Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

So is this "random chat" elusively about posting shit that makes me feel depressed?

I believe an old ladies pussy was saved by a young fireman yesterday. it was caught in her stockings. I didn't see it but i suppose stockings and cat claws, makes sense I think.

Dunno really.

Oh just last week I was told I should write women's erotica, how's them apples??

I'm though the Brad Scott of women's erotica, great on the whiteboard. Match day leaves alot to be desired. :eek:

Stan looked at Beryl, their eyes met. You would have thought it was the first time Stan had seen Beryl as he took all of her in. Stan and Beryl had been married for 55 years, Stan had dementia ......

Oh just last week I was told I should write women's erotica, how's them apples??

I'm though the Brad Scott of women's erotica, great on the whiteboard. Match day leaves alot to be desired. :eek:

Stan looked at Beryl, their eyes met. You would have thought it was the first time Stan had seen Beryl as he took all of her in. Stan and Beryl had been married for 55 years, Stan had dementia ......

You've got a future in erotic comedy, if that's a genre.

I don’t think we truly covered this, but how does this all this culture disputes and cultural revolution stuff end?

Each side is absolutely petrified if the other wins in the US election and this has permeated overseas. I am struggling to see a middle ground and an amicable end to all of this. Maybe it’s just me being pessimistic.

When everyone goes back to work and all the universities and other schools get back to normal.

You've got a future in erotic comedy, if that's a genre.

Well reckon there's a place for that, **** me 99% of population could do with a larf. I've actually got some wonderful ideas for some adult comedy. have thought about doing some stuff and uploading to youtube.

I'm many things, and have failed at many things, but **** me I've a vivid imagination.

Well reckon there's a place for that, fu** me 99% of population could do with a root. I've actually got some wonderful ideas. have thought about doing some stuff and uploading to youtube.

I'm many things, and have failed at many things, but fu** me I've a vivid imagination.
I agree.

Hey, so I'm getting into some of these usa podcasts that you guys mention sometimes: jordan petersen, joe rogan and a few others.

Do you have any other suggestions? I'd really like a counter point one - sjw or antifa, usa anarchists, do you know if they are out there? I don't suppose they would generate much advertising revenue..

Well the whole point is that the Indian and black guy are what make the supremacy racist
It's a blanket assertion to say "if" they weren't there, the interpretation wouldn't change. Personally, I disagree with the assertion. Anyway, I wasn't asking for your view of the "woke elements" (convenient label) interpretation, I was asking if you saw the difference. You still haven't answered that.
You disagree with that assertion, but its happening with Churchill (whether you agree or not). So do you believe Rooselvelt is a racist and represents oppression? Or would it be the sculptor that created it?

So if "woke elements" is a "convenient label", then your expanded description is better?
There's a mob mentality thing going on at the moment, which is a result of high emotions and opportunism

To me Woke is Critical Theory which is essentially feminist theories, critical race theories, critical culture theory, gender theory, grievance theory ect and all the other ways they indoctrinate young people, and convince them that they should feel guilty if they happen to come from a privileged family.

Not sure what you mean by line in the sand. I'll repeat my view that the majority of historical statues should stay up, and the very few that are demonstrably racist should be re-located to be displayed in a museum and not as an institutional symbol.
The line is drawn, Chruchill not a good idea, Roosevelt is ok. Even though the same elements of the this movement (whatever it is) want both removed.

Yes I agree that the statue appears to be Repressive and racist.

But hey the smart arse in me says, he could have been leading them to safety.

Hey, so I'm getting into some of these usa podcasts that you guys mention sometimes: jordan petersen, joe rogan and a few others.

Do you have any other suggestions? I'd really like a counter point one - sjw or antifa, usa anarchists, do you know if they are out there? I don't suppose they would generate much advertising revenue..
Here's the dirty secret. SJWs and antifa and all that are pinatas. They really don't exist as an entity. But every member of the populist right will emote through gritted teeth to tell you about them.

To me Woke is Critical Theory which is essentially feminist theories, critical race theories, critical culture theory, gender theory, grievance theory ect and all the other ways they indoctrinate young people, and convince them that they should feel guilty if they happen to come from a privileged family.
How are they indoctrinated?

So operation covid19 comes to ahead this weekend, The lovely Ms Lisa is coming down to spend the weekend with me. Ms Lisa works for the NSW covid hotline. I told her she's workin the wrong hotline.

And oh my and dang - tellin ya's your heads would fall clean off if I uploaded a snap. Although I did send one to Passmore. More like **** you for calling me an old man a few months ago :P
Whether he chooses to acknowledge said pic is up to him of course.

Oh shit turn 52 tomorrow. well looks like I'm goin out Keith Richards style.

My point a NDE changes your views on everything. I'm only here cause the blockage cleared itself, had it gone on for ten seconds. I'd be goneski.

Look for the positives peeps, there's plenty of them. If you've loved ones, look at them like it's the first time you've ever seen them. tell those close to you that you love them.

The biggest handbrake to happiness is more often us. Dare to win if you like.

Anyway you can now return to normal transmission . What depressing fact am I going to told about next? :P

True Anon would be the closest to that I’ve listened to.

Hi All, I posted on here the other day after being pulled over by the police friday night. I was notified that my rego had expired 2 days prior. I explained to the police that I had completely forgot and would pay straigh away (which I did). They still decided to fine me over $800. I contacted VicRoads this morning and explained the situation. I was prepared to acknowledge that I stupidly forgot to pay and who would be best to contact to see if I could have the fine removed. The lady said that the only way I could get out of the fine would be to prove that I didn't receive the renewal notice. I cannot believe that instead of accepting responsibility for my actions , that the better option for me to have the fine removed is to lie and say I never received it. Anyone know any other possible alternatives around this? Please bear in mind I have never in my 15 plus years of driving missed a rego renewal date
Did you request a review through the link I sent?

You disagree with that assertion, but its happening with Churchill (whether you agree or not).

Yes, it's happening unfortunately. I hope the underlying tension resulting in these acts of vandalism will calm down, but the world is pretty messy at the moment and things we don't like to see are happening.

So do you believe Rooselvelt is a racist and represents oppression? Or would it be the sculptor that created it?

It's the symbolism of the sculpture itself. No doubt the sculptor didn't consciously set out to be racist, it was the prevailing attitude. It's not difficult to see that racism has been a systemic issue for so long.

So if "woke elements" is a "convenient label", then your expanded description is better?

I think you're over-simplifying a number of complex, conflicting and temporary issues. It's in this context that I feel woke is a convenient label. However, I don't personally have any expanded description of it.

The line is drawn, Chruchill not a good idea, Roosevelt is ok. Even though the same elements of the this movement (whatever it is) want both removed.

Yes I agree that the statue appears to be Repressive and racist.

But hey the smart arse in me says, he could have been leading them to safety.

I've nothing to add to what I said on this in the previous post.

Not at all. It's only the racial supremacy bit that is unacceptable. Heroism and victory should still be celebrated.

I have no problem with the Roosevelt statue being put on display with other art in the museum, but surely it's reasonable to conclude it's not an appropriate symbol of what the museum stands for.
The thing is this particular request was brought forward by the museum itself after many years of people saying it's a bit of an average message to have the guy lording over the Indians in it. The museum is suggesting in the current climate it's a good idea to take it down.
My take is theres a combination of reasons why-
They may have wanted to change it for a while but never had the opportunity funding wise, they want to capitalise on the movement and bring some positive press, and they probably are at a high risk of otherwise seeing it vandalised in the near future which would be more damaging than changing it on their own volition.

The sooner we all accept the fact that 95% of all discourse on “all” sides of this argument is emotional, the better chance we have of getting to a decent conclusion. I’d go so far as to say, that this is not a bad thing. We humans are largely emotional creatures with a smattering of logical thinking thrown in. I’d even go so far as to say the most emotional people on here are the ones screaming “LOGIC” the loudest. Denying the overwhelming part emotion plays in all our lives is a massive example of hubris and, quite frankly, “illogical” (in a obtuse sense). Read any game day thread and tell me I’m wrong - all of you! - including me...

I think absolutely everyone in this thread has had various levels of emotional investment in the topics of the last few months, everyone.

Naive to suggest otherwise.

That's my point. We're all framed by our experiences, but the media/news has boiled every issue to a binary argument and we're programmed to be tribal in our responses.

Should have left the thank bit out and framed it better, but I don't think I've seen anyone have seismic change in their philosophy in this thread, 70% of this thread has been bogged down in some binary circular discussion.

That's not a potshot at anyone, but disagree with Snake's initial broad statement that people need to take emotion out of discussion when it's clear just about everyone has had varying degrees of emotion in their posts.

Yep, yep, yep, and yep.

Everyone who posts in this thread has some level of emotional investment. Admittedly, some more than others, but it's definitely a constant. As an infrequent contributor to this thread, and one who's often doing so just to make a joke, I rank pretty low on the scale myself. But I wouldn't be so blind, arrogant, or disingenuous to suggest that there's no emotional component there. You could discern that purely from the fact that I'm a regular reader of the thread, and by the likes I give to other posters.

Similarly, everyone who posts in this thread (re politics) has a degree of political bias. Even those who like to position themselves as some kind of middle ground pundits. All of us, to some degree, are influenced by emotion, political bias, and the media (and social media), and it's nigh on impossible to gauge exactly to what extent. Takes a special kind of delusion to suggest otherwise.

And Ryz, you're also spot on about the disappointing slide into binary discussion. Political discourse has become less an exchange of ideas, and more about 'winning' and reinforcing partisan lines. And of course social media has actively encouraged and facilitated that.

On a personal level, I'm torn because the partisan nature of political discussion on social media largely bores me, but as someone who has spent most of their adult life studying psycho-linguistics, it's also a gold mine. I genuinely marvel at the extent to which it inhibits self-awareness and introspection in terms of the language people use. To use one of the more prevalent examples, you will regularly have people on social media (and this thread) accusing others of being brainwashed by social media, while constantly peppering their own speech with social media-popularised terms like 'SJW', 'cuck', 'snowflake', etc. I'm sure I don't need to point out the irony in that to anyone.

Look at a more recent example of a social media-popularised term that seems to have currently captured some people's imagination - 'cancel culture'. Use that term to someone who doesn't spend a lot of time on social media and see the confused look you get.

You have people claiming to be open-minded and impartial.....while spending 95+% of their time focusing criticism on one side of the political spectrum. People claiming to be free of political bias and who like to accuse others of perpetuating the (to coin another popular social media term) 'left/right paradigm'.....while spending all their time attacking one side of politics and not the other.

When it comes to people trying to disavow emotional attachment and the influence that social media has had on them, it's a veritable ironyapalooza out there.

Yeah, I get it. And throughout plenty of other countries, many with even more problems.

So, whilst I often get to the "This country's stuffed!!" point, I should add "Mind you, it's the best country in the world, mate".

tenor.gif

(Believe it or not, someone - who isn't me - just made that gif a few hours ago.)

Should have left the thank bit out and framed it better, but I don't think I've seen anyone have seismic change in their philosophy in this thread, 70% of this thread has been bogged down in some binary circular discussion.

That's not a potshot at anyone, but disagree with Snake's intial broad statement that people need to take emotion out of discussion when it's clear just about everyone has had varying degrees of emotion in their posts.

Yep, agree Ryz.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with emotion. It's the chiaroscuro of intelligent discourse.

What I find to be a bit of a head-scratcher though is that the poster on here who rails against it the most is also the one most likely to disagree with you via sudden outbursts in giant bolded font, capital letters, and whole series of exclamation marks.

Odd.

bengrina if you have admitted oversight to the police officer who issued you the fine then you won’t have much chance of having it revoked.
You could have used any reason such as covid19 hardship, change of mailing address, etc and you would get off.
Hope that helps but police officers aren’t being all that reasonable with fines these days considering the reduced revenue in 2020.
Being honest doesn’t get you anywhere sadly but who knows you might have a nice prosecutor and magistrate who let you off. Worth a shot it costs you nothing. Might aswell make the court work for the $800

bengrina if you have admitted oversight to the police officer who issued you the fine then you won’t have much chance of having it revoked.
You could have used any reason such as covid19 hardship, change of mailing address, etc and you would get off.
Hope that helps but police officers aren’t being all that reasonable with fines these days considering the reduced revenue in 2020.
Being honest doesn’t get you anywhere sadly but who knows you might have a nice prosecutor and magistrate who let you off. Worth a shot it costs you nothing. Might aswell make the court work for the $800

I got off this exact scenario in September/October last year.

bengrina

Go to this link
Select request a review
Enter your fine details
It will ask for a reason, outline your entire scenario. Never missed a payment, paid immediately, that you've taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. etc.
Submit it
IIRC the website is a bit clunky.
They put a hold on the fine while it gets reviewed.

Fines Victoria is who can review the fine, not vic roads, not even the cop now.

This is the system, you have to work in it.

This is the process I followed to have mine exact same fine reviewed and ultimately altered to a warning.

15 years of on time payment should count for something like this oversight.