Reg Hickey's Phantom Draft

Reg Hickey

Here’s my little contribution to the proliferation of phantom drafts.

I have tried to base it primarily on club needs, so my comments on each player generally relate to that rather than a generic description of the player himself (and we’ve seen plenty of descriptions from others so I’m not sure that me waxing lyrical about Cotchin’s class or Kreuzer’s mobility as well will add much).

Anyway, feel free to tell me how Kepler Bradley definitely, certainly, without a shadow of a doubt won't slip past pick 7, or how there's no way the Roos will draft six ruckmen.

#1 Carlton – Matthew Kreuzer

Blues get to pick up the final quarter of their future premiership “fab four” midfield – Kreuzer, Judd, Gibbs, Murphy. No side has ever had three consecutive number one draft picks AND the undisputed best player in the competition running through their midfield. It scares me.

#2 Richmond – Trent Cotchin

I’ve had Morton at this pick for weeks, but I had to go with Cotchin. In the end I was swayed by the fact that he spent some time at Punt Rd and they liked him, and he’s just the best and most obvious option. And I seriously couldn’t cope if (1) Richmond dudded themselves with a top ten pick again, and the (2) Eagles got the best player in the draft with the third pick. Again.

#3 West Coast – Chris Masten

West Coast will be after class midfielders, and Masten is about as good as anyone else outside Cotchin (who they will be disappointed to miss out on). I also suspect that Masten being a local boy will be a big plus, as they will be a little gun-shy re go-home factor after the Judd experience.

#4 Melbourne – Cale Morton

Demons will be stoked that Morton falls this far. Has a big chunk of the class they will be looking for to replace Johnstone. Don’t be surprised to see some reckless high-fiving at the Demons’ table when this pick comes up.

#5 Western Bulldogs – Jarrad Grant

Dogs have said they will go tall, and the strong rumour is that they are super keen on Grant. I’m happy with that.

#6 Essendon – David Myers

Bombers lack class in the middle, and with Fletcher and Michael almost at the end of the road they will soon lack class down back too. Myers might not end up a true key defender – he more shapes as a running third defender who could go into the midfield – and is ideal.

#7 Fremantle – Rhys Palmer

Fremantle are desperate for some run and carry in the midfield, and although not overly quick he will run hard all day, provide some spark and kick goals. The Dockers have said that they will be surprised if their first pick is not a local boy, and he is the best left.

#8 Brisbane – Jack Grimes

This one will probably surprise a few people, but I really rate Grimes. Having lost Voss, both Scotts, Johnson and Aker in the last two years, Grimes’ inside ability and quality leadership will really appeal to the Lions.

#9 St Kilda – Alex Rance

The Saints will be on the lookout for a key defender, and Rance is pretty much the best in this draft.

#10 Adelaide – Brad Ebert

Adelaide will be stoked with this pick, and not just because they can stick one up Port. The Crows’ midfield is ageing quickly, and Ebert is an all-round quality midfielder and leader who could lead their midfield into the next decade.

#11 Sydney Swans – Lachlan Henderson

The Swans won’t be able to believe their luck. They need a good young key forward, especially as they have just delisted Vogels, and they will think Henderson is manna from heaven.

# 12 Hawthorn – Tayte Pears

The Hawks don’t need much, but another tall defender would certainly be handy and Pears is the best in this draft (along with Rance).

# 13 West Coast Eagles – Cyril Rioli

Shapes as a forward who will likely go into the midfield as his career progresses, and will probably be in the mix from about pick 6 onwards. West Coast will be very happy if he falls through to here. Oh, and Armstrong is a dud.

#14 Melbourne – Ben McEvoy

Melbourne are in need of a lot of things, and ruckmen and tall forwards would be high on the list. McEvoy I think could turn out to be an Ottens-style ruckman who can go forward, which is ideal for the Dees.

#15 Kangaroos – Callan Ward

The Roos would love an injection of class into the midfield, especially with Harvey and Grant getting towards the end. I think they will be all over Ward if he is still available here.

#16 Port Power – David Gourdis

Outside of a quickly ageing Tredrea and a disappointing Damon White, Port’s tall forward stocks are thin (geddit?!?). Gourdis is ideal for them.

#17 Geelong – Tom Collier

The Cats don’t have any real deficiencies, and should be thinking about succession plans. Their three oldest players are tall rebounding defenders in Milburn, Harley and Scarlett, so they would be licking their lips to pick up Collier here.

#18 Richmond – Steven Gaertner

Despite drafting a lot of talls in the last few years, the Tigers are still in need of some quality in the height department, and after picking up the best midfielder in the draft with pick 2 they will be seduced by this bloke’s upside. Athletic freak who could be anything.

#19 Western Bulldogs – Robbie Tarrant

Big, strong power forward who meets the Dogs needs nicely. This is a bit high for Tarrant for mine, but Scott Clayton has said he is looking for key forwards with the first two picks and has two in mind that will definitely be there, and Grant and Tarrant are my guesses.

#20 West Coast – Patrick Veszpremi

One of the gun midfielders in this draft, and with Masten and Rioli already in the bag the Eagles will be absolutely stoked with the midfield quality they will walk away with on Saturday. Looks and plays to me like the living reincarnation of Dean Solomon.

#21 Melbourne – Addam Maric

Imagine Davey and Maric running around in your forward line – talk about a nightmare for opposition defences.

#22 West Coast – Steven Browne

As much a specialist back pocket as anyone in the draft. Eagles could do with a small defender, and they will like his class and the fact he is a local boy. I was tempted to go for a ruckman here, but I think they might wait until the rookie draft.

#23 Essendon – Scott Selwood

Tough, talented midfielder who will go a long way towards filling the hole that Dean Solomon and Mark Johnson have left.

#24 Fremantle – Patrick McGinnity

Quality midfielder who will appeal to the Dockers because he is a real hard-nut but can also add some much-needed pace through the middle. Could become a very good run-with player (just ask Trent Cotchin).

#25 Brisbane Lions – Brendan Whitecross

I really rate this kid. Came into the draft camp with some questions over his athleticism, but top tens in agility, 20m sprint, repeat sprints and beep test laid those to rest (at least for me). Lethal has said they need tough inside mids, and Whitecross is just that. Has great onfield presence and is very hard at it.

#26 Sydney Swans – Andy Otten

Sydney has a blue collar midfield with plenty of grunt. Otten projects as a tall, athletic midfielder with a touch of class, which would complement the Swans nicely.

#27 Adelaide – Levi Greenwood

Another part of the answer to Adelaide’s ageing midfield. Physical, competitive, running player who is AFL ready.

#28 Port Power – Sam Reid

Port have addressed their primary need with Gourdis, and here will just be looking for the best player available. Reid is a tallish, balanced, classy midfielder from Queensland with good pace and skills, who should become a very good player.

#29 Hawthorn – Patrick Dangerfield

Hawthorn have loads of tough inside midfielders and could do with some elite run and carry. Dangerfield delivers that, and is also tough and smart which will appeal to the Hawks.

#30 Adelaide – Jackson Hall

Ebert and Greenwood are very high quality midfielders but neither is particularly quick. Hall is a tallish wingman with good pace, and will add some much-needed young leg-speed to the Crow midfield.

#31 Collingwood – Aaron Joseph

Pies supporters have been telling me that they will be looking for an inside clearance specialist, and with Buckley gone and Burns going I agree with them. Joseph is exactly that. Not 100% convinced about his kicking, but he’s been Tassie MVP at the champs for the last two years running, made AA this year, and is quick, agile, and very hard at it. Great pick up here.

#32 Kangaroos – Chris Kangars

The Roos will be in the market for a tall defender. Couldn’t pass up Ward at 15, but will definitely look to take the best tall back here. Kangars is more athlete than footballer, but with a bit of development could be a very good defender. Won the repeat sprints easily at the draft camp and has a better 400m PB than Cathy Freeman.

#33 Port Adelaide – Tom McNamara

Talented player from Adelaide who could be a good key defender if he adds a couple of cms, and a quality tall running defender if not. He was considered higher than this at the start of the year, and Port will be happy to steal him here.

# 34 Geelong – Tony Notte

Many think he will go higher than this, but I’m not so sure. With his stick-insect build, whoever takes him will need to invest some years before he will have a significant impact at senior level, and in my opinion will be taking a greater-than-average risk that he won’t make it at all. The Cats will see him as a potential successor to Mooney, and is one of the very few clubs with the list strength and depth to take the risk and leave him in the VFL for a few years.

#35 Western Bulldogs – Thomas Bellchambers

The Dogs are still very shaky in the ruck, especially with Darcy gone. Bellchambers is a quality tap ruckman, and although he needs to improve around the ground, he is the best ruck prospect still available at this point.

#36 Carlton – Scott Simpson

After picking up Judd and Kreuzer, the Blues won’t really care if they end up with Richard Lounder or Lachlan Veale here. That said, Fat Lance is gone and they had to give up Josh Kennedy to get Judd, so I think Simpson – who some have tipped to go first round – will certainly appeal.

#37 Kangaroos – Mitch Farmer

Will inject some more class into their midfield, and they will love his toughness.

#38 Adelaide – Marlon Motlop

Bottom aged small forward who was a gun at U/16 level. The Crows struggled to kick goals this year and Motlop will add plenty of pace and zing to their forward line.

#39 Essendon – Darcy Daniher (F/S)

#40 Fremantle –Ashley Arrowsmith

As mentioned before the Dockers are desperate for speed, and in Arrowsmith they will get a tall, classy goalkicking midfielder who covers the ground well and I think has more pace than generally given credit for. His stocks will have been hurt by his performance (or lack thereof) at the champs, but he will be a quality addition to the Dockers’ list at pick 40.

#41 Brisbane – Guy O’Keefe

O’Keefe is a classy midfielder who reads the game well and is a good decision-maker. Will make another great addition to Brisbane’s emerging midfield.

#42 St Kilda – Brett Meredith

The Saints desperately need some class and disposal skills in the midfield, and that is where Brett Meredith comes in. He is reliable, clean and a great kick.

#43 Western Bulldogs – Jared Petrenko

With two key forwards already in the bag, the Dogs will be looking for best available. Petrenko is small, but very adaptable, and could be a very classy player.

#44 Geelong – Dawson Simpson

After giving King away the Cats have only three ruckmen on the list, and Ottens will be 28 by the start of the 2008 season. So they will be looking for a new young ruckman. Simpson will need a couple of years, but that’s fine for the Cats and in the end he will be a monster (and could be a very good ruckman too).

# 45 Hawthorn – Stuart Dew

You know this bloke. Will be taken, and the Hawks are the favourite, but not before the third round.

# 46 Carlton – Lachlan Hill

Will add some real zip to the Blues.

# 47 Collingwood – Edward Curnow

Quick, tough midfielder with great endurance. Could develop into a run-with player, which would fit well with Collingwood’s needs. They also need a tall defender and a young ruckman, but for those I think they are likely to go for project players in the rookie draft.

# 48 Western Bulldogs – Haelen Kay

Having filled their tall forward and ruck needs earlier in the draft, I expect Scott Clayton to revert to his fetish and pick up some quick outside midfielders. Like Haelen Kay. After all, they did trade Jordan McMahon so there is a hole in the list.

# 49 Port Power – Todd Grima

Surprised a few Cats supporters when dropped off the rookie list after coming second in the VFL goalkicking. Tough marking forward with loads of endurance. Not quick, but uses his body very well. Now training with Port, and could step into their forward line straight away while Gourdis develops in time to replace Tredders.

# 50 Geelong – Jack Steven

The Cats need talls, but with three already in the bag by here they may be tempted by a local boy here. Steven is a tough, quick, bottom aged midfielder who won the Falcons B&F this year despite missing a few games. Hasn’t really shown up on anyone’s radar (that I have seen), but the Cats love tough local boys, and could get an absolute bargain here.

# 51 Richmond – Alistair Neville

The Tigers would have seen a lot of this bloke this year, and know that he will add some much needed class and leadership to their midfield.

# 52 Brisbane Lions – Joseph Daye

The Lions don’t really need too many more key position players, but could probably do with an extra tall defender. Daye is a mobile 194cm local boy, who fits the bill nicely.

# 53 Melbourne – Dan McKenna

Solid, skilful, strong marking tall who has played primarily in attack but could also play at CHB. Melbourne could use him at either end of the ground, but may prefer him as a defender.

# 54 Essendon – Andrew Renton

The Dons are definitely after a project ruckman and could pick between five or six here. Have heard Putt mentioned, but Renton is a very talented player and will appeal to them.

# 55 Fremantle – Jarrhan Jacky

Jacky is a very exciting small forward from WA with great goal sense. Could well go earlier than this, but I can’t fit him in. Would be a great addition to the Dockers forward line, and also insurance in case the Wiz goes off the rails. Again.

# 56 Brisbane – Joel Smouha

Having lost Wood during trade week, the Lions may well be on the lookout for another ruckman, and local boy Smouha could be the one. Undersized at 196cm, but blew the draft camp away with his athleticism. Could be a gun in the ruck especially if he grows a few more cms.

# 57 St Kilda – Will Sullivan

Key forward or ruckman? Gehrig gone, Watts delisted, Steven King picked up = another marking forward? Then again, King is only a short term fix and gives them the flexibility to pick up a quality young ruckman here to develop, and that’s how I think they’ll go. Sullivan shapes as a smart, mobile ruckman and could be a good bet. Maybe a project tall forward in the rookie draft?

# 58 Adelaide – Clayton Hinkley

Showed elite speed and agility at the draft camp, which may tempt the Crows (who need as much as they can get) to take him late.

# 59 Sydney – Craig Bird (scholarship)

# 60 Geelong – Adam Donohue (F/S)

# 61 Collingwood - Jaxson Barham (F/S)

# 62 Kangaroos – John McCarthy

After Ward, Kangars and Farmer, a speedy outside midfielder will be ideal for the Roos. Hello John McCarthy.

# 63 Bulldogs – Jay Bowden

We’re getting a bit speculative this far down, but Bowden is a clever forward/midfielder who deserves to get drafted, and probably higher than this. Could be a quality pick up for the Dogs.

# 64 Richmond – Matthew Lobbe

The Tigers will be looking for a ruckman, and Lobbe may be the best ruck prospect available here (despite playing forward a lot this year in the TAC Cup).

# 65 Carlton – Travis Dulic

A bit of depth in the tall defender stakes won’t go astray for the Blues, and Dulic shapes as a steal this late.

# 66 Melbourne – Shane Valenti

The Demons would have seen a lot of this bloke at Sandy this year, and would have liked what they saw. Small, but quick, skilful and finishes well.

# 67 Bulldogs – Pass

# 68 Essendon – Pass

# 69 Fremantle – Brent Connelly

The Dockers have only two ruckmen on their list, and so I think will be looking at one in the main draft and possibly another in the rookie draft. Given the depth of rucks this year it would not surprise to see them wait this long, and in Connelly they will get a solid long term prospect who can ruck and play forward.

# 70 St Kilda – David Zaharakis

The Saints are still on the slow side through the middle, and Zaharakis will certainly improve them in that regard.

# 71 Adelaide – Taylor Walker (scholarship)

# 72 Kangaroos – PASS

# 73 Melbourne – PASS

# 74 Fremantle – Kepler Bradley

Tall dud who Freo seem to want for some reason. Don’t ask me why.

# 75 Adelaide – PASS

Great Effort mate.

I would be dissapointed if we didnt take McEvoy ahead of Rioli. Very happy about getting the my namesake Premi! but WC are very keen on getting Maric. We could possibly get Vesz with pick 22 instead.

Great effort overall.

Although since St Kilda was the only club that didn't talk to Rance at DC, I seriously doubt whether we would use pick 9 on him. Especially when Ebert, Rioli and Ward are available.

Great effort mate, love a lot of your suggestions for the crows:
Ebert
Greenwood
Hall
Motlop
Hinkley
Walker
However I think you'll find we will take at least one tall, be it a ruckman or KPP with our first 5 or 6 picks, would suggest with probably pick 30, perhaps one of the simpsons, Dawson or Scott may fit the bill.

I would also at this stage expect that we may use our final pick for Nick Salter as a slightly more mature kpp pick, the crows are apparently quite keen on him and might see him as a replacement for scott welsh.

Other than that you have done a great job in addressing our needs in terms of midfielders and sml forwards and I would absolutely love to see Ebert and Greenwood come to the crows and Motlop has the potential to be a great pick up in the 3rd round.:thumbsu:

one of the better phantom drafts i've seen on here. happy with freo's picks although i'm not sold on arrowsmith (but your logic behind the choice is right).

top effort:thumbsu:

Fantastic read Reg.:thumbsu:

I really like your Geelong selections. Although I think if Bellchambers is available at our 2nd pick, we would take him. But I would still be very happy with Notte.:thumbsu:

Do you mind telling me a bit more about Jack Stevens?

Hickey well done great draft, in terms of choice selection best draft I've seen so far!

Thanx Reg that was the best draft I have seen as far as every team gettin what they need and a few suprises here n there but not massive ones .. from a collingwood perspective I would be wrapped with Joseph at 31 .. crossing my fingers that the draft pans out this way ..

Reg Hickey;9505368 [B said:
# 50 Geelong – Jack Steven[/B]

The Cats need talls, but with three already in the bag by here they may be tempted by a local boy here. Steven is a tough, quick, bottom aged midfielder who won the Falcons B&F this year despite missing a few games. Hasn’t really shown up on anyone’s radar (that I have seen), but the Cats love tough local boys, and could get an absolute bargain here.

Was some talk on the Pies board we may be into him. Maybe with pick #47.

Seems to be what we need tough, inside mid with pace and we have seen from previous drafts Derek Hine has a penchant for taking bottom aged players.

Very good read though and your reasonings seem very sound.

Some things make sense, I also agree that the Tigers will take Cotchin.
Melbourne will be high fiving, mainly cause they will be getting Palmer, I reckon that one is in the bag.
Therefore Dogs will pick Morton, then Henderson will slide to who knows...

What are you doing on Saturday Reg? I'll be stoked if Fremantle select the players you have earmarked, any chance of sitting in with our recruiting staff?

I don't know about Rioli. I feel that the Eagles might go for at least one taller player, maybe Mc Evoy if he is available. Still, from a West Coast perspective, this draft isn't too bad.:thumbsu:

What are you doing on Saturday Reg? I'll be stoked if Fremantle select the players you have earmarked, any chance of sitting in with our recruiting staff?

Agree - best lot of selections for Freo I have seen... just swap Harry Taylor for Kepler Bradley and I'd be stoked. :)

Well done...

I hope your right about Henderson slipping through to 11. Mick Turner has likened him to a Pavlich. That's good enough for me.

Great Effort mate.

I would be dissapointed if we didnt take McEvoy ahead of Rioli. Very happy about getting the my namesake Premi! but WC are very keen on getting Maric. We could possibly get Vesz with pick 22 instead.

Yeah, had you guys taking McEvoy at #13 for a long time, but when researching team needs I was actually swayed by your fellow supporters talking about the need for more and more midfielders and possibly using all four picks on them.

And I know WC like Maric, but having decided on Rioli at #13 I thought Maric would probably then be off the radar.

Not too bad. Would still rather Putt than Renton though

Putt is a hard one. A lot to love about a 202cm guy who can cover 20m in under 3 sec, can mark, can kick, and in fact can just about do everything you want him to except ruck. He has a lot of developing to do to be a ruckman, but someone will take him on, if not here then definitely in the rookie draft.

Dont see why people think melb will go for a ruckmen with a first round pick. We have white, Jamar, Johnson and now meesan.
Maybe with a later pick for development.

Well, from where I sit, White will be 31 by the time the 2008 season starts, neither Jamar nor Johnson have shown they have the ability to be top line ruckmen, and Meesen is entirely untried and has some serious question marks over him having been left behind by Maric and Griffin at Adelaide.

The other thing about McEvoy is that he could easily develop into a strong marking forward, which I would think adds to the attraction for Melbourne.

Agree - best lot of selections for Freo I have seen... just swap Harry Taylor for Kepler Bradley and I'd be stoked. :)

I think you're stuck with him, unfortunately for you ...

Just think, if the Bombers hadn't snatched him away we could have had him down at the Cattery! Lucky for us we ended up with Kane Tenace instead, who has become, well, nothing ...