the real deal and Skobs are just Skobs..............

MO, Yep Im with you. I think Xavs have slipped a little...Not privy to OB's travel itinerary, but it could be pivotal between them and Xavs.
Think our boys are in the "hunt", injuries and VFL will be be critical for us. (we dont go deep in the talent pool). OS are the real deal and Skobs are just Skobs..............
Xavs are very young and I'm sure they'll be a threat, but they just don't have the calibre of players at the top end that the others do, but neither do Scotch, yet they've only lost one game by less than a kick.

Uni Blues have really flown under the radar for mine, I thought they would have been diabolical this year, but they have improved and found a few younger ones who are playing good footy.

It's a very even and competitive season this year in A grade.

It will depend on who gets hot at the pointy end of the season, but Scotch & Xavs have been the best I've seen this year, with Blues coming in 3rd with their veterans getting it done. I think Collegians will also make the 4, with Brighton Holidayers and SKOBS Hangovers missing out.

K, I would swap Xavs for Skobs. Not so sure about the holiday makers...

No hangover for SKOB mate, that would be disrespectful to the teams they’ve lost to, but they’ve literally had 10-12 of last years premiership side missing for half of the season!

They should be a lot stronger in the back half of the year, but agree at this point Scotch are making the running, and good luck to them, they’ve been brilliant.

No hangover for SKOB mate, that would be disrespectful to the teams they’ve lost to, but they’ve literally had 10-12 of last years premiership side missing for half of the season!

They should be a lot stronger in the back half of the year, but agree at this point Scotch are making the running, and good luck to them, they’ve been brilliant.
OS TRAVEL ?