Dave The Man

Collingwood Magpies - Alan Didak 2009 Player Sponsor
Storm,Victory,Blue Jays
So what did people think of this Morning Training and Was there media down there?

I'm posting this for you Dave, because you're probably busy elsewhere.

Fresh faces at training

Jonathon Bernard 11:10 AM Wed 03 December, 2008
boyscover2.jpg
The team held their second training session since returning from Flagstaff, Arizona late last week
  • It was another step in the right direction for the four new Collingwood draftees on Wednesday 3 December.

Steele Sidebottom, , Dayne Beams, Jarrad Blight and Luke Rounds participated in their second training session as Collingwood players at Gosch’s Paddock.

The team hit the Paddock around 9:30 am without Harry O’Brien, Ben Johnson, Paul Medhurst and Anthony Rocca who were all working on weight programs in the gym.

The five new players (including Leigh Brown) were not the only new additions to the team.

It was clear that new assistant coach, Paul Hudson, has brought some of his Brisbane training drills to his new club.

The team worked in groups of four, squaring-off to practice kicking on quick turns as well as on the run. John Anthony, Rounds, Luke Beveridge (development coach) and Brown had the drill under control within the first few sets.

They then dispersed into two sides and had a 45 minute scrimmage where the four new draftees worked with Beveridge on handball drills.

After the session completed, all five draftees faced the press back inside the Lexus Centre for the first time as Collingwood players.

rounds.jpg

Rounds works on his kicking form with Beveridge

brown.jpg

Brown works his way into the middle of Chris Bryan and Dane Swan.

reed(1).jpg

Scott Reed works with Justin Crow on his handball skills

boys(2).jpg

Rounds, Sidebottom, Beams and Blight worked together during the training session.
collingwoodfc.com.au

I'm posting this for you Dave, because you're probably busy elsewhere.

Fresh faces at training

Jonathon Bernard 11:10 AM Wed 03 December, 2008
boyscover2.jpg
The team held their second training session since returning from Flagstaff, Arizona late last week
  • It was another step in the right direction for the four new Collingwood draftees on Wednesday 3 December.

Steele Sidebottom, , Dayne Beams, Jarrad Blight and Luke Rounds participated in their second training session as Collingwood players at Gosch’s Paddock.

The team hit the Paddock around 9:30 am without Harry O’Brien, Ben Johnson, Paul Medhurst and Anthony Rocca who were all working on weight programs in the gym.

The five new players (including Leigh Brown) were not the only new additions to the team.

It was clear that new assistant coach, Paul Hudson, has brought some of his Brisbane training drills to his new club.

The team worked in groups of four, squaring-off to practice kicking on quick turns as well as on the run. John Anthony, Rounds, Luke Beveridge (development coach) and Brown had the drill under control within the first few sets.

They then dispersed into two sides and had a 45 minute scrimmage where the four new draftees worked with Beveridge on handball drills.

After the session completed, all five draftees faced the press back inside the Lexus Centre for the first time as Collingwood players.

rounds.jpg

Rounds works on his kicking form with Beveridge

brown.jpg

Brown works his way into the middle of Chris Bryan and Dane Swan.

reed%281%29.jpg

Scott Reed works with Justin Crow on his handball skills

boys%282%29.jpg

Rounds, Sidebottom, Beams and Blight worked together during the training session.
collingwoodfc.com.au

Thanks but I also wanted Personal Opinions and Pictures

Interesting to see that Crow was at Training

"Rounds looks ripped"

Gee, not good form before 2nd training session and in front of the paparazzo!

Interesting to see that Crow was at Training

Yeah Crow's an interesting one, he apparently was on the trip to Arizona, giving a hint that he maybe in line for a leadership or on field coaching role within the VFL team.

I personally would have liked to see him given a shot ahead of Brown, but the truth probably is that Crow will never be good enough for AFL footy as Brown has played 181 games.

I was impressed with the voice and leadership didak showed.. pendles, dids, bear and fraser were doing a 4 way drill near where i was standing and dids was definately the 1 encouraging and talking the most.. he seemed to be really enjoying himself too.. alot of energy

Also Reidy was playin on clokey for the majority of the match play drills.. CHB looks more and more likely

Interesting.

I love Ben Reid, but CHB is one position I'm not sure I'd like to seem him play.

I'd prefer him running around on the Wing reducing Clokes workload outside 50.

Awesome open thread already

Quick report:
One of fraser or maxwell is captain, almost certain
Blight is very vocal good sign for a 17 yo
They did some game plan stuff,
significantly Reid was played FB/CHB on cloke,
anthony up forward as the lead up forward,
Jaxson played and looked good across half back,
Presti looks fit as hell,
leigh brown isnt as bad as we have been told,
Nate Brown looks massive as does dawes. Reid has big arms but legs that resemble an emu
Heath trained with the backline group but in match sim played as a midfielder
Corrie can kick very well
Swans tattoo looks even more impressive in person
Dyas only did laps and physio stuff with Crow not sure whats wrong seemed unimpeded
Thoolen is still with us
Didak looks fit and well
Our gameplan is still come down the wings although there was some corridor work, so im sorry corridor crew it hasnt changed yet
Fraser can do some freakish stuff with a ground level ball, one gather and evade of McCarthy looked awesome
McCarthy is a tackle machine just ask dawes, so match for taking it easy.

Thats all ive got any questions just shout out
Now pics which is what you really wanted:

CIMG0712.jpg
CIMG0713.jpg
CIMG0714.jpg

CIMG0716.jpg
CIMG0717.jpg
CIMG0718.jpg

Is that Heath Shaw in the 4th pic? If so does he do any strength building for his legs?

Nice work Opti. Reminds me that we need to get you a long lens for your camera for xmas! :D

Is that Heath Shaw in the 4th pic? If so does he do any strength building for his legs?
Yes its is and the answer to the question is the poor photo he actually looked bigger in person
Thanks for the update Optimax.

The big question is how did Reid do down back on Cloke?
Kept up with him on leads, got a little lost a couple of times but didnt have the body strength to cover him in a one on one even dawes bettered him although that was a closer contest.

It was clear as to why we drafted brown, reid will be a third tall player if he plays back this year

Nice work Opti. Reminds me that we need to get you a long lens for your camera for xmas! :D
Already done mate, i used mums camera today but im getting a digital SLR for Christmas the 12X optical zoom should make better pics then this one did today.

Every time i tried to get closer the play transferred sides aswell:o

Kept up with him on leads, got a little lost a couple of times but didnt have the body strength to cover him in a one on one even dawes bettered him although that was a closer contest.

It was clear as to why we drafted brown, reid will be a third tall player if he plays back this year

Cheers mate. The good news is it's only the start of the pre-season and I would imagine that Reid will spend a fair amount of time with the defensive coach over the summer and he should improve his defensive techniques.

I reckon you're right though - he is probably only a realistic option on lead-up or third talls at this stage - not a monster like Trav!