Game Day R16 - Sydney v West Coast

• Thread starter Thread starter AG

You can talk about the crowd booing or not booing LRT all you like. The thing that really annoys me about West Coast fans is the morons who sit behind the goals waving corporate banners. It used to be Hungry Jacks flags. Now it appears to be Messages on Hold clappers. Are these idiots being paid? I mean, I've heard of bands selling out, sportspeople selling out and the like, but this is the first time I've heard of fans selling out. And make no mistake. West Coast fans are the only ones who do it. Morons!
Those Messages on Hold idiots have been there for years, at every single home game

Props to the rucks Mumford and Pyke limiting the effectiveness of their renowned ruckmen. The Eagles have had great forward pressure and have kicked the majority of goals from this avenue. Grundy looking like a deer in headlights and has made poor decisions when under the pump. Jack continuing his stellar form and Hanners always enjoys the extra space on the bigger grounds when his superior aerobic fitness comes to the fore

Am reading through this thread now, 24 hours after the result, and I still haven't found too many people (fans, media) giving anywhere near enough credit to Mumford and Pyke. Not in anyone's "best", yet I thought they provided the platform for the result. They physically matched Cox and smashed Natanui, and also credit to Grundy, who was also generally physically too strong for Cox when he went forward.

Our midfield was superb but Mumford and Pyke were outstanding. On that form, they could end up being a flag-winning combination. I'd be surprised if there's any Swans fan still calling for Seaby to replace Pyke.

Am reading through this thread now, 24 hours after the result, and I still haven't found too many people (fans, media) giving anywhere near enough credit to Mumford and Pyke. Not in anyone's "best", yet I thought they provided the platform for the result. They physically matched Cox and smashed Natanui, and also credit to Grundy, who was also generally physically too strong for Cox when he went forward.

Our midfield was superb but Mumford and Pyke were outstanding. On that form, they could end up being a flag-winning combination. I'd be surprised if there's any Swans fan still calling for Seaby to replace Pyke.
I'd fall over in shock if anyone did, then try to find out who they really barrack for

Did anyone notice that, after Mcglynn handballed to Jetta who goaled, the commentator spent the next minute praising Selwood for almost keeping pace with Jetta.

Two items I enjoyed at the game that weren't covered on TV:

1. The announcement that Robert Lewis-Thomson had been subbed off.
2. The photo of Jarrad McVeigh in the Footy Record captioned as Mark McVeigh.

I genuinely think next year or the year after will be our major chances.. just scared about the thought of Goodes and Richards retiring. They are our two 'oldies' who still play a huge part in our success.

If we recruit Reid, produce more competition for spots in defence - with someone like Johnson or Grundy getting shuffled around a bit until Richards retires - I'd be a lot more relaxed.

Mate, the amount of tugging you do publically, I'd reckon you'd be so relaxed as to be almost comatose ...

26142-5242.png

THE OFFICIAL MAGAZINE OF THE AFL GAME.

As I said before the game he's a show pony he's over rated as a ruckman, I highlighted it would be the throw ins which would highlight his weakness as its more body on body the a centre bounce nowadays. This lead him to trying to be a hero and leap up high because he hasn't got a clue about body work.

Result? He barely touches the ball Sydney's on balls read The drop perfectly (another thing I said they should focus on as it worked brilliantly against sandilands another bloke who's taps are just power hits with no real concern for advantage from the hitout) get the ball out quickly because west coast flooded forward and a goal.

Seriously the love of NN from the commentators annoys me to no end a ruck battle is about fighting for position, Stopping your opponent from being able to get to the ball, As much as it is actually getting it.

"All day heard nothing but oh Sydney only want to wrestle" IT'S A RUCK BATTTLE teach princess nit to ruck properly and it won't be a problem.

This the result of stripping rucking down to what it's become all people care about is vertical leap and when that's taken away from them by talented rucking combos the piss ants have a sook.

I seriously lolled at this post. Smacks of jealousy you don't have NN in your team. The boy is 3 years into his career and already Leigh Mathews has said he could be the greatest ruckman of all time. Oh but wtf does Leight Mathews know about football right pfff hahahaha

Jealous? Grow up, you're not on the school playground talking about who has the best Pokemon cards.

We don't need to be jealous. We're on top and firing. We have Sam Reid. We have Lewis Jetta. We are Sydney.

I seriously lolled at this post. Smacks of jealousy you don't have NN in your team. The boy is 3 years into his career and already Leigh Mathews has said he could be the greatest ruckman of all time. Oh but wtf does Leight Mathews know about football right pfff hahahaha

He got smashed by a Canadian rugby player.

grundy is the second best player in our back 6, i think.

Grundy is one of the best defenders in the comp, the only people who seem to think otherwise are some swans fans

Yes. Explain why they were not??!!

For one, because when the umpire verbally calls and signals with his arms "play on" at a kick in from a behind it is not correct to play 50m penalty against a player that moves over the mark. Specifically:

After giving a Player a reasonable opportunity, the field Umpire
shall direct a Player to Kick the football back into play. If a
Player fails to Kick the football back into play after being
instructed to do so by a field Umpire, the field Umpire shall
call “Play On”. The Player shall be required to dispose of the
football in accordance with Laws 13.1 (b) and (d). Opposing
Players, however, may enter the Goal Square and tackle the
Player with the football once “Play On” is called.

Thank god for this site - I've just had to put up with a day of Eagles supporters bleating about how hard done they were, it beggars belief. I will conceed that the result would have been closer (but not different) if the Eagles had some decent forwards - they might have even had the stands half full with 10 minutes on the clock still to go.