Razor ray appreciation thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mick500

Who would you rather umpiring your team?

• Razor ray

• Ump 1

• Ump 2

• Ump 3

• Ump 4

• Ump 5

Results are only viewable after voting.

mick500

In my opinion umpiring went downhill about a decade ago and has never recovered with the new wave that came in, and whilst I understand razor ray is disliked by most punters and commentators word from the players is he is one of the best communicators out there. And from my observation he is often the controlling senior ump that is least afraid of paying the obvious frees that go against "the noise of affirmation" whether that's in Adelaide or Melbourne, he is not afraid to pay the free against the home team and cop the boos.

In a day and age where umpiring has fallen to the depths that it has, he is one of the few I am happy to see umpiring when my team is playing.

He didn't ask for BT to start going nuts with the whole "razor ray" crap . He is professional , and pays them as he sees them. You can't ask for much more than that.

Certainly a better umpire than any of these ..

Ump 1

IMG_0736.PNG

Ump 2

IMG_0740.PNG

Ump 3

IMG_0743.PNG

Ump 4

IMG_0749.PNG

Ump 5

IMG_0748.PNG

I know who I would prefer umpiring my teams match.

If you look at all their profiles.. http://www.afl.com.au/umpires/profiles they all have pretty serious professions as well, it's time the AFL stopped pretending to be a professional sport and demanding money like a professional sport, and failing to provide basic things like proper goal post cameras and professional umpires that can dedicate their time and energy to umpiring.

I appreciate you ray. A figure of competence in a sea of incompetence.

Razor ray is the dill who encourages the likes of stevic and deboy, who umpire as if they are a part of the action,not outside it

I miss when we knew who none of these guys were because they werent attention seeking flogs

Razor Ray is the lurrve child of infamous Umpire McLaren - I nearly contributed to the payment of The Hird's fine for stating the obvious about him, though the Dons did not suffer as much as the Bloods did in the mid 2000s.

The apple does not fall far from the tree. Roll ahead a decade and a bit and RR is a disgrace and he will murder the Swans on Saturday.

BTW I have long suspected RR's paternal lurrve grandad is H Beitzell.

I appreciate rhat he's not umpiring our game this weekend.

Lucky for you guys. Not so lucky for the Bloods. I can already see Essendon's stretched out Sellwood (Jo D), diving like Mathew Mitcham and RR gifting him 7 frees forward of 50.

In my opinion umpiring went downhill about a decade ago and has never recovered with the new wave that came in, and whilst I understand razor ray is disliked by most punters and commentators word from the players is he is one of the best communicators out there. And from my observation he is often the controlling senior ump that is least afraid of paying the obvious frees that go against "the noise of affirmation" whether that's in Adelaide or Melbourne, he is not afraid to pay the free against the home team and cop the boos.

In a day and age where umpiring has fallen to the depths that it has, he is one of the few I am happy to see umpiring when my team is playing.

He didn't ask for BT to start going nuts with the whole "razor ray" crap . He is professional , and pays them as he sees them. You can't ask for much more than that.

Certainly a better umpire than any of these ..

Ump 1

View attachment 412236

Ump 2

View attachment 412237

Ump 3

View attachment 412238

Ump 4

View attachment 412239

Ump 5

View attachment 412240

I know who I would prefer umpiring my teams match.

If you look at all their profiles.. http://www.afl.com.au/umpires/profiles they all have pretty serious professions as well, it's time the AFL stopped pretending to be a professional sport and demanding money like a professional sport, and failing to provide basic things like proper goal post cameras and professional umpires that can dedicate their time and energy to umpiring.

I appreciate you ray. A figure of competence in a sea of incompetence.

G'day Razor ;)

He pulls out the big controversial calls for the sake of being noticed. There is nothing competent about that.

Correct. It isn't his umpiring or interpretations that piss most people off. It is this grandstanding.

If two identical incidents happen through the game, he'll pay the one to the star 20m out in the last quarter but if it is an unfashionable defender in the first quarter, he'll let it go.

Relishes the controversial which is no way to umpire this game.

Also, I dont like it that he gets all jokey jokey with a player right after has just paid an iffy call against them and they're standing on the mark. They don't want to laugh and joke with you Ray you ****ing pillock, they are livid right now. Walk away, you're not their mate.

He is a stain.

Razor is fine & I don't sigh a 'oh no' when I see him listed to do an Essendon game (although maybe I should reserve that comment until after this weeks game...).

Yes, he makes it about himself at times, but I would rather that & a correct decision than some of the rubbish I see dished out by others of his fraternity.

Can you add "Puppy dog watching on the tv from home while licking it's nuts" to the poll options?

To Razor:

tumblr_mn0gjxqiQm1rz9naqo1_500.gif

I am not a fan of RR per se but I prefer not being umpired by

- the guys who used to play for they people we are playing against or
- the guys who used to work for us and left feeling betrayed or
- the guys who like to make examples of their 'toughness' by applying rules to less-starry/non-Vic players that they would not do to the others.

Note - I am neither confirming nor denying that RR is a member of any of these groups