Random talk thread: real good talking about random stuff n that

If your knee is ****ed, I strongly suggest you reconsider wicketkeeping. It's hard on the knees and upper legs. If you're going to be keeping for a decent period of time and plan on walking during the week after, get on the bike beforehand too.

My knee should be able to handle it - I can still do squats with weights no problem. And the comp up here only has 25 or 30 overs per team. I'll take your advice about the bike though, got one here in the living room fortunately.

I can run in a straight line ok, it's only when I try play sports like soccer with lots of twisting and turning that my knee blows up like a balloon. I should probably get it looked at but I'm scared they'll tell me to stop playing sport.

On the bright side I've learnt to strap a knee like a pro - and I've got a mate at the hospital who smuggles me free strapping tape and anti-inflammatories.

I haven't played senior cricket before and the last time I played outdoor was 3 years ago so i am finding my way back into the game. I am surprisingly a lot quicker than in my junior days which is a plus as I am getting the new ball with the side i am in atm. Today i was seriously seriously average and went for over a run a ball in my first 6 overs. Then came back after a spell and they were coming out heaps better and bowled about 1 for 20 odd off 7 overs. I just have to work on things and I will be right. I finally have my run up down pat and the ball is really starting to come out of my hand a lot better. Now I just have to work on my action and then start getting the consistency going.

My knee should be able to handle it - I can still do squats with weights no problem. And the comp up here only has 25 or 30 overs per team. I'll take your advice about the bike though, got one here in the living room fortunately.

I can run in a straight line ok, it's only when I try play sports like soccer with lots of twisting and turning that my knee blows up like a balloon. I should probably get it looked at but I'm scared they'll tell me to stop playing sport.

On the bright side I've learnt to strap a knee like a pro - and I've got a mate at the hospital who smuggles me free strapping tape and anti-inflammatories.

25 or 30 overs should be OK then. If your knee is swelled up before a game, expect a hard day though. Not being able to bend your knees fully makes things twice as hard.

Yep that's how I got into real trouble with one of my knees a few years back... I'm not real keen on doctors telling me what to do. I'm a little bit infamous with my friends from my school years for that. When I was 14, I broke my foot playing footy four weeks before I was due to go on my first ski trip. I knew I was in a bit of strife so I refused to see a doctor for two weeks, then finally gave in. He told me the bad news that he was putting me in a cast for three weeks, I told him get f**ked you are mate, two weeks and you can take it off the day before I leave. Needless to say it took me a week to get movement back in my foot and get off my crutches so that was a bit dumb, but it didn't stop me from trying to ski. That was even dumber. Same thing happened two years later, two weeks before I was set to leave for another ski week I blew a knee out. Didn't see the physio until the day before I left, where she told me I'd busted a few lateral ligaments and strained my ACL badly. I told her I wasn't particularly interested in going to Victoria again and not skiing, so she shook her head and strapped me up before sending me on my way. Naturally, I made it a whole lot worse and went from hobbling to barely moving by the end of the week. Gave it a few weeks off when I got home, but started playing footy again before the physio told me I was allowed to even get off the bike and start jogging. Seemed like a good idea at the time but it's not real great now.

The easy fix would be giving up pomkick. If you really miss it that much you could fill the gap with some low impact ballet or drama classes or something like that. I would suggest netball but that's probably a bit too rough.

I'll have you know I've got a netball premiership to my name mate. Yeah, who's the tough one now?

A few of us Murdoch footy players got recruited by some of our chick friends to go in a mixed netball comp. Us boys had never played before so we started the season slowly while we came to terms with the stepping rules and that shit.

But once we clicked we went on a massive unbeaten rampage all the way to the grand final. I was the star centre of course.

GS FTW...:thumbsu:

One of the more fun university housing activities I did, though sadly held the day after a pretty big party. We were all hung over as ****, and copped a belting in the first game 13-5. I got shifted from defence into attack and began to dominate. We played a game plan similar to Pagan's paddock where with a tiny shove into the back of the opponent and a ball looped over the top, I would run onto the pass and more or less lay-up the ball into the net...

We came third in the round robin thing, but beat the eventual champs by 10 goals in the last game.

Good times.

GS FTW...:thumbsu:

The guy we had GS had played basketball when he was growing up. He wasn't a big guy but he had a massive spring on him.

When in doubt we just used to lob the ball into his area and he'd leap over the top and pluck it out of the air. He was our not so secret weapon.

Of course even a weapon like him would have been useless without a star centreline feeding him the ball. Did I mention that I played centre?

I'm not going to disagree with the value of mixed netball, it is good times. Master GK right here... We had to do it for PE at school, and being a 6'2" 15 year old meant that I towered over all of the best shooters. I used to take great delight in jumping up and performing NBA style rejections whenever a shot was put up. From memory there was a rule against it but yeah whatever... it was funny.

I'm not going to disagree with the value of mixed netball, it is good times.

I was a little disappointed (more than a little actually) with the quality of the girls on the other teams though. A couple of our teammates were the best looking girls in the whole comp. Mind you, it was amusing to watch the way the guys on the other teams acted towards them.

What made it even worse is that often there were all girls games going on the court next to us with numerous hotties running around. Hard to perve when you're supposed to be concentrating on your own game though.

Which begs the question - what is the greatest Simpsons episode ever?

Off the top of my head four stand out for me:

- the beer baron episode

- the episode when Homer becomes a hippie

- the episode when Homer goes to work for Hank Scorpio and kills James Bond

- the episode when Homer becomes addicted to medicinal marijuana (though I've only seen that one once or twice and can't remember if I liked it because it was a great episode or just because it was cool to see Homer smoking dope)

That episode has to be one of my favourites....:thumbsu:

Ouch. I tell you Ash it was bloody frustrating. This guy must have hit in in the air about 15 times with it falling safely.

Safely as in over the other side of the rope?

Corona's are fine by me - easy to drink in hot weather and they don't fill you up like other beers do. Couldn't care less whether I drink them with or without the lemon. I don't like guys who drink them for show - look at me I'm drinking a Corona aren't I cool.

Went to a sportman's night tonight for a local charity :

Signed 2008 North Melbourne jumper - framed - $1200
Signed 2008 Essendon jumper - framed - $1300
St Kilda jumper signed by Robert Harvey - unframed - $1200
Signed 2006 Eagles jumper - framed - $2700

Signed 2008 Dockers jumper - framed - $600

In fairness two trips on a chartered fishing trip with Sean McManus sold for $1000 each

Kuyt just scored again ash - after just 3 minutes.

I think you owe him an apology. Nay, more than an apology. You should get down on your knees and suck his **** for forgiveness.

Kuyt just scored again ash - after just 3 minutes.

I think you owe him an apology. Nay, more than an apology. You should get down on your knees and suck his **** for forgiveness.

Little bit harsh.

My to the point you Liverpool fans should be praising me for giving Kuyt the inspiration he needs to get his game into gear...

Is that you Robert Walls?

Btw it was a cracking goal too - not one of his fumbled tap ins.

Is that you Robert Walls?

Btw it was a cracking goal too - not one of his fumbled tap ins.

So I read:(

Apparently Keane is copping a fair booing as well when he is near the ball, which considering you are playing Tottenham, is quite often.

**** Im glad we escaped against Hull with a win...

I got sick of trawling through online journal abstracts looking for tidbits on improving fuel economy for my 2000 word energy studies report that's due in about 30 hours time, so I ended up back here. What do I find? We've gone from some good, wholesome netball talk to god damn pillowbitingtutuwearingfagball. I'm disappointed folks. So disappointed that I'm going to press the back button until I return to "Technical Options for Improving the Economy of US Cars and Light Trucks by 2010-2015." I hope you're proud of what you've done.

I blame esti for baiting me that someone I criticised has actually played a little bit good...

He's a bad influence on us all, that bloke.

How long did I last? I think it was about eight minutes. Getting this thing finished is going to be harder than I thought, especially when I can't concentrate for more than ten minutes at a time.

Went to a sportman's night tonight for a local charity :

Signed 2008 North Melbourne jumper - framed - $1200
Signed 2008 Essendon jumper - framed - $1300
St Kilda jumper signed by Robert Harvey - unframed - $1200
Signed 2006 Eagles jumper - framed - $2700

Signed 2008 Dockers jumper - framed - $600

I think all that proves is Broome people have swallowed too much salt water and absorbed too many sun rays to the head.

I got sick of trawling through online journal abstracts looking for tidbits on improving fuel economy for my 2000 word energy studies report that's due in about 30 hours time, so I ended up back here. What do I find? We've gone from some good, wholesome netball talk to god damn pillowbitingtutuwearingfagball. I'm disappointed folks. So disappointed that I'm going to press the back button until I return to "Technical Options for Improving the Economy of US Cars and Light Trucks by 2010-2015." I hope you're proud of what you've done.

You should be thanking us for helping you finish your work.

I say we don't stop talking soccer til kev finishes his assignment. It's for your own good kev. Tough love and all that.

Have I mentioned that Liverpool are winning at half time?

I think all that proves is Broome people have swallowed too much salt water and absorbed too many sun rays to the head.

You should be thanking us for helping you finish your work.

I say we don't stop talking soccer til kev finishes his assignment. It's for your own good kev. Tough love and all that.

Have I mentioned that Liverpool are winning at half time?

Oh, do tell!!! Liverspew, roflmao!!! :D

Random talk thread: real good talking about random stuff n that