Preview Preview and Changes Vs Adelaide

On 5double-crow they were saying that Dom and Gray should slot back into the side. Said talent wins all the time and that Gray had done his time in the SANFL. He thinks we need Dom for the experienced head. What does that guy Rowie smoke. This team is experienced in winning. They showed that when they had an opponent that was on top of them they could knuckle down and get the job done.

NO CHANGES UNLESS SOMEBODY DOESN'T COME UP.

No call for "tough nuts" Matt Thomas and Tom Logan's return from the 5AA boys tonight? It is only Monday I guess. Plenty of time.

Looking forward to the game this week, hoping it's going to be an entertaining encounter. I know a lot of footy pundits have drawn attention to the fact the you guys have played two struggling teams over the last two weeks, but a win is a win. Are any of you concerned that the Crows might be better prepared for this weekend given that they've have had two bruising matches to kick off the season, whereas the Power have played two very young, inexperienced sides?

For what it's worth I believe we'll go in completely unchanged. Ken Hinkley may talk up the Showdown this week as part of his media commitments, but he'll be treating it as just another game he wants to win. He's been picking the boys he's been picking because he believes in them to do the business. He'll tweak a few things here and there game-wise but other than that he'll keep moving forward with the guys who've started the season with 2 good wins.

Looking forward to the game this week, hoping it's going to be an entertaining encounter. I know a lot of footy pundits have drawn attention to the fact the you guys have played two struggling teams over the last two weeks, but a win is a win. Are any of you concerned that the Crows might be better prepared for this weekend given that they've have had two bruising matches to kick off the season, whereas the Power have played two very young, inexperienced sides?

I know you think you're being nice but this is really kind of condescending. We're quite happy with where we're at right now and with what we've done so far this pre-season and and in the first 2 rounds. I really don't think we could have done anymore.

You lost your first game at home and fell over the line to a side coached by Michael Voss.

Ive loved the form of our backline
Heath, Jonas, Stevenson, Pittard even O'Shea at times. They've all acquitted themselves really well.

If whenever Hombsch runs into fitness and form and the selection committee is looking for an additional tall back to complement Carlile and Trengove it'll be interesting to see who drops out of the five above.

Dont worry about experience... My man Campbell Heath plays like a 150 gamer anyway ! #theprofessional

Yeah, but he's not. Ability is irrelevant, we need moar experience.

Changes for this week:
Out: Heath, Stevenson, Wines, Neade, Mitchell
In: Logan, Cassisi, Thomas, Gray (injury be damned, he has experience), Brettbert (just had surgery? We don't care. Experience, mother****ers).

I'll answer your question with another question - are you concerned that the Crows are so under-done that they lost to Essendon at home quite comfortably, and had to rely on the heroics of Dangerfield to get them over the line against a remarkably poor Brisbane who lost to a team that many tipped for the wooden spoon at the start of the season?

Also - are we talking about the same, inexperienced GWS side that your team of superstars could only manage to beat by a similar margin in Round 4 last year?

I'd also add that we went into last season's round 5 showdown coming off St Kilda, Essendon, Sydney and Collingwood. You'd played Gold Coast, Footscray, Hawthorn and GWS. You ran over the top of us in the last quarter.

Also, I believe we're the second youngest side in the comp at the moment, so your "inexperienced" point is nonsensical.

I'll answer your question with another question - are you concerned that the Crows are so under-done that they lost to Essendon at home quite comfortably, and had to rely on the heroics of Dangerfield to get them over the line against a remarkably poor Brisbane who lost to a team that many tipped for the wooden spoon at the start of the season?

Also - are we talking about the same, inexperienced GWS side that your team of superstars could only manage to beat by a similar margin in Round 4 last year?
No need to start a s***fight, was merely commenting on each teams preparation for this week's game, purely from a physical point of view. The Power have played the two undisputed lightweights of the comp so I'm merely asking if Power fans think their team will be ready for a tough, hard game of footy?

It was always going to be hard to beat a rampant Essendon who had something to prove to the comp, plus Adelaide came off a pre season that was 4 weeks shorter than Essendon's.

Is that 'remarkably poor' Brisbane the same mob that beat you guys at home last year in Rd 22, I forget?

GWS may be shit, but they're not soft. I bet our mob came out of last week's game in more pain than your mob did after playing Vossy's frontrunners.

Yeah nah. We played in a mix of dry and wet and were stuffed. It was an intense hit out. IIRC a commentator said at one point it was one of if not the best game of the year so far. With 2 minutes to go there was 6 points in it. Brisbane were far better than you give them credit for, coz that's what you want to think.

Yeah nah. We played in a mix of dry and wet and were stuffed. It was an intense hit out. IIRC a commentator said at one point it was one of if not the best game of the year so far. With 2 minutes to go there was 6 points in it. Brisbane were far better than you give them credit for, coz that's what you want to think. Certainly harder at it than the GWS teenagers.

Yep, it couldn't be that Brisbane are currently sitting 17th on the ladder and got beaten by 10+ goals against one of last year's bottom 4 side the Western Bulldogs. It must just be that it's what I want to think.

Challenge: Name a tough, bruising Brisbane Lion not named Jonathan Brown or Brent Moloney.

No need to start a s***fight, was merely commenting on each teams preparation for this week's game, purely from a physical point of view. The Power have played the two undisputed lightweights of the comp so I'm merely asking if Power fans think their team will be ready for a tough, hard game of footy?

It was always going to be hard to beat a rampant Essendon who had something to prove to the comp, plus Adelaide came off a pre season that was 4 weeks shorter than Essendon's.

Is that 'remarkably poor' Brisbane the same mob that beat you guys at home last year in Rd 22, I forget?

GWS also beat us last year, so what's your point? That because Brisbane pushed the Crows, somehow that validates them (the Lions) as being better than they really are? One could say that the only reason why they were so tough was because they were so insipid the week before and had something to prove, but I guess we'll never know.

As for Essendon, it was nothing to do with pre-season. It was all mental application. Essendon wanted it more, simple as that.

You ask if the team will be ready. Take a look at our coach. Does he look like someone who wouldn't prepare his team for the rough stuff? I think we'll be right. In fact, I'd hazard a guess and say our guys will be itching to actually prove themselves against your mob. The tables will be turned this time in the fourth quarter - you'll be the ones who are tiring after a brutal game in the humidity of Brisbane. Just so you've got your excuse ready if you lose :)

Nah, if they lose the excuse will be the disruption caused by the Ricky Henderson incident.

Mate we are the 2nd youngest side behind gws....so Yeah a win is a win but its also how we win the teams we played were lucky we were inaccurate and didnt take full advantage of our dominance...

This is a fascinating time as a Port supporter. Looked at the tingles board as I do with all our opposition teams. They seem to be putting more stock into the Showdowns because they are playing us. This board is treating this like any other game. I think our team is more disciplined and don't care about whether we beat them but getting the 4 points and improving each week.

A perusal of the tingles board is interesting though. Their team seems less settled as Jacobs and a few of their mids are out of form. Some of them comment that next week is our first test against decent opposition and one suggested we are mutton dressed up as lamb. I look forward to next week. Less pressure on us and really looking forward for us to play our best game of the year. Really think we can still lift a few gears.

Saw signs from Wingard, the Hoff and Lobbe. Still think Boak, Broadbent and Bradbert can lift to another level. Our best is yet to come and it could be this Sunday.

you haven't beaten anyone yet....Melbourne the soon to be spooners and GWS the spooners runner up....

Thanks for your contribution.

I don't think anyone here needs reminding of the opposition we've beaten this year. Going into last years round 5 showdown you'd beaten 3 bottom 4 teams and got thumped by Hawthorn. You ran over us in the last quarter.

A warning to crows supporters - this is the Port Board, not the Adelaide Board or Bay 13. Be careful how far you take your barracking.

Some time soon, I'd like to see Moore, Renouf, Butcher and Gray play in this team but I'm buggered if I know who would make way for them.

First world problems.