QAFL 2017

reading the aflq round wrap up today on their website .... honestly ,, half a joke ..
The report on the Broadbeach vs Morningside game said Broadbeach player in the name of David King was a gun performer up forward ,,, fact is , King played full back all game !!! I think the QAFL reporter was referring to Xavier Mcmahon or even Ryan Djienes ... wow ,, such poor reporting

Looking forward to the first week of finals should be some great footy played. Who's your tips? Palmy have a good record against Broady, hopefully there's a bounce back after the weekends game up at Sandgate.
Sundays game looks to be a ripper also.
You've got to love September

Palm Beaches biggest challenge is not to let last week have any effect n not to look too far ahead cos if they don't respect Broadbeach this Saturday they'll get their lance pull down.

Morningside to win by 20pts.

I tip Morningside to defeat Mt Gravatt ... in the elimination final
As of the Broady vs PBC ... my heart says Broady but my mind says PBC.
PBC have a strong side named ... Shame it is for Broady to have lost Shreeve, Searl, Ellis for the season and big Brewer is battling injury and not on the park ,, as is NEAFL player in Burton. Also we dont have gun Eddie Sansbury available due to his committments to the NEAFL Suns . Now that is 5 or 6 players that one would say are in our top 12 players ,,, take this out of any side in the comp and it makes a huge difference to a side on game day ,...anyway ,, thats how it is and Broady have to cope with this ...

Well if today is an indicator of the finals we are in for a ripper. Top game of footy with the cooler heads of palmy getting them over the line. A couple of undisciplined acts towards the end cost broadie the game, but the cats looked the better side for a lot of the game. 6 behinds in a row in the third quarter including 3-4 from 10 metres out proved costly too.

Classier finishing and better discipline the difference. Overall though a fast high quality tough physical game worthy of a final.

Well if today is an indicator of the finals we are in for a ripper. Top game of footy with the cooler heads of palmy getting them over the line. A couple of undisciplined acts towards the end cost broadie the game, but the cats looked the better side for a lot of the game. 6 behinds in a row in the third quarter including 3-4 from 10 metres out proved costly too.

Classier finishing and better discipline the difference. Overall though a fast high quality tough physical game worthy of a final.

Was a ripper game for The neutral. I must say though the umpiring wasn't great overall for a final. Have to let the game go more.

But a great day of local finals footy. A decent crowd there not sure on numbers but would say maybe 1500?

Yes was a classic game ,, finals games can be a dour pack congested affair, but this game was not ,,, the footy played by both sides was exceptional,,, with the ball moving from end to end so quickly ... made it a great game to watch....

Was a ripper game for The neutral. I must say though the umpiring wasn't great overall for a final. Have to let the game go more.

But a great day of local finals footy. A decent crowd there not sure on numbers but would say maybe 1500?

Dezario,,
fully agree ,, best QAFL game Ive seen for some time .....crowd I reckon was around 1100 or 1200 ... I dont think it was 1500... ..

Rue the one that got away Broadbeach
The day did not start well with 2 of our better players ( Pantic and Spackman ) being late withdrawls ... I though ,, shit we will get half belted today ..
How WRONG

Broady ,, rue the one that away.
Was not a good start to the day when 2 of our better player withdrew ( Pantic and Spackman )
I thought shit , we are going to get half belted today ..
How wrong I was ,,,, we led at every change and by 4 points at the 25 minute mark of the final quarter .
Then PBC were rewarded a free kick some 20 metres out from goal that was just not a free kick ,, even the PBC supporters could not believe it ... so a goal results and PBC take the lead .. centre bounce and PBC go forward , A broady player wins the ball and kicks a long ball into the half forward line where we have 3 players free... But ,,, behind the play , one of our backline players threw a punch into the stomach of a PBC player .. the umpire that only a minute before that had awarded that free kick to PBC as ive mentioned before ,, blows his whistle and awards a free kick to PBC.. another goal and PBC 8 points up ... then as the footy is being returned ,, yet another Broady player let loose verbally on this umpire ,, so the umpire blows his whistle and gives a free to PBC from 10 metres out ... so PBC score 2 goals from these brain explosions by 2 Broady players...
oh my ,, anyway thats footy.

Dezario,,
fully agree ,, best QAFL game Ive seen for some time .....crowd I reckon was around 1100 or 1200 ... I dont think it was 1500... ..

Was a beauty. Great support from both clubs. Broady played some great footy but palmy were never out of it.

Young #18 (Nutting I think) I a gun for his age. All class.

Looking forward to the Elimination final tomorow hopefully another close one

Pretty similar to the Magpies, and Panthers similar earlier in the year

Thommo
all im saying is that at this stage of the season be it finals we have 8 topline players out ,, and I have named them and anyone who knows their QAFL footy would agree with me that the loss of these topline players is hurting us ,, just as it would any other team ...in any league .
I will add,, we also lost our number 1 ruckman some 9
weeks ago and a regular midfielder ( be it Palmer and Nelson ) ,, these guys are not in our top 12 players but they are/were regular players at senior level on game day ..

No sense in crying over spilt milk stuyd. The 22 available players had a good crack but just not good enough. Hopefully a couple of boys get up for next week.

Yeah the ump got that decision wrong at the end of the game, talked into it by the ressies players in the pocket, but overall I felt the umpiring was pretty good today, and a few of our boys lost their cool which was costly.

Nutting is a talent and I look forward to draft/ rookie draft , I reckon his name could get called.

I'll keenly follow the game tomorrow

Broady ,, rue the one that away.
Was not a good start to the day when 2 of our better player withdrew ( Pantic and Spackman )
I thought shit , we are going to get half belted today ..
How wrong I was ,,,, we led at every change and by 4 points at the 25 minute mark of the final quarter .
Then PBC were rewarded a free kick some 20 metres out from goal that was just not a free kick ,, even the PBC supporters could not believe it ... so a goal results and PBC take the lead .. centre bounce and PBC go forward , A broady player wins the ball and kicks a long ball into the half forward line where we have 3 players free... But ,,, behind the play , one of our backline players threw a punch into the stomach of a PBC player .. the umpire that only a minute before that had awarded that free kick to PBC as ive mentioned before ,, blows his whistle and awards a free kick to PBC.. another goal and PBC 8 points up ... then as the footy is being returned ,, yet another Broady player let loose verbally on this umpire ,, so the umpire blows his whistle and gives a free to PBC from 10 metres out ... so PBC score 2 goals from these brain explosions by 2 Broady players...
oh my ,, anyway thats footy.

Stuyd1,

I feel for your anguish on the umpires, this seems to be a problem across the board, with exception to the top level at the AFL, as you know the NEAFL Comp is not much better when it comes to (from we most see) getting the decisions correct, we know what the rules state!!! But when it come to the umpires interpretations this is where we see the problem and only 50% of Supporters agree (depending on which side of the fence you sit) especially when Club sides seem to play AFL Reserve sides. If the umpires are not mentioned in dispatches (No matter who wins or loses) then they have done a great job and lately this is just not the case - Word is from yesterdays Lions v Syd Uni game is that the umpires favoured the Lions all day?????
I can't comment on the QAFL I plan to see my first game for the season today, I would suggest that if the QAFL are struggling with getting quality decisions makers then they should use the NEAFL umpires for finals, but I fear they are all in the same boat ORDINARY!!!!!
The AFL have now cleaned the game up so much that I think the emphasise should be at getting the adjudicator's better at there interpretations and their consistency especially at AFLQ and the NEAFL Level. Andrew Stephens is the only BJ, AFLQ, NEAFL now AFL Umpire that has made it to the top level on a consistent basis and he has got to be 25yo or so, What does that say about our current state based Umpiring programs, when we have had so many players drafted - Why not Umpires???? We obviously don't coach them to go to the next level!!!!!!!

The worst Descion I have ever seen in my life yesterday late Arvo at Salk Oval.

The umpires name is Ash Gardner. He has umpired the cats for at least 2 thirds of the season and has a hatrid against Broady.

As Stuyd1 said.

2nd QTR - Payed a deliberate and they scored which was outrageous.

Last QTR - first avg. Free they scored. Then Broady about to score and after Cats player was hit in the chin and retaliated with a whack to the guts and the umpire payed that one and yeah goal.
Then finally the cats led by 1 point with 1 min to go and Sharp picks the ball up half a metre in the boundary in the pocket in front of at least 100 PBC supporters and they cheer ball. The tackle was completed after the boundary umpire blew it out and 2m of the boundary. And Umpire Gardner payed the holding the ball because he Shit himself. Goal and costs the cats again. All year this idiot has cost us. Absolute cheating.

Lot of heat on the umpires after the game and rightly so. Even PBC people apologizing for the result.

Cats move on but their will be changes in the umpiring department because flogs like Gardner ruin the game for the players, coaches, staff and supporters.

The umpires name is Ash Gardner. He has umpired the cats for at least 2 thirds of the season and has a hatrid against Broady.

As Stuyd1 said.

Last QTR - first avg. Free they scored. Then Broady about to score and after Cats player was hit in the chin and retaliated with a whack to the guts and the umpire payed that one and yeah goal.
Then finally the cats led by 1 point with 1 min to go and Sharp picks the ball up half a metre in the boundary in the pocket in front of at least 100 PBC supporters and they cheer ball. The tackle was completed after the boundary umpire blew it out and 2m of the boundary. And Umpire Gardner payed the holding the ball because he Shit himself. Goal and costs the cats again. All year this idiot has cost us. Absolute cheating.

Lot of heat on the umpires after the game and rightly so. Even PBC people apologizing for the result.

Cats move on but their will be changes in the umpiring department because flogs like Gardner ruin the game for the players, coaches, staff and supporters.

I understand cats fans would be bitter towards the umps but they pretty bad both ways it wasn't one sided. The only difference being the ones that went against cats late were crucial to the stage of the match.

The holding the ball at the death was most definitely not a free a kick. I just watched the video before and was an aweful decision. But I don't think palmy supporters will be apologising!

Sucks that the talking point of a great final is the umpires!

As Stuyd1 said.

Thrown the toys out of the cot again Gaz.

I was right there and while it wasn't a great decision, it would've been a throw in, in the fwd pocket and Palmy were all over you. Maybe don't start chipping the ball around with 10 minutes to go and you'll take the result out of the umpires hands.

Besides that decision I didn't see any other poor decisions on the day.

Palm Beaches biggest challenge is not to let last week have any effect n not to look too far ahead cos if they don't respect Broadbeach this Saturday they'll get their lance pull down.

Morningside to win by 20pts.

Morningside won by 16pts & Palmy got out of jail so I'd say my tip was pretty good!