EFL Boy

Spec Moderator
Panthers, NYR, Bulls, Badgers
In the 2005 Trade Week period Essendon traded Ted Richards to Sydney for picks 19 and 50.

Those two picks just ended up in us getting Courtenay Dempsey and Sam Lonergan.

IMO we benefited a lot more than Sydney have.

Ted has played numerous good games including the 2006 grand final where he was arguably BOG for the swans.

What are your thoughts?

Would like to see Dempsey be more durable, but Lonergan looks like a ripper. Richards is just a good average footballer, but I am glad he's done alright at the Swans

I think we got two very good footballers with them picks, but Ted would've been handy in our defensive half and could of possibly unleashed the monster that is Ryder. If Dempsey could get on the park more often than not and Lonergan just keeps on keeping on, we can truly say we got ourselves a magnificent deal there.

Ted was a bit of a spud and we were lucky to have two picks for him in the end.

He turned himself around at Sydney and become a fairly decent footballer.It says more about Paul Roos the coach more than anything. He obviously got into the head of Richards and gave him a job to do and got some confidence into his game.

Like WindyHill said,I didn't lose any sleep over his departure..

Both parties benefited. Richards has been able to cement a spot in the Sydney defence, whereas while at Essendon he would have suffered from lack of opportunities. The bombers obtained two great young midfielders as we entered a stage of rebuilding, and Sydney obtained a premiership defender.

He missed opportunities because as soon as Henneman was fit, he would replace Richards. Sheeds should have put Henno on his tax return as a dependant.

Ted Richards is a pretty good player...

Though since Courtney Dempsey (10 games) and Lonergan (20 games) haven't really revealed themselves too much to the football stage, I'd say at the moment Sydney got the best of the trade, so far..

In our Defence, Dempsey and Lonergan have much more time in front of them to improve and make it to their full potential... In the end Sydney got one great player... But we got 2...

Ask me this in 2 years time I'd say we got the best of the trade...

Well it looks like atm we have wasted pick 19 on an injury prone footballer so we havent exactly taken advantage of what was a great deal.

+ Pick 51 (Sydney took Matthew Laidlaw)

Laidlaw has so far played 1 game (in 2007). Interestingly, at the 2005 Draft Camp, he ran the fastest 20-metre (2.83 seconds) and jumped the highest in the 'Standing vertical jump' (70cm)

Laidlaw will turn out to be a good player (he was injured for most of 2008).

As for the trade im very happy with it. Richards isnt the type of player who gets alot of attention but he gets given a job and he does it well. He works very well in tandem with Craig Bolton and Lewis Roberts-Thomson in order to create a very strong defence.

Sydney where in front but the form of Lonergan this season would have it close to even.
I don't agree with those saying Richards was a spud for us. In his last year he played some good footy (other than the game against the Lions where he side stepped a contest and was rightly dropped the next week). Before that he was never physically ready.
I remember watching him during the 2005 VFL finals series and thinking this kid has really turned the corner in the last half of the year. He really dominated a couple of the finals player KP and it showed the next year when he played 20 odd senior games in a side that made the GF.
He is no star but has been a very solid performer for Sydney and he would have been going ok in our defence as well.
Anyway back to the original topic i think it will work out pretty even unles Dempsey can get himself onto the ground for longer than 5 minutes.
Lonergan looks like being a good midfielder for us just like Richards has been a good player for Sydney.

some players just never seem to fit & that was my impression of Ted,

glad he's done well at Sydney & we certainly could have used that type of player last couple seasons, but that player was never going to be him

lonergan &/or dempsey, we win either way imho

Let's not forget that we threw away pick 20 on Richard Cole.

So I basically see that trade period as Richards for Cole with an upgrade of 1 pick, so we lost that one.

No they didn't.

I think the jury is still out on this one...

At the time the trade was for Pick 19 and the swapping of pics in the 50's was merely a bonus, but really was insignificant I thought at the time.

So essentially the trade was for Dempsey; Dempsey has hardly been a star for us! Richards has been handy for Sydney at times; Dempsey still has to prove himself to us at this point in time.

The fact that we managed to get Lonergan was a bonus. But I reckon the chances are he still would have available to pick if we had kept our original late pick.

Right at this point in time, Sydney recieved the better deal, but give it 2-3 years (even one more i suppose) we should be in front. If Lonergan can keep up the progress he displayed this year, and Dempsey can get through a season unscathed then we would have benefited more from this trade.

Richards was a spud and he still is.

Glad we got rid of him and even if Lonergan and Dempsey fall over we still come out on top.

Yep so much of a spud that he continues to get a game every week in a side that has made the finals each year he has been there :rolleyes: