Rd 18 vs Geelong - Changes & Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter SaintLex

Thought that Box Hill was just like the (current) Northern Blues, standalone in all but name.

Yep it is and basically is what we have at Sandringham at moment.

Is Jack getting the ball a liablility? 36 disposals at 55.6%.

Effective disposals were:

Montagna: 23
Dal Santo: 21
Steven : 20
Jones : 20 ( 74% well done CJ ).
Hayes : 19
Newnes: 17
Armitage: 15
Ray : 14

Congratulations to Simpkin, 90% disposal efficiency.

Disposal efficiency has always been Steven's number 1 concern, but I think it has improved vastly this year. Is he a liability? Well, no..not when he's one of the only ones actually getting a touch on a consistent basis!

I think he can still improve in this area though, and it's the one question mark in the debate of whether he is a genuine A-grader or elite.

I think you need to think of disposal efficiency in the context of the game.

I reckon in that game, we expect too much if we expect polish from the limited few having a crack.

Does disposal efficency take into account the other team mate actually receiving the ball properly or just that it wasnt intercepted or taken by the opposition?
Considering 80% of the team were playing amateur level football I wouldnt be surprised.

No. He's a ball winner and he takes the game on and breaks lines, that's the type of player we need going forward. His ball use has improved year by year. Also you have to consider what exactly he's kicking to when he gets the ball, I missed most of the game but I imagine that was a big problem for him on Saturday.

So, excuse me for stating the obvious, but we played a a game where:
  • The opposition is second on the ladder, while we're third from the bottom.
  • The opposition had come off an embarrassing lost the week before, and had something to prove.
  • The opposition was playing at their home ground, one with a massive advantage.
  • Early on in the second quarter or so, we lost three players who collectively represent over 600 games, leaving the bulk of the work to a large proportion of kids.
  • Those kids had to play with virtually no rotations, with a bench of one, while the opposition could do pretty much as many rotations as they liked.
  • One of our kids was playing his third and fourth quarters of AFL footy ever.
  • There were serious doubts over whether one of those players should have been picked in the first place.
And we got thrashed?!? Wait!?! How is that even possible?! I demand pitchforks and sackings galore.

I wasn't ecstatic about Siposs playing, but if Scott had an inkling something like this might happen, maybe it was a stroke of genius.

Arryn seems to think that he's so damn brilliant that he'll get success the easy way. After a battering like he got on the weekend, he has two choices: he either blames it on everybody else; or he recognises he's got a long way to go, and starts taking responsibility to reach those heights.

I hope he picks the second. If he does, that's a great outcome of a hard game.

Coaches' votes Round 18

Geelong v St. Kilda

10 Motlop (Geel)
7 Selwood (Geel)
4 Hawkins (Geel)
3 Duncan (Geel)
3 Mackie (Geel)
2 Steven (St K)
1 Johnson (Geel)

Thought Montagna must have been close.
Motlop on the end of 2-3 easy goals I reckon.

How the hell did Motlop not get cited for tripping Geary? Footage was clear as you like, grabbed him by the leg, pulled him down and then jumped him.

Because he plays for geelong

How do you work that out? Geelong has been getting players reported and suspended nearly every week.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-07-29/newnes-refuses-to-make-excuses

Jack Newnes spent the majority of the game following Stokes, holding him scoreless despite the Cats avalanche of goals in the second half.

“I was playing half-back so I got to play on a few pretty good players which was a good experience.”

“The first quarter was good. I think we used the ball well, we didn’t allow them through the corridor which they used heavily in the second half. It was probably the only positive out of the game."