Play Nice Random Chat Thread: Episode III

Just read a story on nine news that Gary Murphy one of Anita Cobby's killers has suffered severe injuries after being bashed in Sydney's Long Bay jail.

With all the doom and gloom going on in this world, its so good to see a good news story.

There’s not enough bad things that can happen to that campaigner

Just read a story on nine news that Gary Murphy one of Anita Cobby's killers has suffered severe injuries after being bashed in Sydney's Long Bay jail.

With all the doom and gloom going on in this world, its so good to see a good news story.
There’s not enough bad things that can happen to that campaigner

Is it wrong of me to hope that he survives into old age, but is crippled and suffers excruciating pain on a daily basis?

Hmmm. Knowing what Rogerson is capable of, hopefully he’s done. Nothing worse then bent cops.
My old man used to drink and fish with the ex-King Cross police boss Graham Chook Fowler back in the day. Fowler used to take money from Ibrahim and his drug mates.

Is he the one who faked an injury - pretending he slipped on a spilt Maccas thick shake - to avoid going to court on corruption charges?

Yep.

That's politics mate - people and psychology.

I reckon you'd really enjoy this: The Political Brain by Drew Westin.

Ok you’ve got me interested.

‘We studied the brains of fifteen committed Democrats and fifteen confirmed Republicans.2 (We would have studied voters without commitments to one party or candidate as well, but by the fall of 2004, finding people with intact brains who were not already leaning one way or the other would have been a daunting task.)
We scanned their brains for activity as they read a series of slides. Our goal was to present them with reasoning tasks that would lead a "dispassionate" observer to an obvious logical conclusion, but would be in direct conflict with the conclusion a partisan Democrat or Republican would want to reach about his party's candidate. In other words, our goal was to create a head-to-head conflict between the constraints on belief imposed by reason and evidence (data showing that the candidate had done something inconsistent, pandering, dishonest, slimy, or simply bad) and the constraints imposed by emotion (strong feelings toward the parties and the candidates). What we hoped to learn was how, in real time, the brain negotiates conflicts between data and desire.’

Ok you’ve got me interested.

‘We studied the brains of fifteen committed Democrats and fifteen confirmed Republicans.2 (We would have studied voters without commitments to one party or candidate as well, but by the fall of 2004, finding people with intact brains who were not already leaning one way or the other would have been a daunting task.)
We scanned their brains for activity as they read a series of slides. Our goal was to present them with reasoning tasks that would lead a "dispassionate" observer to an obvious logical conclusion, but would be in direct conflict with the conclusion a partisan Democrat or Republican would want to reach about his party's candidate. In other words, our goal was to create a head-to-head conflict between the constraints on belief imposed by reason and evidence (data showing that the candidate had done something inconsistent, pandering, dishonest, slimy, or simply bad) and the constraints imposed by emotion (strong feelings toward the parties and the candidates). What we hoped to learn was how, in real time, the brain negotiates conflicts between data and desire.’

Yep, it is brilliant stuff. Totally worth buying.

Don’t forget philosophy, as complex as it can be.

I’ll be sure to give that a read, especially looking at the methodology and results.

Philosophy is politics, politics is philosophy.

Don’t want to words into groins mouth, but I reckon that was his point all along. He just likes to take the piss too

By using one of the worst examples of controlled fake media as his go to guy? Its old news and has **** all to do with bullshit social media about people's opinions.

By using one of the worst examples of controlled fake media as his go to guy? Its old news and has **** all to do with ******** social media about people's opinions.

Meh. Maybe groins just a troll for trolls sake.

Forget about that for a sec, where do you think the best most unbiased journalism is at the moment? I can’t think of a single journalist that I can trust wholeheartedly. Everyone has skin in the game somewhere.

Close as I can think of is The Intercept.

Forget about that for a sec, where do you think the best most unbiased journalism is at the moment? I can’t think of a single journalist that I can trust wholeheartedly. Everyone has skin in the game somewhere.

Summit.news

There are a few good ones. Being wholly unbiased is unattainable in both academia and journalism.

Those that acknowledge their bias/background and put a reasonable logical argument with evidence is the best you can hope for. Residing in friendly echo chambers does nothing but worsen an individual's perception of the real world.

There are a few good ones. Being wholly unbiased is unattainable in both academia and journalism.

Those that acknowledge their bias/background and put a reasonable logical argument with evidence is the best you can hope for. Residing in friendly echo chambers does nothing but worsen an individual's perception of the real world.

Yeah everyone has natural bias. I try to look at things from both sides of the reporting but it’s not always easy.

It's not easy. For example, I have to acknowledge my own Australian-centric and nationalist inclinations in my own work, because it affects source gathering and analysis. You effectively have to challenge yourself to read as widely as possible and rely on your logical judgment as a rational member of society, which is really difficult.