TOO
Before i proceed, this is not anything against Browny and the quality and professionalism he has given the tigers, but....

Been thinking about the recruitment of Browny and the timing of such a move by the tigers. Forgetting the out of left field, terrible injury he suffered. Did we really need to recruit such a star at the time we recruited him? I mean, and in hindsight, would we have not been in a better position now, to lure a big bucks star within the premium age group, if we hadnt? Or was it purely the case where it was a message to future recruits that stars want to play for the tigers, if you know what i mean?;)

Before i proceed, this is not anything against Browny and the quality and professionalism he has given the tigers, but....

Been thinking about the recruitment of Browny and the timing of such a move by the tigers. Forgetting the out of left field, terrible injury he suffered. Did we really need to recruit such a star at the time we recruited him? I mean, and in hindsight, would we have not been in a better position now, to lure a big bucks star within the premium age group, if we hadnt? Or was it purely the case where it was a message to future recruits that stars want to play for the tigers, if you know what i mean?;)
From memory at the time our club, under Frawley, was desperate to get anyone who could boost our profile both on and off the field. Perhaps ironic that we won a wooden spoon with Brown in his first year. In hindsight, it was a bit short-sighted but we had come off two very disappointing years in 2002-3 where we had lost whatever respect we had gained in 2001. As for luring a big bucks star within the premium age group, Chris Judd type moves aside, I'm not sure these trades normally occur these days. In recent years we've added Sugar, Brown, Simmonds, Polak, McMo, now Cuz. I'd rather we continue to focus on rebuilding from within.

We needed some one to boost our profile and thats what we did by getting browny.If browny had'nt hurt his leg we would of played finals that year for sure.

has been a fine player for us and looks in great nick on the cusp of 2009 season...not sure anyone couyld challenge the notion of adding a top 4 player (our list) for a No 6 draft pick. It's pretty clear that he is a real leader amongst the playing group and has been widely embraced by the fans, doing our membership and publicity no harm at all....has been a good pick up, no doubt:thumbsu:

Any past recruiting in the last ten years helped us finish last in 2007 and with thus ensured our greatness with the availability of Trent Cotchin with our pick (thanks Carlton).

So personally I look back at all decisions leading upto 2007 as a master stroke by the club....

Any past recruiting in the last ten years helped us finish last in 2007 and with thus ensured our greatness with the availability of Trent Cotchin with our pick (thanks Carlton).

So personally I look back at all decisions leading upto 2007 as a master stroke by the club....

yeah the recruiting the 5 years prior to TW's start was the masterstroke, and TW's stance in playing the real stars of that, i.e. Hyde, Tivendale & Pettifer, and keeping to that well hidden game plan of Kick it to Richo and if you cant, then kick it to Richo, was the uitmate masterstroke in getting Cotchin. Its the tank you want when you dont want to tank. ;)

The Plan was set in place so long ago and it now becomes so clear.... an 8 year old Cotchin was ear marked ... the messiah.

****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we had the Nostradamus of footy in our midst and we got rid of him...quick get March on the line and tell him to issue an all points bulletin, to get Greg Miller back!!!!!!!!!!!!;)

Morale with Frawley amongst Richmond supporters was at an all time low.

Miller seemed to be desperate for someone who would excite fans.

Chasing two blokes like Brown and Solomon who we would pay dearly for not producing ourselves was not going to be about long term success.

Done with a lot of factors in mind . and at the same time none

Millers stock and trade really ...not sinking the boots into him all but i feel his whole modus operandi was about "the big play" come trade week every year rather than hunting out the best youth. its just what he did .

Brown was more or less part of our scattergun approach to list development . no real rhine nor reason to it other than ..."a star we had to get"

It was not until Wallace got on board that we actually developed and implemented a proper game plan as far as recruitment and list develpment goes ... seriosly its the first time we have had one in the modern era since our last flag . Whether you agree with it or not is not the point .. fact is at least we have one

I will say this to my last breath though .... Brown came to Punt rd. 12 months before Terry , with the knowledge Terry would be here ;)

Millers stock and trade really ...not sinking the boots into him all but i feel his whole modus operandi was about "the big play" come trade week every year rather than hunting out the best youth. its just what he did .

Brown was more or less part of our scattergun approach to list development . no real rhine nor reason to it other than ..."a star we had to get"

It was not until Wallace got on board that we actually developed and implemented a proper game plan as far as recruitment and list develpment goes ... seriosly its the first time we have had one in the modern era since our last flag . Whether you agree with it or not is not the point .. fact is at least we have one

I will say this to my last breath though .... Brown came to Punt rd. 12 months before Terry , with the knowledge Terry would be here ;)

a tomahawk missile couldnt have been more accurate than that Idy:thumbsu:

Only %85 hit it's target.... http://www.newstatesman.com/200304070011

Brown was our first big name recruit for years...

idy was right...whether he's been a good recruit or was he right for RFC are two separate questions....Miller was a Big game hunter , no doubt about it..there were murmers he was lining up daniel kerr which would have taken us completely off the path of acquiring best YOUTH available..Im happy with Browny as a Tiger :thumbsu:

Browny was a good get at the time when we spent stuff all on recruitment and the football department and more on building holiday homes on the GC.
Browny gave us more than just a dynamic forward he became the face of the club with his Media savvy personality.
TW has set the club up off field and on field... I'm a big fan of what the club has achieved over the last 4-5 years.

Kerr would have needed to be pushed into the pre-season draft... and that would have never happened anyhow.

Browny was a good get at the time when we spent stuff all on recruitment and the football department and more on building holiday homes on the GC.
Browny gave us more than just a dynamic forward he became the face of the club with his Media savvy personality.
TW has set the club up off field and on field... I'm a big fan of what the club has achieved over the last 4-5 years.

Kerr would have needed to be pushed into the pre-season draft... and that would have never happened anyhow.

Franklin is the killer tambling is a Dud! Brown has been great.

That would mean that Terry danced with the Hawks for some other reason that being genuinely interested in them.

I have no doubt they told him Frawley would be gone. Couldnt have got him without that guarantee.

They may have told him they would target Terry, but it would have been hard for the club to guarantee him they would have him here. Wallace wouldnt commit 12 months before signing and give up playing another club against us for a nice contract.

That we beat Collingwood to him had me thinking that we paid over the odds where Collingwood saw a bigger picture and maybe made the right decision in the long run but hell, we were desperate for class and he is that and we needed him and need him moreso now.

i was wondering when you were going to get to that absolute fact dude. TW had to take the scenic route, just to keep the media hounds from going to town on him.
And again i have no probs with Browny like a few here do. Has been a breath of fresh air to the tigerheads, with the class and skill he brought to the team, after a decade of watching the keystone cops. ;)

the draft picks we traded for browny were 6 and 20 which turned out to be kepler bradley and sam butler..... if u look at it that way i think richmond got the better deal:thumbsu:

That would mean that Terry danced with the Hawks for some other reason that being genuinely interested in them.

I have no doubt they told him Frawley would be gone. Couldnt have got him without that guarantee.

They may have told him they would target Terry, but it would have been hard for the club to guarantee him they would have him here. Wallace wouldnt commit 12 months before signing and give up playing another club against us for a nice contract.

That we beat Collingwood to him had me thinking that we paid over the odds where Collingwood saw a bigger picture and maybe made the right decision in the long run but hell, we were desperate for class and he is that and we needed him and need him moreso now.
Sydney guarenteed him :p

I don`t think TW danced with the hawks .. i think they made a belated offer that was met with a polite thanks ... but no thanks .

i do not have fact .. just theory .. but i will steadfastly stand by my theory because i reckon i am good at nutting out what people are about .

A little bloke who used to run around for us in the 70`s/80`s called Kevin Bartlett has been on record many times saying that he at times he did not play for Richmond ... he played for Tommy Hafey

So much so that he "allllllllllmost" committed the ultimate act of treachory (before it actually became the norm) in crossing to the pies when Tommy was coaching them

and having played a bit of footy myself i can totally relate to that . i had all but quit my local club back in the 90`s and was going to move on until they recruited a former Vermont bloke to come down and coach us ... played in numerous flags at probably the best suburban footy team in the land and was a highly respected unit . instantly i went from being in and out of the ones/twos on a regular basis because i basically DNGAF and didn`t like the coach ... to holding down CHB in a side that "should" have won the flag had Surrey Hills not bought back all thier old VFL stars ... i am waffling ...

My point is ... as old "Hungry" used to run around for Teabags Tommy .... Nathan Brown plays for Terry Wallace ....

There was no reason at all for Nathan Brown to chose us over how many other clubs ;) ..... so he could play finals footy :confused: .... LMAO

Interesting point on Collingwood ... amazing how many big fish they can`t or haven`t landed over the years don`t you think ;).... See Nick Stevens .

Sydney guarenteed him :p

I don`t think TW danced with the hawks .. i think they made a belated offer that was met with a polite thanks ... but no thanks .

FWIW the lure to punt rd was 5 yrs v a proposed 2 for Hawthorn a no brainer for TW and Hawhtorn weren't prepared to negotiate

one of those little rosellas that fly around spruiking the inside info, suggested that TW couldnt go anywhere but to the tigers and whatever happened in the run up to his appointment was purely a facade....and this rosella aint the madtugger variety, believe me. ;)

After seeing recent mention of how Carlton spoilt our anniversary celebration game last year, I think it would be appropriate for N. Brown to really step up in round 1 and pull out a blinder. Fact is, if he had kicked straight in that game, we may well have had it won by 3-qtr time.

He has had a low-key but I believe uninterrupted pre-season, and I'm backing him to come out firing. Similar to that day against the Pies a few years back, when he tore Clement a new one, resulting in a come from behind win for the Tiges.

He has had a low-key but I believe uninterrupted pre-season, and I'm backing him to come out firing.

I agree. With all the Cousins and Richo and to a lesser extend Cotchin hype he is flying very nicely under the radar these days. He has been quietly making every post a winner behind the scenes when this time last year it was all about his leg standing up and hot spots etc etc. I am expecting a big season from NGB.

As for his recruitment I agree with Iddy that it was a done deal, in fact possibly even a sweeter for taking Wallace. The impact wasnt as great as Cousins selection but we needed a boom recruit and something to get excited about back then. It helped as much off field as on IMHO in terms of retaining memberships, sponsorships and media image.