Primus - how is the gloss looking

Re: Primus - is the gloss wearing off already

Yeah I heard most of that the other day, but forgot to make a post about it. It is the most impressive he has sounded in an interview since his presser where he was given the job.

Took it on the chin and dished out some straight words and the ummhs and arrrghs were almost completely eliminated.

He highlighted, underlined, italicised(?) and bolded the complete ineptness of Cornes and Rowe as "experts" of the game.

Get Malthouse to voice over the same words from Primus and every man and their dog would be nodding their heads.

:thumbsu: Matty.

Our players and leaders have stage fright at present.. Hard work..yep they may be fitter, they may be able to tackle but anxiety kills performance. What are they doing mentally to address this situation..
Quote MP... we have to delve into the psych of our players... Who decided this is done by hard physical work .. Anxiety makes people tired before they begin..nervous energy wastes effort on a field...what are they doing about this ??
You all want to flog people when great leaders know when to take the foot off and build some bloody confidence... Hard work and mental preparation...be accountable in all areas.

repetition is one way of breaking the mental shackles ..of course repetition of correct techniques

some say a martial artist will need to practice a technique 400 odd times to go into the subconscious and become natural and be able to pull it out in a stress time

another way is speeding up the drills to warp speed and then when performed at normal match speed they become quite good (I tghink GC suns are doing this...

and of course wins breed wins and success breeds success..

Credit where it's due. Last week Primus went into the AA studio to be interviewed by Cornes and Rowe. He then offered to stay for the rest of the show to take calls from Port supporters. They weren't prepared to give him the rest of the show entirely but he stayed on another 30 minutes answering calls.

Here's the AA audio.

"we are working towards that"
"gee if we only knew"

seems he said the bleeding obvious

still, he can't please everyone, just seems sad he's talking about discovering things we all know and knew all along

too much defending his defenders
his comments on Boak and Oshea were laughable

that he didn't know- or wasn't advised Kane/ Glenelg had a bye is disgraceful, i mean i'd fire someone for not advising me of that

i could go on. nice to hear his voice, but underwhelmed

oh, and too much reliance on pointless statistics. dont defend Brogan with Champion data stats when we can all see it with our eyes

I'm a Paul Roo's, Mick Malthouse fan of bringing em to Adelaide but as Katrina Gill said in her article with Hamish, Primus needs time.

Out of interest, were you a Mick Malthouse fan when West Coast eagles were sliding downhill fast or when Collingwood was crap?

EDIT: West Coast went down hill rapidly just after he left, however apparently (at the time) it was all due to his list management.
At Collingwood they went from 2nd to 13th and then 2nd last and people were saying that the only reason they made the finals is due to all the high draft pick including when he coached them to 15th (that is the first time he coached them to 2nd last not the second time in 2005).

Out of interest, were you a Mick Malthouse fan when West Coast eagles were sliding downhill fast or when Collingwood was crap?

EDIT: West Coast went down hill rapidly just after he left, however apparently (at the time) it was all due to his list management.
At Collingwood they went from 2nd to 13th and then 2nd last and people were saying that the only reason they made the finals is due to all the high draft pick including when he coached them to 15th (that is the first time he coached them to 2nd last not the second time in 2005).

Narr always a fan.

Remember Collingwoods sticking to the wing plan was crap once upon a time also.

I find myself referring to Primus as "Terry" more and more. I can't help but see him as our Terry Wallace.

Terry wallace bulldogs era, richmond era or both?

I'm struggling to see how any comparison between Primus and Wallace is posisble other than the obvious both played football and are/were senior coaches.

Terry wallace bulldogs era, richmond era or both?

I'm struggling to see how any comparison between Primus and Wallace is posisble other than the obvious both played football and are/were senior coaches.

A Cocho/Wallace comparison over the years would be far more apt.

Primus ought to be looking like our Hardwick then.

Cleanouts (note plural), simplify game plan, play kids, *require* that everyone put in and a bit of cultural HTFU all round from the group. Plus a lot of patience on the part of fans for a while, go downhill at first then start to win consistently in the second or third year. We look to have miscalculated this year's fitness requirements, which IMO is hard to distinguish from being mentally soft especially in 3rd & 4th quarters. Our fans, lacking in patience, the "have we already lost a KPP to GWS" wild card still in play, but the other elements are underway.

Was anyone realistically expecting a miraculous overnight success story ?

Narr always a fan.

Me too. I wanted Mick or Matthews instead of Choco in 1999.

A Cocho/Wallace comparison over the years would be far more apt.

Primus ought to be looking like our Hardwick then.

Cleanouts (note plural), simplify game plan, play kids, *require* that everyone put in and a bit of cultural HTFU all round from the group. Plus a lot of patience on the part of fans for a while, go downhill at first then start to win consistently in the second or third year. We look to have miscalculated this year's fitness requirements, which IMO is hard to distinguish from being mentally soft especially in 3rd & 4th quarters. Our fans, lacking in patience, the "have we already lost a KPP to GWS" wild card still in play, but the other elements are underway.

I know I wasn't (and aren't) - we are coming from a long way back. I expect to see signs of progress over the next couple of weeks and then hopefully we put some decent games together in the 2nd half of the year. Injuries have set us back somewhat and could still kill what some might think is an optimistic outlook (eg. Rodan). I reckon we'd have one or two more wins if we'd had Cassissi and Schultz all year.

Of course bigger problems like list management and footy dept gaps are impossible to rectify overnight.

The Gloss is gone, he will need a 44 Gallon drum of Mr Sheen to get this mob to shine.
To many weak, soft , front running pushovers who have the football skills of a Egg.

Terry Wallace Richmond style. Basically "sure, we're losing, but we got a plan and we just gotta stick to that plan. Truuuust me I'm a raaaaat."

*5 years later, same old shit*

I was expecting that we would at least be far more competitive than we have been so far this year and a good chance to make the 8. Really did not think we would be second from bottom after 7 weeks.

The confidence that Primus seems to have in his plan is very encouraging to me, and I have a lot of faith that he is taking us in the right direction.

Hopefully we can get a good team of assistant coaches around him, and bring in some good players through trades. Then be ready to challenge again in a couple of years.

I've pretty much given up on us challenging for the flag at all this year, to be honest I think we won't even make the finals. I'd like to see us do so, but I'd prefer to see us playing well and losing, than playing badly and winning (if that makes sense?). For example, I was quite happy with the game on the weekend as IMO it was a showing of progress. And it is progress that will lead us to success.

The Gloss is gone, he will need a 44 Gallon drum of Mr Sheen to get this mob to shine.
To many weak, soft , front running pushovers who have the football skills of a Egg.
That is Primus' fault?

Not arguing with you here but the title is about Primus, not the players. You cannot blame Primus for the players input yet, maybe in 12 months time if there is no improvement, then you maybe able to.
Primus is in the process of cleaning out the dead wood, you have to give him some grace to do this.
At the end of the day I still think Port has chosen the right Coach to take them forward. People who say Chris Scott would have been a better choice are deluded, with the state of the football club at the moment, if Scott had of come and made some progress, he would have p*ssed off to a Melbourne club at the first available opportunity. And if he didnt make progress then we would be arguing right now about what a sh*t coach he is.
Primus is here, I think he knows his stuff, he has a love for the club and he will be in for the long haul. Thats just what the club needs.

Was he in charge by trade time?
From my point of view, yes, from your previously stated point of view, some other bloke was and still is in charge. :p

To blame Primus for the state of our list is ludicrous.

Being in charge at trade time has little relevance to being able to replace "to (sic) many weak, soft , front running pushovers who have the football skills of a (sic) Egg" with good players in trade week.

Unfortunately, despite what many BigFooty posters believe, there aren't many, if any, AFL clubs out there that are willing to trade us their good players for our bad players. :)

Wharfie I agree we can't blame Primus for the state of our list. I blame Choco, we are two years behind where we should be as this should have started in 2009, after 2007, 2008 was enough to show stuff needed to happen, but Choco was all about protecting his job. Maybe that was the boards fault who knows.

I do think us as supporters and Primus were sucked in however in those last 7 games. obviously other teams were tanking and didn't want to win. However we didn't and now look where we are.

Back on your point Wharfie I am sure some of our bad players would become good players elsewhere. Westhoff would tear it up and Geelong and Collingwood no doubt as would Danyle, Kane, perhaps even Surjan.

As a team they suck here :)

No it's not his fault and i never said it was BUT...The Buck stops with him like in any other team sport worldwide.
There is no Gloss in 16th position and that's the bottom line... well pretty close to it:rolleyes:

We are so close i feel we are in it ;)

Not arguing with you here but the title is about Primus, not the players. You cannot blame Primus for the players input yet, maybe in 12 months time if there is no improvement, then you maybe able to.
Primus is in the process of cleaning out the dead wood, you have to give him some grace to do this.
At the end of the day I still think Port has chosen the right Coach to take them forward. People who say Chris Scott would have been a better choice are deluded, with the state of the football club at the moment, if Scott had of come and made some progress, he would have p*ssed off to a Melbourne club at the first available opportunity. And if he didnt make progress then we would be arguing right now about what a sh*t coach he is.
Primus is here, I think he knows his stuff, he has a love for the club and he will be in for the long haul. Thats just what the club needs.
I am not 100% sure about that,he would have been pretty happy to have a senior AFL coaching job and to run away would have made him look bad to another perspective team.
I am not a Primus fan myself, the west coast game last year did his dash for me but the club knows better,thats why we are 16th now and looking at a more of the same for years to come.
He is not the reason for our demise but like in most other sports he will get the chop if things continue.

I am not 100% sure about that,he would have been pretty happy to have a senior AFL coaching job and to run away would have made him look bad to another perspective team.
I am not a Primus fan myself, the west coast game last year did his dash for me but the club knows better,thats why we are 16th now and looking at a more of the same for years to come.
He is not the reason for our demise but like in most other sports he will get the chop if things continue.

In my mind the jury is still out until towards the end of the year. Some of the player efforts we have seen throughout the past month are more concerning to me, although I will acknowledge that the two issues are intertwined to some extent.