Discussion Question and Answer Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gibbsy

How do you pronounce the company 'Sekem'... For some reason I've always read it as Seekem, actually thought it was spelt that way but I just realised it only has 2 e's, makes me think it is said Seck-em.

I always pronounced it seckem.

Can somebody please tell me the name of the font the AFL website uses for the heading in its banners. Thanks.

Example-
simon-black-120427dfcn.jpg

Looks like Futura Light down the bottom, so the headline is quite possibly Futura Heavy.

Yeah, I'm not a big fan of it either.
I'm not sure. We wore red shorts with our old guernsey which also had a fair bit of white on it.

Is there a local league designs thread as well?

About 12 months ago there was a thread on a collection from the northern football league

Hey guys, really-really in need of some help...
Okay, so i found this badge laying around the house which we must have had for a long time since I'd never seen it, and I've started wearing it pinned on my school jumper.

The badge itself is a plan metal version of the Essendon logo, not round with a picture of the Essendon logo, it's a badge of the logo itself.

yiDUE.jpg

(sorry this is the only picture I have)

Now one of my close friends, who is also an avid Essendon supporter, DESPERATELY wants a badge exactly like this one, but I have no idea where/when I got it...
Has anyone seen this badge before, or one for another club? Where abouts can you get them?

Thanks.

I reckon its a member badge. If you look on meros site you can see when they 1 st started using that logo & mabye check on ebay for membership badges from that era? Just a idea

I would seriously doubt it was for the members.
Peter Jackson was Essendon GM for most of those years and he spent Essendon's money like it was borrowed.
Under his direction Essendon did not spend money on what they should have, let alone on trinkets for the members. They were lucky to get a plastic ruler.
Therefore I would say this is some sort of promotional thing.
Given it's from after 1997 (when that logo came in) it would have to be an AFL Licensed manufacturer.
I would look on Ebay as the only place I could think of to find anything like this. You could call AFL Licensing Dept 03 9643 1999 or email them brandapprovals@afl.com.au

Or you could sell him yours. I mean, if he really wants it.

And PS Essendon will probably change their logo in the next year or two, so it might be a way of getting a little value out of something that will be out of date soon enough.

Thanks guys, I don't think I'll have much luck finding another one tbh...

I am praying we change our logo in this offseason, I think a best possible outcome logo would be a pilots badge, possibly with jet wings rather than that of a bird, with the EFC monogram or the red sash in the center.

The badge itself is a plan metal version of the Essendon logo, not round with a picture of the Essendon logo, it's a badge of the logo itself.

yiDUE.jpg

Has anyone seen this badge before, or one for another club? Where abouts can you get them?

They were common - sort of thing you'd pick up at club shops, AFL shops, Spectator Sports et al. If not badges, then keyrings in the same shape, bottle openers and what not. Your friend should get onto eBay, there should be something there.

Probably should have blurred out the Heathmont College logo on your jumper too, in case someone recognises it. Yes, I'm being ironic.

The famous 2007 Port Adelaide heritage guernsey (with the 100th anniversary logo and the white panel on the back with the black number). I know match worns (and presumably PIs for players who didn't play in the heritage round) were auctioned off on the club website at the time, but there's also replica versions with no number on the back floating around. How many of these are there and how were they distributed to the public? Were they also auctioned on the club website?

Bump. Not trying to toot my own horn here but this is a really good thread which answers heaps of questions and serves a very particular purpose. When people come onto this board, generally they're asking a question and if there's not a relevant thread than this should be the place to go. Just personally I think it may be deserving of a sticky just as a point of reference for people from outside of the board.

The famous 2007 Port Adelaide heritage guernsey (with the 100th anniversary logo and the white panel on the back with the black number). I know match worns (and presumably PIs for players who didn't play in the heritage round) were auctioned off on the club website at the time, but there's also replica versions with no number on the back floating around. How many of these are there and how were they distributed to the public? Were they also auctioned on the club website?

I've got 1 of 3 replicas. Bought it from a women who worked at the club. Think I spent $500 or so on it.

Worth every cent.

This should be stickied, I think. Some interesting information, and it's a pity that pointless and repetitive polls take up space on the first page.

My question is whether Myer Melbourne ever sold AFL licensed gear. My old man has told me about the first time I went to Melbs. It was in '96 and he reckons a bunch of Fitzroy gear was on sale (scarves for like $3, jumpers for $10). He mentioned the basement or something. I obviously can't remember as I was a toddler, but what was their connection to footy like?

Not even sure if this is the right thread, but does anyone have a good version/vector version of the East Fremantle Shark? Have only ever managed to find the crappy versions on google and I can't find my old jumper to scan/trace. Many thanks!

My question is whether Myer Melbourne ever sold AFL licensed gear. My old man has told me about the first time I went to Melbs. It was in '96 and he reckons a bunch of Fitzroy gear was on sale (scarves for like $3, jumpers for $10). He mentioned the basement or something. I obviously can't remember as I was a toddler, but what was their connection to footy like?

Answer: Most definitely yes. In the 1990s, Myer Melbourne had a sports basement which had a wide variety of licensed gear. By 2000, 2001 or so, they didn't sell any of that kind of stuff any more and the basement had turned into some street fashion spot. But last century, Myer was the place to go. Myer Doncaster was where I saw Viatel-sponsored Collingwood jumpers a month or two after the sponsorship fell through, back in the day.

Worth noting that the AFL Shop franchises began around 1998... that'd be more likely when the changeover above happened, too.

I kid you not this is where i seen my one & only ochre for sale. Myer basement.

It was the best it was huge & it has a tennis section where you could try out tennis raquets it was the best!
Now you just caught my attention.

Hey guys, really-really in need of some help...
Okay, so i found this badge laying around the house which we must have had for a long time since I'd never seen it, and I've started wearing it pinned on my school jumper.

Well, were you a Essendon member?
Because when I was a Crows member, I used to get a badge exactly like that, except with "Silver Member *insert year here*".

Now you just caught my attention.
At Sportsmart in Moorabin, Victoria, they have hundreds of tennis racquets and they do the same thing. They have a wall, and you can just rock up and have a hit to 'try out' a new $300 tennis racquet.